Create an account

or

Thread August 2, 2014 editorial: comments

• 4 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 3 followers
1 August 2, 2014 editorial: comments

Tweet, Tweet

Do I care what’s trending on Twitter? Not in the slightest. Am I interested when a Facebook friend posts about what they just ate for dinner? Nope. It seems like narcissistic drivel to me. 

But that said, as a musician, I know that social media is very important.  It’s a big part of marketing and promoting yourself.  Whether you’re a band posting tour photos on Instagram, or the composer tweeting to your peers about the scoring job you just finished, or a singer posting gig information to your Facebook page, you’ve absolutely got to know how to get around on social media if you want to stay competitive.

But unless you’re a millennial — who seem to know how to use social media instinctively— it requires some time and effort to learn how to use it effectively (and not make an idiot of yourself during the learning process). For those of us who’ve been around for a while— who remember when the word “tweet” was used strictly in reference to birds, it’s a strange new world, but one we all need to master, or at least become comfortable in.

So I’m curious, how many social media platforms are you on? Are you promoting your music career on Facebook, Twitter, Bandcamp? Do you have a sense for what works online and what doesn’t? Let me know what you think. Post a comment — and it doesn’t have to be limited to 140 characters. Now excuse me while I go and unfriend someone who just posted an album of photos of his dog’s birthday party.

Yes couldn't care less about social media especially when I get invites to gigs in USA, Germany or India or where ever when I am in London. I am not rich enough to pop on a plane (not even mine!!!) and fly off to hear someone's one night only gig!!