Create an account

or

Thread New to digital; need to make demo to start

• 1 comment
  • 2 participants
  • 0 follower
Sujet de la discussion New to digital; need to make demo to start
BASIC INFORMATION THAT WILL HELP US HELP YOU:

A. WHAT KIND OF MUSIC DO YOU WANT TO DO?
I do blues and am a solo (one-man-band). Have done all kinds of music in the past (a variety act) but have decided to do an act based solely on classic electric blues from what I call the middle period, (late 40s to the 70s). I am a lead guitarist, lead vocalist and am a keyboard player capable of lead work (blues, rock, country & honky tonk). I also write original material and can crank songs out when I have to.

B. DO YOU WANT TO RECORD INDIVIDUAL TRACKS AT A TIME OR A WHOLE BAND AT ONCE?
At the moment I just need to make a demo tape to secure jobs in clubs, but will want to get to doing dubbing of leads etc. In the immediate future I will be doing them in one take.

C. WHAT DO YOU WANT TO DO WITH YOUR RECORDINGS? DEMOS? FUN FOR FRIENDS? GET GIGS? MAKE A MILLION AND GET A RECORD DEAL?
Demos is what I’ll be doing now.

D. WHAT KIND OF INSTRUMENTS WILL YOU BE RECORDING? LIVE DRUMS? VOCALS?
I have a Korg i2, which most of you will know is an arranger keybaord, quite sufficient for what I do. Do mostly piano solos on it, with an occasional organ solo. I play an early 70s Gibson L6S thru a Peavey Bandit 100 with Transtube technology, which I imagine I’ll just run thru the PA, which is a newer Carvin PA620.

E. WHAT KIND OF COMPUTER DO YOU HAVE (OR WANT)? DESKTOP? LAPTOP? INCLUDE: OPERATING SYSTEM, PROCESSOR SPEED, RAM, HARD DRIVE SPACE, SOUND CARD TYPE. USB? FIREWIRE? CD BURNER?
Here is the conundrum. I don’t know whether or not to get an inexpensive tape deck and then put it on my wife’s new computer (A HP Pavilion a250n). Here is a quote from PC magazine explaining what the computer is configured.