Create an account

or

Thread Need advice on putting together home studio

• 3 replies
  • 2 participants
  • 0 follower
1 Need advice on putting together home studio
Greetings!

I'm a guitarist and, primarily due to my work schedule, find it really difficult to get together with other musicians to jam and work out licks. I concluded that the only reliable option to do this was to create a home studio where I could jam (albeit digitally) and record.

Configuration
System: PIII 500Mhz, 512ram, sony r/w/rw, 60Gb IDE drive, soundcard (unknown-from a compaq presario), 100mg iomega zip and cd-rom. 17" dell monitor
Mixing Board: Yamaha MG10/2
Pre-amp: MobilePre USB
audio out: Peavy Studio Pro
software: cakewalk home studio 4.0 & Sonic Foundry 4.0, Nero cd burning--all running on Win XP professional.

I want to record my guitar (Turner RS6), with and without a Boss effects box, as well as vocals (Shure mics). That's the live input. I'd like to use samples, e.g. percussion, bass, keyboard and other sounds, mix it together, save it and burn to cd.

Sounds simple, but it's very confusing for me. I haven't fully gone through the s/w doc's primarily because I can't get the friggin hardware to work yet while I test each stage. Still have MIDI error messages (guess I don't have it....whatever the problem is!). :?

My main objective is to take the lyrics & music that my wife & I write and record them. Secondary objective (interesting development) is to provide "studio time" for others. I've gotten a number of requests from mostly hiphop folks to "rent" my equipment for their own production. I'm not really interested in this now, but, what the heck, might be in the future.

But first, I've got to get the whole config set up correctly!!! Going to the vendors websites proved to be a useless investment of time. They only care about "their" device.

Can anyone provide me some direction and advice?

Thanks in advance,
bananaman