or
Create an account

or

Thread Just got myself a Behringer MDX2600 and looking for the right settings

• 4 replies
  • 2 participants
  • 2 followers
1 Just got myself a Behringer MDX2600 and looking for the right settings
hello there and thank you for your help :)

some background information:
im not looking to produce music or anything with this. i am an counterstrike semi professional player and i lately have trouble with tinnitus. so in the game it is very important to hear the shallowest sounds. the problem with this is that you have to put up the volume to hear those and get deafening gun sounds as a result.

sadly i am not experienced at all with stuff like an compressor and therefore am looking for your help

http://origin.behringer.com/EN/Products/MDX2600.aspx
this is the compressor that i bought but i just dont know how to set it up properly. i want all loud sounds reduced as hard as possible and the quiet sounds pushed equally (very quiet steps become normal steps and normal steps become loud steps - so that i still can read the distance out of the footstep volume)

thank you very much for your time and help
Marvin :aime:
Hi Marvin,

A properly used compressor should help a bit with increasing the volume of quiet sounds like footsteps. However, I doubt it would help much regarding where the sounds are coming from, which I'd imagine is also important.

For this, I'd recommend getting quality headphones (if you don't already have a pair). Personally, I love the AKG K702's. From a musical standpoint, they really do a great job in showing where each instrument is relative to the stereo field, as well as how loudly they're playing.

There are some instances with certain songs I've listened to my whole life before getting the K702s, where after listening with the cans, I discover new instruments that I never heard before! So it might help distinguish where footsteps are coming from and how far they are.