Become a member
Become a member

or
Continue with Google
Log in
Log in

or
Log in using a Google account
Add this product to
  • Mon ancien matos
  • My current gear
  • My wishlist
Squier Bullet Strat Special
Images
1/1

All user reviews for the Squier Bullet Strat Special

STC-Shaped Guitar from Squier belonging to the Stratocaster series.

Price engine
Classified Ads
Forums
Filter
Keywords
Average Score:
( 3.3/5 based on 19 reviews )
4 reviews
21 %
8 reviews
42 %
1 review
5 %
2 reviews
11 %
4 reviews
21 %
Write a user review
Users reviews
  • MGR/AxebutcherMGR/Axebutcher

    Squier Bullet Special

    Squier Bullet Strat SpecialPublished on 06/14/09 at 15:00
    Bought it used for $40 w/ a decent gig bag out the door from a pawn shop. Red colored body, black pickguard, black hardware, hardtail bridge, low grade black tuning gears. One humbucker in bridge position, one volume knob. EVH style. Cool. Was dirty when I bought it. Took it home, took parts off, cleaned it, cleaned everything, adjusted truss rod in neck, adjusted bridge saddles, restrung with 09-42 grade strings, actually, their "Darco" strings manu. by Martin, so they are decent. Plays probably as well as buying it off the rack from Guitar Center when they sold them in 2002 or so. Except, of course, this one's used... also this is the one humbucker pickup version

    $40 bones, used, from my…
    Read more
    Bought it used for $40 w/ a decent gig bag out the door from a pawn shop. Red colored body, black pickguard, black hardware, hardtail bridge, low grade black tuning gears. One humbucker in bridge position, one volume knob. EVH style. Cool. Was dirty when I bought it. Took it home, took parts off, cleaned it, cleaned everything, adjusted truss rod in neck, adjusted bridge saddles, restrung with 09-42 grade strings, actually, their "Darco" strings manu. by Martin, so they are decent. Plays probably as well as buying it off the rack from Guitar Center when they sold them in 2002 or so. Except, of course, this one's used... also this is the one humbucker pickup version

    $40 bones, used, from my local pawn here in Western Wa. Pawn X-Change.

    It's simplicity. I've owned another guitar like this years ago, the Encore Lead One Fender Copy I also reviewed here. That one, same type of features: one bridge humbucker, hardtail bridge, one volume knob. So, yeah, like this one.

    Well, it's a challenge for the strings to stay in tune. So, guess I could change the pegs to higher quality ones.

    It was used, so it had some belt buckle "rash" on the back of the body, some scratches up front, but overall, no big deal. Just "broken in", really. Some rust here or there, but it's a knock around guitar for me, a plunker for around the house, so it fits the bill nicely.

    Just a beater guitar, that's all. Don't expect to become a rock star with it! Have fun with these kinds of guitars. The Squiers, Epiphones, etc...play them like driving a rental car!! I'm out...

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/the number 12 looks like youMGR/the number 12 looks like you

    Squier Bullet

    Squier Bullet Strat SpecialPublished on 05/20/06 at 15:00
    Beginner, play modern rock, metal. Play when I get the chance.

    Got it at Sam Goody for $90 with my girlfriend, figured it would be a nice buy for both of us to play on.

    It is decent quality for the money. Nice design. The clean sound is pretty good. With the right amp or pedal you can have good distortion as well. The lightweight is nice too. This guitar is great for a beginner.

    The pickups are not very good, lots of noise. Also, after about a year with the guitar, the cheap asian wires got fried. That is about the only major issue with squires and epiphones, they use cheap wiring and parts.

    Everything is pretty nice. Mine came with a black painted fretboard which I like. Also the p…
    Read more
    Beginner, play modern rock, metal. Play when I get the chance.

    Got it at Sam Goody for $90 with my girlfriend, figured it would be a nice buy for both of us to play on.

    It is decent quality for the money. Nice design. The clean sound is pretty good. With the right amp or pedal you can have good distortion as well. The lightweight is nice too. This guitar is great for a beginner.

