or
Create an account

or

Thread Total beginner - Looking for information on Basic Equipment

• 9 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 0 follower
1 Total beginner - Looking for information on Basic Equipment
Hey, I'm a total beginner planning to buy equipment for a home studio.
I Desperately need information on good(reliable) cheap, BASIC equipment required to sucessfully compose, edit, enhance and mix, master and produce good quality music.
I am comfortable with using cubase and Pro-tools.. I just need to know what 'other' hardware i'd need including the soundcard and other external devices.
I just own a simple PC with a good enough config but with a crappy soundcard!
Please help - links or model numbers of particular products would be sufficient plus some tips!

Thanks!

(I prob am th dumbest when it comes to technicalities so please be as basic as u can!! :P )
Ok, Just saw the 'READ THIS FIRST' info!

Sorry, I am basically looking to record live bass, guitar (acoustic and electric, would need an awesome mic there! :P ) and vocals.
I plan on using a MIDI controller for the rest.
I am a drummer with a drumkit but am assuming MIC's would be way beyond my budget for now. But please suggest standard mic's for a drum kit.
Which version of Pro-Tools should i buy?
Have worked with Cubase but am learning to use pro-tools in college! :) so would prefer using that at home.

Kindly Advice.
a. What kind of music do you want to do?

Bass line driven with clean guitars, jazzy synth and groovy drums

b. Do you want to record individual tracks at a time or a whole band at once?
Individual tracks mostly

c. What do you want to do with your recordings? Demos? Fun for friends? Get gigs? Make a million and get a record deal?
Demos!

d. What kind of instruments will you be recording? Live drums? Vocals?
Mainly Vocals. Live drums where necessary (when there is money to assist my needs! :P)