or
Create an account

or

Thread FL Studio, how to use midi

• 4 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 0 follower
Sujet de la discussion FL Studio, how to use midi
Hey all, I'm really new to the studio-at-home world and I have a few questions concerning MIDI....

My main musical interest is in early music and what I would like to do is to import MIDI-files (that I made in a score editor) into FL Studio. I've figured out how to import a MIDI file but then I'm stuck so here's my questions...

1) When I play the song nothing can be heard. I guess I must've missed something but this I did do/check: Added pattern to playlist. Made sure an instrument was selected for all the channels. What else?

2) Is it possible to use a MIDI channel together with a soundfont or VST? Most MIDI "instruments" sounds like crap so I thought this would be a good approach.

3) Is it possible to import a MIDI file into an existing project?

Thanks
Anyone? :?
Hi Booty-

I'm not familiar withthe program you're using, so I didn't answer up at first. But lemme see if I can help with some generic answers-

1. No sound when playing midifiles-

Check your settings in Windows. You don't say what midi devices you're trying to use or what Windws version you're running. I would look at what midi instruments are selected in the Windows media properties, and make sure that it's not muted and the volume is up. If you take a midi file and try to play it in Windows Media Player and it works, than the problem is something in the configuration od your FL Studio software.

2. Don't know- depends on your software, which I am unfamiliar with.

3. Same as #2.

Sorry I can't help more.....
The Axeman (##(===> Cuts From My New Blues CD
I would agree with Mike, it sounds like your "no sound" is a setup issue within Windows.

As far importing MIDI, I can't help with that either. I have tried to work with MIDI files but I must be missing something, because I just can't get them to work.