or
Create an account

or

Thread Beginner's Mic for Electric Bass, Electric Guitar, and vocals?

• 8 replies
  • 5 participants
  • 0 follower
1 Beginner's Mic for Electric Bass, Electric Guitar, and vocals?
I'm a newbie in home recording and after looking at other posts, it seems like the preference for a beginner to an intermediate mic is the Shure SM57. I guess I'm just looking for validation of that or trying to find an even less expensive alternative.

I'm looking for something inexpensive that I would use for a bass cabinent, an electric guitar cabinet, and some vocals. I'll only be doing single tracks, so I won't need multiple mics. I'll be connecting it to a Behringer UB802 mixer (thanks to Axeman's suggestion), so I'll have phantom power (maybe phantom power is a given, but remember I'm a newbie).

Right now, I'm connecting my UB802 to my PC sound card, so I don't have the greatest quality, but I'm not trying to be a professional. I'm just learning and having fun and using the stuff for my own enjoyment. I'll probably re-evaluate what I'm doing late next year and maybe try to upgrade then if I'm still going at it.

Thanks.
snethej

Edit 1: Oh, I forgot. I will also want to be able to record a sax and a violin, if that makes any difference.
You're very clear and you seem to write better in English than some native speakers I know.

I hadn't thought about the pressure on the mic. That's another, Wow! I hadn't thought of that, for me. I'm learning something with every post. Maybe in real studios you can get around that by positioning the mics further away from the source. I like your preamp idea and the V-AMP looks like it could work for me.

Thanks again!
Jeff