Squier Black and Chrome Standard Precision Bass
+
Squier Black and Chrome Standard Precision Bass

Black and Chrome Standard Precision Bass, 4-string bass guitar from Squier in the Precision Bass series.

Price engine
Classified Ads
Forums

All user reviews for the Squier Black and Chrome Standard Precision Bass

  • Like
  • Tweet
  • Submit
Average Score:4.0( 4/5 based on 8 reviews )
 3 reviews38 %
 3 reviews38 %
 1 user review13 %
 1 user review13 %
Not satisfied with those reviews?
MGR/Philip Avakian08/09/2004

MGR/Philip Avakian's review"Squier Standard P-Bass Special"

Squier Black and Chrome Standard Precision Bass
I read reviews of this bass here at musicgearreview.com
and bought it at Thomann.de for 250€.

I love this bass because it's easy to play, the great sound, just everything.
A nice Jazz bass neck allows you to play easily,
and with the J-Bass and P-Bass pickups you can have almost any tone you wish.
Turn up the J-pickup and play some funky jazz,
or go Rock and Punk and turn up the P-Bass pickup...
The Tone control lets you get a thumpy, soft sound, or a rocky hard sound.
It doesn't way too much, and it's built great. i've smacked it against the wall a couple times (by accident): not a scratch.

The output jack is kinda loose, so every five days i gotta turn it a little bit so its tight again.

it is built to last. As I said, easy to play, sounds great and has a great look too!

I can only recommend this bass to anyone, if you start, or if you are just looking for a Bass to rock with.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Anonymous11/14/2003

MGR/Anonymous's review"Fender Standard P-Bass"

Squier Black and Chrome Standard Precision Bass
I bought this particular unit at a local guitar store called the String Shop. I paid about $450 for it because i got the sunburst finish.

I like it because the strings are slightly hire off the body than my other bass, so it makes slappin a hell of a lot easier. Plus, it is very light and easy on the shoulders. It looks sharps as hell too.

Really the only thing i didnt like about this bass are the pickups. They are a bit noisy, but I plan on upgrading soon.

IT is very good quality and is built pretty solid.

I would highly reccomend this piece for anyone. It is moderately priced and sounds really good.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/PowerStud10/07/2003

MGR/PowerStud's review"Fender Standard P-Bass Special"

Squier Black and Chrome Standard Precision Bass
I bought this base from Musicians Friend for $239.00 as a Bass to learn on.

With the 3 tone sunburst finish this Bass is hard to tell from the "real" Fender P Basses. Top notch construction, great playability, fabulous adjustable tone through the P and J pickups, and overall playability. I play a little bit of everything and from a funk slap to metal bass lines it does it all quite well...
I have also never been around a bass that stays in tune as well as this thing does. Overall this is a great piece of gear for beginners, and much longer term players I know have bought one of these to use in gigs after playing mine.

The strap lugs and input jack screws come out way too easily. I knew about this behavior from previous reviews and friends experience and fixed this when the first screw fell out. Not a big deal, not worth dinging Squier over except they ought to have this right from the factory. I have also had to resolder the input jack once already. The wiring conections inside the bass didn't look too solid. Nothing a little solder can't fix, but then again, Fender / Squier should have this right before it leaves the factory.

On a scale of 1 - 10 I would give it a 9. Pretty good, but not all the way there. The security of the fasteners and the solidity of the connections need to be improved, but then again, I have played $1,500.00 basses that have far worse problems.

I love it, if it were stolen or destroyed I would buy another one, or look at the MB-4.
But then again, why listen to what I am telling you. GO PLAY ONE OF THESE BASSES! I can tell you about how well mine has held up, but only YOU can tell if YOU can get this bass to make the sounds YOU want to make... So go, now, and play one of these!

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/stngklr04/13/2003

MGR/stngklr's review"Squier Standard P-Bass Special"

Squier Black and Chrome Standard Precision Bass
I ordered it through Musician's Friend. It was about $220. I got it because this was when I was just starting out and didn't want to pay way too much.

This is a somewhat decent bass gutar. The neck isn't too chunky, but not too narrow either. I definitly like the way it looks. Also, I like the P/J pickup combination. This lets you play with lots of variation in the music you play. That's really it though. This a good bass for beginners, and only beginers. When I first got it, it was great, but after I got to be more experienced, it started to hold me back from reaching my full potential.

There's plenty I don't like about it now. When I first aquired it, I didn't care and just wanted something to play on. The frets were buzzing a lot. I fixed this for the most part with a little adjusting. Another thing is with the volume and tone knobs. They are always coming loose and falling off. Same with the strap locks. Every time I had my strap on they came loose, and eventually stripped the hole. Even though I like the P/J pickup configuration, you can get that on a lot of other basses. I was just got unhappy overtime with the sound that was being produced. Or maybe that was my amp. Whatever. Oh yeah, there's only 20 frets. I don't know about you, but i'm not a sit there, and follow the guitar around kind of guy. I need those extra 4 frets to work with.

