Add this product to
  • My former gear
  • My current gear
  • My wishlist
Focusrite Scarlett 18i6
Images
1/35
Focusrite Scarlett 18i6

USB audio interface from Focusrite belonging to the Scarlett 1st Generation series

Thread Comments about the news item: Focusrite Scarlett 18i6

• 18 replies
  • 14 participants
  • 15 followers
1 Comments about the news item: Focusrite Scarlett 18i6
The Focusrite Scarlett 18i6 is an 18-input, 6-output USB 2.0 audio interface.

Read the news item

This thread was created automatically after the publishing of a news item for this product. Feel free to post your comments here!
Show first post
I second the problems about the windows drivers for the 18i6. I'm no expert but no beginner either, and in 15 years of fiddling with PC hardware setups, I've NEVER encountered such a difficult install! I've been having so much trouble with this, in case it can help anyone else, here's my experiences on installing the Scarlett 18i6 on a PC running Windows XP SP2/SP3.

Problem 1: getting it up and running at all (solved)
I've been lucky and avoided the BSOD, but I've had huge troubles getting it all running with reasonable stability. While it was working fine on my mac from the start, my most frequent result in windows XP was that the "connected" LED did not light up, and there was no sign of life other than the two LED's on either side of the "connected" one.

It turns out the sequence of the install needs to be right, but not all the details are in the manual. Here's my working procedure:
- The starting point is a "clean" machine: no Scarlett drivers are installed, and windows has not been allowed to attempt detecting the hardware and installing the 18i6 automatically: keep the 18i6 disconnected until later!
- Install the "resources" file from the CD.