or

Thread Possible to use 6i6 as dac-pre?

• 2 replies
  • 1 participant
  • 1 follower
1 Possible to use 6i6 as dac-pre?
Re: Focusrite Scarlett 6i6
Good Morning from The Rockies!
Let me first state that I am not an Audio Engineer, nor do I have anything to do with Home-Studio recording.
I wish to use the 6i6 strictly within the context of a computer-based, music-playback system. As such, its role is to serve as a DAC-Pre, upstream of a stereo amplifier. My question regards the issue of connectivity, and I require confirmation of the following:
The music server has a Lynx Audio AES16 card with a D-Sub breakout cable.
The cable’s xlr connector (at the downstream end, going to a dac, in this case the proposed Focusrite 6i6) will have an xlr-rca adapter.
As I understand it, and using the Focusrite 6i6 Userguide.pdf page 7 as a reference to the Rear Panel Hardware Features, I can insert the breakout cable’s rca connector into the 6i6 SPDIF input (feature #14) to transfer the computer’s data. Then, using the Line Outputs 1 and 2 (feature #11), I can use cables with TS jacks on one end, one each for Line Output 1 and 2, as interconnects to two rca inputs on the Stereo Amplifier, each of which drives one pair of stereo, passive, vintage loudspeakers (this is a custom-ordered modification by the manufacturer - Odyssey Audio for a Khartago amplifier, Extreme version - to drive two sets of headphones, originally); both pairs of speakers have good input sensitivity, one ~ 90db, the other 98 dB.
I did write the manufacturer with this same question, but got no reply, hence I thought I'd attempt this route....
I am trying to make use of different, "left-over" components to increase the quality of the cheap playback system in our oft-frequented shop.
Can someone, please, confirm that this will actually work?

Best Regards!

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 6i6
Good Morning from The Rockies!