The construction is very nice, I think. It's very durable, and believe me, I did give it quite a beating. I did drop it once pretty hard, and that took a little chunk out the side. But nothing that a little black electrical tape couldn't fix. The bolt on neck is of good quality.

The bottom line, well? Like I said before, it's a good bass for a beginer, and nothing more. If you just want something to play, this could be for you. If your looking to get a bass, and keep it for a while, then maybe not. And don't let my poor rating detour you if you are a beginner. You could buy it and keep it for a long time and be satisfied with it. That's up to you. But if you don't mind spending a little extra cash, you can get something that's still newbie friendly, yet allows you to become a bass monster at the same time.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/tom09/27/2002

MGR/tom's review"Squier Standard P-Bass"

Squier Black and Chrome Standard Precision Bass
i got this in the starter pack that was on closeout at my guitar center. it was dirt cheap, like 160 bucks total.

I like that it is a pretty good lookin bass, the tuning knobs stay tuned and are easy to adjust for drop tuned songs, it came with an amp, and it was pretty cheap. also, the neck is pretty slim so its easy to slide.

i dont like a lot about this bass. first off, now i wish i had gotten a bass with eaither a p-, j- combo, or just j-pickups. i dont really like the sound of the pickups, but its probably because its cheap. the tone knob doesnt work at all, and when it is at one end, all that comes out is a crackle. slapping is kinda hard on this bass, due to the quality of the pickups, but i could manage. lastly, the cable that came with it was absolute crap, but then again, it was free, so i cant complain (get monster cables, they are the best).

its got pretty good quality, but it was my first bass, so i didnt have much to compare it to. the pickups and tone knob were the only real low quality parts. but then again, they are pretty important...

well, if youy are really low on money, you are just starting, and you want an amp with it, go ahead and buy this. however, i wish now that i had gotten another bass for my first one, just because i had enough money to do so. ive heard the ibanez gsr200 is awesome, so check that out...

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Anonymous03/13/2002

MGR/Anonymous's review"Squier Standard P-Bass"

Squier Black and Chrome Standard Precision Bass
I got this musc at daddy's juncky music, for about $280

The fact that isnt a total piece of crap, i found that really cool

The tone knob broke and the G-string has a buzz to it when played open, the pickups are very far apart and the lower frest have some crap on them that looks like rust

Its okay for a beginner bass even for an advanced player, pretty nice bass evn though there are so many things i dont like about it

A good begginner bass etc., just have an amp with some distortion or buy a distortion pedal.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Funkyspoon02/18/2002

MGR/Funkyspoon's review"Fender Standard P-Bass"

Squier Black and Chrome Standard Precision Bass
I bought this guitar used from my friend's brother for 500 dollars (including a 25 watt Fender amp).

First off, this is one of the easiest basses out there to start playing on. Just one volume knob and one tone. It also has a very large neck with fat frets and a good amount of space between the strings. This can really help out a beginner who has clumsy fingers. Next, this bass has a deep, rumbling low end and very good highs and mids, especially for its price range. It also has gobs and gobs of sustain.

All that deep tone and sustain come at a price though; This thing is a beast!You can definetly feel it dragging on your shoulder and back. It will take at least a good month of long practices to be able to play without severe shoulder fatigue. all my other dislikes are minor compared to that however. The pickup produces some humming when the tone is turned up and the action needs to be fairly high to prevent fret-buzz.

This Bass feels Indestructible! I have dropped it numerous times and actually puched a hole in my wall with it. not only did it come through fine, it was still in tune! Everything is oversized which adds to the weight and stability of the bass. Also it is very forgiving. The person whom I bought it from had no idea how to care for a bass and neither did I when I first bought it, but it survived a year of my ignorence with no major damage.

This is definetly one of the best beginner and mid-range basses out there, especially for solid rock and punk players. The bulk of it makes you feel secure holding it. If you are thinking of getting into bass playing and have some extra money to spend, buy this bass

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Stone11/29/2001

MGR/Stone's review"Squier P-Bass Special"

Squier Black and Chrome Standard Precision Bass
Thomann Musik - Germany

I paid in German Marks, but the dollar equivalent was about $150.

I has a very slim neck that is very easy to work. The action is low and fast. I did have the store tech adjust the neck a little to correct some minor fret buzz, but other than that it's perfect.

It also has both "P" and "J" pickups, which makes it very versatile.

It's very well built. The fit and finish are much better than I expected for such an inexpensive model. It holds its tune very well. I seldom have to adjust it.


The color is the only thing that I'm not crazy about. I believe they call it ARTIC WHITE. The main color is an off-white with a bright-white pick guard. Not that it looks bad, it's just that it's too plain and there's no contrast. I may order a bright red (or something else bright) pick guard to make it stand out.

Very well built. Neck and frets are smooth and clean. Neck fit to body is good. Large, easy to use tuning knobs. There are separate Volume and Tone controls for each pickup that are firmly mounted.

My son took it back and forth to school on the bus or band practice in a soft case. It has been tossed around quite a bit, yet shows no noticable wear.

I can't believe I got such a good buy for the price. I'd buy another one is a minute if this were stolen or damaged beyond repair.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com