or
Create an account

or

Thread Can someone help me?

• 2 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 0 follower
1 Can someone help me?
alright, hey, im a newbie here..My names Freeco, im in an indie rock and roll band..lots of acoustics, distortion, etc..and well..all i really want to start to do is have a studio, same as the hip hop dude, only in rock..i wanna start recording my work..cos cassettes aren't really helping.

I have a mic, electric guitar, bass, acoustic guitar, and a drumset, want to know how to record each one of them..the programs i need to use, if i have to buy any special products..and well..don't mind the drumset too much..but if anyone can help me..id be glad to recieve help.

:lol:
Man this could take all night,

Drums, ... this is the hardest thing to record. I have heard many people using several mic's and a mixer to create a one or two track drum sound on a PC. Once a basic backbeat is recorded, you can always add tracks to it later. Drums should be isolated from any echoing sounds so hang blankets around the set.

I use Cool Edit Pro multitrack software, and a Behringer mixer, but I use a drum machine to do the backbeat. My PC is a Pentium 4, 1.4 ghZ with a 60 GB HD and 128 MB of RAM. I am using a Sound Blaster Live soundcard. The soundcard limits me to recording a maximum of 2 tracks at a time. I can use my Tascam 4 track to do 4 simultaneous tracks, if need be and transfer the audio tracks from that to my PC.

I record my Mic’s, harmonica, Bass, Piano, electric guitar and acoustic guitar directly into my mixer and then into the soundcard. If I am looking for the distortion sound or Fuzz box, I play my guitar into my amp and then run a patch cord form the headphone jack into the mixer and then into the soundcard.

Not all conclusive but this should give you a start.
Freeco-