Create an account

or

Thread Newest of the Newbie Questions

• 7 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 0 follower
Topic Newest of the Newbie Questions
Hi folks,

I've been singing in bands for a few years, and went along to an audition recently, and was amazed by how good Cubase is, and how easy the guys in the band managed to mix my voice in with their existing tracks, etc, so I decided to try setting something up at home. I've got a pretty decent spec PC, and picked up Cubase for a great price, so thought I was ready to go.

However, being the newest of newbies and knowing nothing about music recording, I came upon a couple of problems! Firstly, I started off by just plugging my guitar into the usual amp, then putting the output of that amp into the mic socket of my PC's soundcard, as it doesn't have a line in. The sound left a lot to be desired! So, here's my first set of questions - what is the way that this "should" be done, and should I be playing my guitar clean, or using distortion on my original amp? If I use distortion it sounds pretty rubbish on the PC!

Next, and far worse, I naively plugged my decent microphone into the mic port of the soundcard, and got absolutely nothing from the recording in Cubase! Oops! Realised that I needed some kind of amp before the PC, so tried running the microphone through the guitar amp first. Predictably, at least I can hear something, but the sound is pretty poor!

So, next set of questions - do I need some sort of mixer amp before the soundcard?

Lastly, guitar and voice is fine, but it's nice to have something to keep the beat - what is the best thing to create a simple drum beat and bass combination, which could then be imported into Cubase?

Obviously from my ignorance displayed above, I'm not looking for professional record label quality recordings, just something to play with, and possibly create a few demos to show off my voice to potential metal bands.

Anyway, any help on the above mess would be MUCH appreciated!!!