Create an account

or

Thread Newbie multitracker needs help

• 6 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 0 follower
1 Newbie multitracker needs help
Hi,
I am a guitarist/drummer/bassist/vocalist and I play with a Christian group, mostly consisting of my family.
I'm not real sure how to describe the style of music except to say that it is made up of mostly acoustic instruments and 3-4 part vocal harmony.

Anyway, I played guitar with the group with my bro-in-law playing bass and we performed that way for about two years.
Since then my bro-in-law can't do it anymore, so that leaves us with one musician, me. I can play all the instruments we need to perform, but not obviously, not all at once. Thus I started looking into multi-track recorders.

I wanted to make soundtracks for my group to sing with live. Basically, 4-5 guitar parts (acoustic/electric), and one electric bass part.
I wanted the best quality I could get, doing the recording myself at home.
I didn't have any recording experience, but I did have a lot of experience working with live PA equipment, so I wan't totally green, just mostly.
But, I already had a really good mixer and some good mics and just about all the cables and cords I would need.

I shopped around and took home a Tascam 2488 portastudio. I bought it because it looked simple to use and fairly cheap compared to the rest of the similar recorders. Plus the Guitar Center I bought it from would take it back up to 30 days, if I was unsatisfied, so I thought I would try it out.

After about a week I had already completed three songs. (each with 2-3 rhythm guitar parts, 1 bass part, and 1 lead guitar part).

The sound was good to my inexperienced ears, but I thought to myself "if I can get that sound out of a $1,100 unit, what could I do if I spent a little more. So I went looking again.