or
Create an account

or

Thread How do I get my mixes to sound good in ALL systems...

• 8 replies
  • 9 participants
  • 8 followers
1 How do I get my mixes to sound good in ALL systems...
I have been mixing hip hop on and off for a couple of years and it feels like I have reached a barrier. My mixes always sound OK but I just can't break through to that next level. Whenever I compare them to mainstream hip hop mixes, I can't, its just not comparable. You can pop in a professionally mixed cd anywhere and it sounds great. I am not looking for any miracle fix, but I am lookin for a few tips that will help me on my future mixes. I have uploaded a sample to my yahoo briefcase so you can have a listen for yourself:

http://briefcase.yahoo.com/kirchhogfarm@sbcglobal.net
The sample is in the "SDP Mix sample" folder.

Beware their is some explicit lyrics so please don't listen if this offends you.

-C
Hi ! your sound is good enough...for what i've heard and seen tillnow in a few studios- the only thing now is to use some Hip-Hop drums from a Professional...Like Professionals do...Did You ever tryed BigFish Cd samples ?
you got a few dvd ( wav, aif and rex files on each) called " Off The Hook Hip Hop: East Coast "

Off The Hook Hip Hop:WestCoast &

Off The Hook Hip Hop: dirty South GREAT SAMPLES ! almost anythin' you've ever heard on 50 cents, Eminem, Jay Z etc etc etc ... Listening to the Big Fish -hip hop samples ,You ALmost Recognize the Hit-Songs that everybody Knows: ) each Kit - folder classified on tempos, include drumloops , One shots, instrument loops and a demo mix - The DVDs are new Releases 2006-2007

and another DVD called Heat Seekers too... (is as great as the other 3) This could be THE NEXT STEP ! :)

https://www.bigfishaudio.com/4DCGI/detail.html?1249 (here you can hear some demos of the dvd samples-price is 100 $ EACH DVD)

I did not hear enough songs of yours to tell you exactlely..but to Get Value on almost any song of many styles