Akai MPC1000
Akai MPC1000

Sampling Sequencer belonging to the MPC1000 model

User Reviews: 4.665

All user reviews for the Akai MPC1000

Average Score: 4.6 ( 4.6/5 based on 65 reviews )
  42 reviews 65 %
  16 reviews 25 %
  1 user review 2 %
  1 user review 2 %
  1 user review 2 %
Target: Beginners Value For Money: Excellent
FP User 10/31/2008

FP User's review

4
Akai really stepped there game up c/ 2.0 set it off. Its virtually a portable 2500. Only 1 thing: NO MTC!!!! WTF? What is Akai thinking? But for that matter, last time I checked the specs, the 2500 does not support MTC either. Only the 2000XL and the 4000 (not sure about the 2000). MTC allows you to use your MPC as a DAW controller for PT. So, if you prefer sequencing your drums with your mpc as the master (why do we continue to use these terms?) sequencer and PT as slave (why do we continue to use these terms? ), FORGETABOUTIT!

Price paid

900

UTILIZATION

Easy,easy.

well built! much more durable than and easier to get set up than the_______! you know who you are!

SOUNDS

Excellent Sound Quality. Im not sure why, but IMO its better than the MPC2000XL I have. Well, had. Sold it after using the 1k for a minute.

OVERALL OPINION

Its got almost everything. But Im really hurt by the lacking MTC.

Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
Posted by: jdeondra ( 2-, 2006)
FP User 10/31/2008

FP User's review

5
I just got it not to long ago.. but i does stuff that i didnt think it could do..

Price paid

$700 used a lil bit

UTILIZATION

It not to bad because so many people have them. i can just usually search my problem on google and find an answer..

i havebt had ne problems yet...

SOUNDS

Sounds great...

OVERALL OPINION

Its really easy to get a good beat goin and put them together for a whole song..there is so many things u can do with the sounds and layering to make diffrent sounds.. i really like it..

Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
Posted by: cmc_mpc1000 ( 2-, 2006)
FP User 10/31/2008

FP User's review

5
With the new 2.0 OS this thing is a monster.

Price paid

$415

UTILIZATION

In 1-2 days you will be making beats.

Built very good. Feel strong and firm.

SOUNDS

It brings all my drum patterns to life.

OVERALL OPINION

Best addition to my lab. If something was to happen to it, I would replace it as soon as possible.

Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
Posted by: TheFirstJimBo ( 1-, 2006)
FP User 10/31/2008

FP User's review

5
All the features you would need. You able to sample, edit that sample and EQ that sample in one board. Add your own sounds and make music as a professional. The downside, is the small LCD, it isn't as friendly as a computer monitor. And when chopping a sample you don't have the zoning feature as the MPC 2000XL or do you have the option of time stretching. But other then that, all is good with it. What more can you ask for in a portable music production center?

Price paid

$800 USD

UTILIZATION

It is quite simple to use. The manual explains everything so clear, but at times you will have to call upon outside help to navigate through some of the features. I would change the interface, I am so comfortable with it, that I can operate the MPC in the dark, sometimes.

It is durable, My Behringer mixing board felt on top of the MPC from the desk to the floor and the didn't scratch it or damage the screen or the board. So that is tough machine for me. No repairs have been done. The pads are tough too, because I been banging on them for a while and still they uphold the pounding.

SOUNDS

The sound quality is on point. No complaints about it. Just the quality I need for making professional sounding music.

OVERALL OPINION

I love it. Everything you need in a portable machine. The only downside is the missing feature of time stretch and zoning. I carry this lightweight as if it was my own laptop. So small to fit in a backpack without putting a lot of weight or pressure on the shoulders or back.

Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
Posted by: westlogic ( 1-, 2006)
FP User 10/31/2008

FP User's review

5
If you using this with a PC then you shouldn't have any problems. I use Soundforge to edit the samples and then copy and paste right onto the card with a card reader. Much easier and quicker than using the intergrated USB option

Price paid

790

UTILIZATION

This one is going to take you some time to get used to, but after 2 weeks of laying down tracks, you can have it on lock without even looking.

This unit looks like plastic on the computer but its seriously made out of solid steel. Unit has some weight on it for being so small

SOUNDS

This mug bumps hard. What you sample in is exactly what comes out, with a little AKAI MPC sweetness!

OVERALL OPINION

Wouldn't do without it!

Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
Posted by: Smoothbassman (January 2-, 2005)
FP User 10/31/2008

FP User's review

5
BEAT TALK's Review highlights the features in comparison to its predecessors. The unit includes sounds from Hip Hop producer DEF JEF courtesy of ONE STOP BEATS (www.onestopbeats.com)

Price paid

$800.00 USD

UTILIZATION

The unit is portable and it's simple to operate.

The unit is solid and has some weight to it despite the size.

SOUNDS

Great sound Quality.

OVERALL OPINION

The MPC 1000 is a great addition to the MPC series. Newbies should know that the MPC 1000 is the first MPC series under $1000 USD ever. The value is great even with some missing features. It integrates well with computer based production with its USB connectivity for PC/MAC.

Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
Posted by: swell (January 0-, 2005)
FP User 10/31/2008

FP User's review

5
Give me a tilt screen next time....but if that's all your complaining about, than you have problems.

Price paid

$999

UTILIZATION

Give it two weeks and you should know every bitton and function, be patient.

Built like a rock, seriously, it's rather heavy.

SOUNDS

Perfect, by far the best drum/sequencer/sampler out today for $1000. Use it beside a computer and simply drag and drop samples from your pc/mac straight to the MPC---then, straight to a pad. It comes with alot of great drums and bass to get you started. I recommend collecting more drums. I just can't say enough. It has f/x that are built in to the MPC. No extra $$ for the basic f/x. If you sample and cut files on a computer and want that hands on perfection of the industry standard of hip hop hardware.....then go buy an MPC1000. -Shamus in N.C.

OVERALL OPINION

Everyday, I can't get enough.

Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
Posted by: Shamus (January 0-, 2005)
FP User 10/31/2008

FP User's review

5
Features of timestretch are not available on this unit but with the usb connectivity thats no problem just transfer the file to a pc edit and transfer it back into the MPC

Price paid

999.99

UTILIZATION

The MPC is very easy to use. I have had a few problems as far as figuring out the sample editing on the MPC. But other than that the MPC is very easy to use

the quality is where i seem to have a problem. I have had a few of my lights go out on my MPC. And after viewing demos of the MPC some of my lights didnt work right out of the box. Other than that it is built very tough and can take a poundin.

SOUNDS

The Sound Quality for the MPC is awsome. There is no sound loss what so ever in transferring files from the computer to the MPC

OVERALL OPINION

Overall I am very satisfied with my MPC. It has a killer sequencer and I love the overall quality. This is my first MPC and I am Highly impressed and would not trade it for anything.

Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
Posted by: beatsonlock33 ( 9-, 2005)
FP User 10/31/2008

FP User's review

5
Akai took features from the MPC2000xl, and a few from the MPC4000 and made it compact. I like the fact that the 16 levels button is still there. It takes a little getting used to since you have to press the mode button then the pad with the corresponding function you want.

Price paid

$850

UTILIZATION

Very easy. If you already know MPC's, this will be a piece of cake. Also not a bad piece for people just getting started. What I would have changed interface-wise is the usb connection. It would be nice to keep the usb connection and be able to go back to the main screen.

Never had a problem, throw it in the bag and head to the studio.

SOUNDS

Just as good as my trusty 2000xl, just portable.

OVERALL OPINION

I love MPC's, especially this one. Portable, and powerful. I've heard a few guys dismiss the 1000 and say it's not a piece of gear to take seriously. To me that says you don't know how to use it. If space is an issue but you want something you can get some work done with, if you can't get the 2000xl, grab a 1000.

Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
Posted by: Stoutamire ( 8-, 2005)
FP User 10/31/2008

FP User's review

5
The mpc has the features that i need it to have. more effects would be cool but i have 3 DAW's to take care of that problem. Really...theres no problem if you have a decent computer.

Price paid

$900 usd

UTILIZATION

A piece of cake to use if you have real talent and desire to produce. i learned to use everything in a week. love those pads. with an imagination you can get the mpc to do very nice things with ease.

well built with a warranty...no argument. i cant imagine having to get it repaired....it would be like losing a limb. that hurts.

SOUNDS

Good sound quality of course. good sampling rate. oh.........it samples vocals and instruments very well.

OVERALL OPINION

If you have an imagination.....you'll love the mpc to death. I love my mpc more than my girlfriend....hands down....

Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
Posted by: da5150beat ( 8-, 2005)