or
Create an account

or

Thread New to MIDI, have many questions

• 5 replies
  • 2 participants
  • 0 follower
1 New to MIDI, have many questions
I have been recording my (mostly acoustic guitar and electric bass) songs for about 5 months now. I started out with a Tascam 2488 portastudio.
Then I moved on to an Mbox with Pro Tools LE, which worked much better for my needs. I would like to add some different stuff to my songs to make them interesting, like maybe some sampled acoustic instruments, like violin, cello, mandolin, piano, organ, etc...
I think Pro Tools LE is able to import these kind of samples into tracks via ReWire.

I have never used any MIDI instruments before, and I don't play the piano although I could play single note lead solos and simple chord rhythms and stuff like that.

I assume I need a MIDI controller before I can do any of this, right?

I am looking into this keyboard:
M Audio Keystation 61es USB MIDI Controller Keyboard (61 Keys)

It's only $169.00 and I think it will do what I need to begin with. Plus it has a USB converter built in, so I don't have to buy an external one.

Is this an OK controller? I know they sell better ones, but I don't want to spend too much on my first one.

Also, will I need any extra sampling software besides what came with Pro Tools LE?
How does sampling software work? Is it just a plug-in for Pro Tools?

If the MIDI controller doesn't plug into the Mbox, (which it doesn't) how does Pro Tools take it as an input?
Does another program take it as an input and then go into Pro Tools through ReWire?

Please help

Thanks in advance.