    The pickups are not very good, lots of noise. Also, after about a year with the guitar, the cheap asian wires got fried. That is about the only major issue with squires and epiphones, they use cheap wiring and parts.

    Everything is pretty nice. Mine came with a black painted fretboard which I like. Also the pickgaurd is high quality three ply with the protective plastic on it. The 5-way switch is nice as well. The only negative is the wiring and pickups, but this isn't a huge issue for a beginner.

    A great buy for a beginner. You get quality fender design at a great price. This thing is nice to learn on and gives you good enough sound. If you plan on taking it really seriously, and playing loud and heavy a lot, I don't recommend getting this guitar unless you plan on upgrading it, which might not be worth it, unless you are like me and doing it as a hobby and want to have the best Squire around!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/Eddie Van HalenMGR/Eddie Van Halen

    Squier Bullet

    Squier Bullet Strat SpecialPublished on 12/02/04 at 15:00
    I aquired this from a friend for $50 (no, it isn't a bad guitar, he just didn't feel like charging very much for a friend), which is an amazing price as the list price is close to $160!

    Well, I like pretty much every thing about his guitar. It sounds great, very easy to play, lightweight. The frets are put on pretty nicely.

    There is only a couple of things I don't like about this guitar. Firstly, the amp has no destortion on it at all. Which sucks, as I like to play classic rock on my guitar. Also, when I strum string number 1 to hard, it slides down a bit and gets caught on the neck, but all you have to do to get it back is like press down on the string and it goes back into place.

    The …
    Read more
    I aquired this from a friend for $50 (no, it isn't a bad guitar, he just didn't feel like charging very much for a friend), which is an amazing price as the list price is close to $160!

    Well, I like pretty much every thing about his guitar. It sounds great, very easy to play, lightweight. The frets are put on pretty nicely.

    There is only a couple of things I don't like about this guitar. Firstly, the amp has no destortion on it at all. Which sucks, as I like to play classic rock on my guitar. Also, when I strum string number 1 to hard, it slides down a bit and gets caught on the neck, but all you have to do to get it back is like press down on the string and it goes back into place.

    The contruction is very good. Again, very good job on teh frets, and especially the tuning pegs, compared to my last guitar (some Aria model) which the tuning pegs were pretty much rusted still. This is a high quality guitar.

    This is a high quiality guitar, as I have said. It could have used a better amp though. So go out and buy the Boss DS-1 Distortion Pedal and you should be all set.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/AppleMGR/Apple

    Squier Bullet Strat

    Squier Bullet Strat SpecialPublished on 11/06/04 at 15:00
    I purchased this guitar about a year and a half ago, from the late "Honkey Tonks" in Southend highstreet. It was a birthday present- my first electric guitar (after two years acoustic)- and it cost around £170, with a Fender 15G amp.

    There, in all honesty, isn't really much to like about the guitar. I mean, it was and is a good starting guitar, yet it is not actually a good guitar.It looks alright i guess...and you an play it...

    Alot! It goes out of tune easily, the tremelo is rubbish, it can't handle distortion, the strings will buzz every once in a while, the screws (everywhere!) fall out, it scratches and dents easily, and it sounds poor- clean and distorted.

    Poor. As i earlier said, …
    Read more
    I purchased this guitar about a year and a half ago, from the late "Honkey Tonks" in Southend highstreet. It was a birthday present- my first electric guitar (after two years acoustic)- and it cost around £170, with a Fender 15G amp.

    There, in all honesty, isn't really much to like about the guitar. I mean, it was and is a good starting guitar, yet it is not actually a good guitar.It looks alright i guess...and you an play it...

    Alot! It goes out of tune easily, the tremelo is rubbish, it can't handle distortion, the strings will buzz every once in a while, the screws (everywhere!) fall out, it scratches and dents easily, and it sounds poor- clean and distorted.

    Poor. As i earlier said, the srews fall out, it goes out of tune and it is easily blemished.

    This is the sort of guitar you should get if you are an extreme beginner- i personally wish that i spent a bit more cash on a better guitar!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/SteveMGR/Steve

    Squier Bullet Strat

    Squier Bullet Strat SpecialPublished on 10/02/04 at 15:00
    Bought new from a Music Shop in Abingdon for my 12 yr old son. Paid just over £100 and they threw in a Ritter bag, strap, plectrums and lead!
    We tried ALL the budget guitars in the shop (Encore, Yamaha, etc.) and this one immediately stood out as soon as we picked it up.

