Create an account

or

Thread Recording Electric Guitars and Keyboard

• 3 replies
  • 2 participants
  • 0 follower
Sujet de la discussion Recording Electric Guitars and Keyboard
Hi!

I guess an introductory post should be good but I have this idea that no one actually read or reply to an introductory post. :P

Anyway, here's a brief introduction:

The name is Bruno, I'm from Brazil and I'm 18. I studied Music at university but left it due to problems with perception (mine sucks :(). I'm interested in composing Electronic Music (Such as EBM and Industrial) and Metal music (Mainly Black Metal, but also other genres included in 'Metal').
I normally use CoolEdit to mix, but I have a serious problem: an onboard soundcard! :o (I recorded with my computer's mic but the quality sucks hard!)
I do some MIDI files using Guitar Pro 5 (Mainly Metal and "soundtrack" music) and some electronic stuff using FruityLoops. Also, I used to use soundfonts to "enhance" my midi songs. To convert the .mid in .wav I used to use TIMIDITY + a not-that-bad soundfont I found on the internet.
Once I tried GigaStudio, but I realized I didn't have enough "power" to use it.

But anyways, let's be more objective:

I want to buy a soundcard so I can record my songs. I need one to record electric guitar and keyboards (not simultaniously). I don't want it to be state of the art tech or something. Just decent. Don't want it to suck, but unfortunately I have some financial limits :P
Also, I'd like to use GigaStudio, Sonar (or myabe any other good sequencer) and something extra you guys may tell me it's good. :D

So here's the objectives:

-Record Electric Guitar (with effect pedal).
-Record Keyboard (It's an Roland A-90).
-Use GigaStudio.
-Use FruityLoops.
-Use Sonar (or a good alternative sequencer).
-Be able to mix all my songs and produce them.

I know nothing about soundcards. That's why I'm writting :rolleyes:
Need some tips, some models, for example.