or
Create an account

or

Thread Why do my Burn CD mix masters play back less loud than pressed CDs?

• 5 replies
  • 6 participants
  • 6 followers
1 Why do my Burn CD mix masters play back less loud than pressed CDs?

I'm new to digital recording, coming from the dark ages of the portastudio, and now own a Yamaha AW12G digital recorder, with an onboard CD drive.

However, I am confused and concerned about the Mixdown tracks that I am burning to CD. I mix them down to a stereo WAV, stored in the internal memory, peaking at about -2dB, sometimes hitting 0dB momentarily. A bad habit from my days battling my old arch enemy tape hiss, I know, but, my question is; why do my cd's that I burn from my masters play back significantly quieter than all my favourite CDs? I expected to lose some ground because they have mastered in studios costing millions, but I wasn't expecting the quantuum plummet between pressed Cds and my pityful efforts. Is all the info I put onto the burn CD, like the level I mixed to still there, ready to jump out of the speakers when I get the CD professionaly pressed, or will it default to the level it plays back at on this burn CD? Do I need to record my mixes to some other less convenient format like DAT before I send them to the pressing plant?

Your help would be most appreciated,

Chris

Well here is the thing....I have very little portastudio experience but I dont see how one would possibly have the things most vst plugins can give u in the average DAW for mastering.  That bein said hopefully they give you some kind of end stage final limiter.   Many use waves L3 on the cd master preset.  But that will set .2 db as the wall.   However I think whatever your actually using you should set to zero decibals and then see if your not as loud as other disc.  This was my problem too years ago.

Hope this helps

-Ress