    Thin neck (good for youngsters), v. playable, nice action. Tone was thin but has character, unlike many other cheap guitars we tried.

    No whammy bar and would have liked at least one humbucker. There is a bit of hum sometimes.

    Here goes:
    1. Jack socket keeps coming loose despite adding a locking washer.
    2. The top E string had a nasty 'twang' sound which I traced to a bad slot in the nut. I redressed all the nut slots …
    Read more
    Bought new from a Music Shop in Abingdon for my 12 yr old son. Paid just over £100 and they threw in a Ritter bag, strap, plectrums and lead!
    We tried ALL the budget guitars in the shop (Encore, Yamaha, etc.) and this one immediately stood out as soon as we picked it up.

    Thin neck (good for youngsters), v. playable, nice action. Tone was thin but has character, unlike many other cheap guitars we tried.

    No whammy bar and would have liked at least one humbucker. There is a bit of hum sometimes.

    Here goes:
    1. Jack socket keeps coming loose despite adding a locking washer.
    2. The top E string had a nasty 'twang' sound which I traced to a bad slot in the nut. I redressed all the nut slots (which seemed a bit wide) by using a thin blade of a hacksaw and carefully angling it sloping towards the headstock so I did not reduce the slot depth at the front.
    3. The neck was not at all curved so we got fret buzz. I slackened the truss rod quite a bit to fix it.
    4. The neck pickup magnets do not allign with the strings and the middle one is slightly off too. The bridge pickup is angled so that is OK. This can't be adjusted and makes one wonder if they fitted the correct ones?
    Apart from these annoyances, good quality finish and average h/w.

    I got the feeling that this is a budget guitar because they don't bother to choose the best bits when they make it. It gets just any old nut, no adjustments to the neck, etc. and the hardware is not particularly the best. These probably get used on the Strats and better guitars that they make in the same factory.
    The bottom line, I think, is that quality can vary and you may need to cherry pick or give it a bit of work to get it right (or ask the shop to do it for you, e.g. Regent Guitars will do this for free).
    All in all, a very good starter guitar that is very playable with a great sound!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/HenryMGR/Henry

    Squier Bullet Strat

    Squier Bullet Strat SpecialPublished on 10/01/04 at 15:00
    I purchased this guitar from NZ Rockshops in Wellington, New Zealand for NZ$299 as part of a package deal.

    This guitar is robust and outstanding value. It's neck is smooth and rounded into a shape I find easy to play with.

    The finish is durable, and the controls and pickups are similiar to those of a US Strat.

    I believe that the only differences between this guitar and an American Strat are minor, and this guitar provides the beginner with real tone at an affordable price.

    The pickups are slightly too screechy for my taste, and do not compare to the rich, mellow sound of my Fender Highway 1 Stratocaster.

    This, however, is a subtle difference and will not be recognised the beginne…
    Read more
    I purchased this guitar from NZ Rockshops in Wellington, New Zealand for NZ$299 as part of a package deal.

    This guitar is robust and outstanding value. It's neck is smooth and rounded into a shape I find easy to play with.

    The finish is durable, and the controls and pickups are similiar to those of a US Strat.

    I believe that the only differences between this guitar and an American Strat are minor, and this guitar provides the beginner with real tone at an affordable price.

    The pickups are slightly too screechy for my taste, and do not compare to the rich, mellow sound of my Fender Highway 1 Stratocaster.

    This, however, is a subtle difference and will not be recognised the beginner, as I was when I purchased it.

    This guitar could withstand serious gigging, with its thick finish and well put together features including tight knobs and a secure bridge.

    The guitar was seemingly made with care and designed with consideration. This guitar would be excellent as a cheap, backup guitar.

    I play a lot of Blues-Rock and Classic Rock, which the Strat is the leading choice in.

