Create an account

or

Thread Problems Connecting up Synth & Nuendo

• 6 replies
  • 2 participants
  • 0 follower
1 Problems Connecting up Synth & Nuendo
Hey guys..

Total noob question, but I've been wanting to start to sequence stuff from my keyboard and I can't quite figure out how its done.

I have MIDI In & Out connected to my SB Audigy card, and I can add my synth (MS2000) in the MIDI Device Manager in Nuendo.. I turn off my local, and yet its not controlling anything.. is there something I'm forgetting?

I'm sure I have my MIDI channels set the same.. what am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance to anyone who can help :)

Scoob
I will do that.. thanks for all your help KitC :)
Would be a bit limiting without another midi device to connect to. Even sending patch change messagess between 2 midi devices will be enough to test for midi output and continuity. There used to be a 'midi bug' hardware tester that you could connect to midi outlets/cables to test for cable continuity and midi signal. You could also try downloading Midi-Ox, it's great for diagnosing midi faults and messages, and it's free for personal use.
Hmm.. well I know that cubase (switched over to) is gettin midi messages, so I changed the cable coming out of my audigy, and still nothing. I don't actually have another interface, but I doubt its my hardware. I've only had this card a while and it was bought brand new.
Is there any way I can test this?
Same with the MIDI In on my keyboard.. any way to know for sure?
Well, I fired up cubase and assigned the output port to my Korg. I can select banks and patches at will from within cubase so I'm thinking that maybe the midi cable you're using is defective. Do you have access to another midi interface aside from the Audigy's midi port? That way you can rule out that the midi in of the MS isn't defective.