Create an account

or

Thread Scarlett 2i2: Popping and device disconnecting

• 42 replies
  • 27 participants
  • 27 followers
1 Scarlett 2i2: Popping and device disconnecting
Hey,

This problem has been doing my head in for a year now and now that I work as a professional I just have to get this fixed:

System:

Windows 8.1 64bit,
Scarlett 2i2 (Drivers 3.1.10) with Behringer Truth monitors plugged

What happens is that I hear a loud pop from my speakers followed by my 1 & 2 input knob lights flashing. Also when this happens the device briefly disappears from my Windows audio devices menu for a short while. The problem is inconsistent and can happen 1-10 times in a minute, once in an hour or I can go a day without it happening.

Also 1 problem I'd appreciate if someone can answer: On Pro Tools 11 when I choose Scarlett to use ASIO4ALL drivers it crashes Pro Tools. What gives?

Cheers for any help!

EDIT: It's now clear that the Ethernet cable is the cause. However I don't know how to solve this

[ Post last edited on 01/28/2015 at 02:43:56 ]

Show first post
Hello people of focusrite...
Do you also have some advice for someone who has a focusrite 10i12 which disconnect after a spike in the net ?
Say a fridge turns on ...

The unit stresses after a loud plop..... In the softmixer all ledmeters start jumping up and down ... No sound from the interface even it is seen by the Mac and is selected as audio output

The sound come from the imac speakers.
I tried to help but I ran out of ideas...

The house is small so I also has little about of fuse groups
Switching to another group does not help...

Worth mentioning is that this isue started a few months ago.

I can't say if the unit is breaking down and becoming very sensitive or that the fridge is getting old ...
Or is it the Mac that has issues ..?

Any ideas? Perhaps you have come across something like this...?

Many thanx

- Angelie

It's not about what you got to use ....    but how you use what you got...