    The sound is practically that of a Mexican Strat without the name and the price. The components are incredibly similiar to that of my US Made Stratocaster, and thios is a great advantage to the beginner. I thoroughly recommend this as a first guitar, even ahead of a classical or cheap acoustic one.

    My only complaint is the price, but then I complain about that on every guitar as they only cost about $10 to make, so in that regard this guitar is better value than any other!

    With this guitar you can sound awesome without sacrificing too much precious money. This is one of the most playable guitars of all time!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/hammetfanMGR/hammetfan

    Squier Bullet

    Squier Bullet Strat SpecialPublished on 02/05/04 at 15:00
    I got this guitar at mars music a few years back, I think I paid $250 w/a 10 watt amp.

    Its lite, affordable, and you can beat the shit out of it because it is a shitty guitar.

    It only has 22 frets so you cant play as high as some solos are, the pickups are passive so there isnt as high of an output like what you'd get out of a set of an emg, I had to re-solder the input wires.

    construction and quality??? there is no quality to this guitar.. It looks like sombody made it in 5 minutes with some plywood and gule.

    If you have no money then good because if you did you would be wasting it on this piece of shit.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    Read more
    I got this guitar at mars music a few years back, I think I paid $250 w/a 10 watt amp.

    Its lite, affordable, and you can beat the shit out of it because it is a shitty guitar.

    It only has 22 frets so you cant play as high as some solos are, the pickups are passive so there isnt as high of an output like what you'd get out of a set of an emg, I had to re-solder the input wires.

    construction and quality??? there is no quality to this guitar.. It looks like sombody made it in 5 minutes with some plywood and gule.

    If you have no money then good because if you did you would be wasting it on this piece of shit.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/SteveMGR/Steve

    Squier Bullet Strat

    Squier Bullet Strat SpecialPublished on 01/28/04 at 15:00
    I bought it from Argos and i paid £199 for it. RIP OFF

    Bugger all, Although it did burn well.

    To start it's crap, I mean the sound,tone,how it plays,tunning and everything else. I have to say it is the biggest peace of shit you could come across i promise you that. The guitar itself sounds terrible the little crapy 15g amp i got with it is just as bad. To go into more detail the tone knobs are just for decoration they do bugger all. the volume switch does nothing apart from switch it on and off. The whammy bar is a fragile coat hanger type thing im scared to touch in case it brakes. The pick ups buzz louder than you'r playing honestly its ridiculous. You just can't play the bloody thing t…
    Read more
    I bought it from Argos and i paid £199 for it. RIP OFF

    Bugger all, Although it did burn well.

    To start it's crap, I mean the sound,tone,how it plays,tunning and everything else. I have to say it is the biggest peace of shit you could come across i promise you that. The guitar itself sounds terrible the little crapy 15g amp i got with it is just as bad. To go into more detail the tone knobs are just for decoration they do bugger all. the volume switch does nothing apart from switch it on and off. The whammy bar is a fragile coat hanger type thing im scared to touch in case it brakes. The pick ups buzz louder than you'r playing honestly its ridiculous. You just can't play the bloody thing the neck is just plain hard to play the machine heads are utter shite, And it allways go out of tune. The pickup switch is pointless because there is no differance in sound between the three shity pickups.

    Absolutel SHIT. It has no good quality trust me (Same goes for the amp)

    The bottom line is it could not get any worse. I would rather play a tissue box with elastic bands on it. You might think maybe it's allright to start on and are thinking of going down to argos to get one like i did, don't please spare yourself don't get ripped off they are shit,crap and the rest get a proper guitar and save money in the long run. If i could rate it at less than -100,000, i would WARNING DO NOT BUY ONE

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/AnonymousMGR/Anonymous

    Squier Bullet

    Squier Bullet Strat SpecialPublished on 09/19/03 at 15:00
    i paid 100 bucks for this guitar at guitar center

    what caught my attention first off was that it was bright orange... my favorite color. the pricetag? 100 bucks! the single humbucker has a nice sound and i was astounded at what i was getting for a single c note. also its oddly lightweight which i suppose is good.

    it plays a little slow. its sort of hard to slide about the neck. i dont have any problems with it coming out of tune either.

    none of the shit has fallen off and ive had it for a while. it can take a pretty good beating too.

    if you want to learn or try out the humbucker or need a new guitar to mess around with like me then go ahead and buy it ya cheap bum.

    This review was orig…
    Read more
    i paid 100 bucks for this guitar at guitar center

    what caught my attention first off was that it was bright orange... my favorite color. the pricetag? 100 bucks! the single humbucker has a nice sound and i was astounded at what i was getting for a single c note. also its oddly lightweight which i suppose is good.

    it plays a little slow. its sort of hard to slide about the neck. i dont have any problems with it coming out of tune either.

    none of the shit has fallen off and ive had it for a while. it can take a pretty good beating too.

    if you want to learn or try out the humbucker or need a new guitar to mess around with like me then go ahead and buy it ya cheap bum.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/IanMGR/Ian

    Squier Bullet

    Squier Bullet Strat SpecialPublished on 09/05/03 at 15:00
    Guitar center -- 99 bucks

    well not much...It does take a beating and keep playing however

    crappy tone, crappy action, an all around piece of shit. But this was my first guitar so it got the job done...and what can you expect for 99 bucks.

    Well its made ok i guess, the neck sucks though. And theres always shit coming loose that I gotta tighten. But it takes a beating at least...Ive thrown it across the room a bunch of times and it keeps playing.

    dont buy it. Save up a little more and get a entry level ibanez or something. Squiers suck plain and simple. Whoever that guy is who gave this guitar a five star rating is on crack.

    This review was originally published on http://www.mus…
    Read more
    Guitar center -- 99 bucks

    well not much...It does take a beating and keep playing however

    crappy tone, crappy action, an all around piece of shit. But this was my first guitar so it got the job done...and what can you expect for 99 bucks.

    Well its made ok i guess, the neck sucks though. And theres always shit coming loose that I gotta tighten. But it takes a beating at least...Ive thrown it across the room a bunch of times and it keeps playing.

    dont buy it. Save up a little more and get a entry level ibanez or something. Squiers suck plain and simple. Whoever that guy is who gave this guitar a five star rating is on crack.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
cookies
We are using cookies!

Yes, Audiofanzine is using cookies. Since the last thing that we want is disturbing your diet with too much fat or too much sugar, you'll be glad to learn that we made them ourselves with fresh, organic and fair ingredients, and with a perfect nutritional balance. What this means is that the data we store in them is used to enhance your use of our website as well as improve your user experience on our pages (learn more). To configure your cookie preferences, click here.

We did not wait for a law to make us respect our members and visitors' privacy. The cookies that we use are only meant to improve your experience on our website.

Our cookies
Cookies not subject to consent
These are cookies that guarantee the proper functioning of Audiofanzine and allow its optimization. The website cannot function properly without these cookies. Example: cookies that help you stay logged in from page to page or that help customizing your usage of the website (dark mode or filters).
Google Analytics
We are using Google Analytics in order to better understand the use that our visitors make of our website in an attempt to improve it.
Advertising
This information allows us to show you personalized advertisements thanks to which Audiofanzine is financed. By unchecking this box you will still have advertisements but they may be less interesting :) We are using Google Ad Manager to display part of our ads, or tools integrated to our own CMS for the rest.

We did not wait for a law to make us respect our members and visitors' privacy. The cookies that we use are only meant to improve your experience on our website.

Our cookies
Cookies not subject to consent

These are cookies that guarantee the proper functioning of Audiofanzine. The website cannot function properly without these cookies. Examples: cookies that help you stay logged in from page to page or that help customizing your usage of the website (dark mode or filters).

Google Analytics

We are using Google Analytics in order to better understand the use that our visitors make of our website in an attempt to improve it. When this parameter is activated, no personal information is sent to Google and the IP addresses are anonymized.

Advertising

This information allows us to show you personalized advertisements thanks to which Audiofanzine is financed. By unchecking this box you will still have advertisements but they may be less interesting :) We are using Google Ad Manager to display part of our ads, or tools integrated to our own CMS for the rest.


You can find more details on data protection in our privacy policy.
You can also find information about how Google uses personal data by following this link.