Become a member
Become a member

or
Continue with Google
Log in
Log in

or
Log in using a Google account
Add this product to
  • Mon ancien matos
  • My current gear
  • My wishlist
Crate GX15
Images
1/1

All user reviews for the Crate GX15

Price engine
Classified Ads
Forums
Filter
Keywords
Average Score:
( 3.9/5 based on 11 reviews )
3 reviews
27 %
5 reviews
45 %
2 reviews
18 %
1 review
9 %
Write a user review
Users reviews
  • MGR/Duncan MacKinnonMGR/Duncan MacKinnon

    Crate GX15

    Crate GX15Published on 06/19/03 at 15:00
    I bourght this Amp as my first in Hayward Guitars, Winchester as my 1st amp for £70

    I like the size of the amp, the weight and the comforting click of the on/off button. It is great as a 1st amp, is 70d.b, plenty to jam with mates andlooks good.

    The distortion is too heavy, it has a lack of options, and everything that isn't in the likes section

    Heavily built, cood construction and good quality

    A good starter amp for the 1st 10-12 months of playing. Upgrade after that.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
  • MGR/Nat MontalbanoMGR/Nat Montalbano

    Crate GX-15 Amp

    Crate GX15Published on 04/20/03 at 15:00
    Bought two of them from the Guitar Center in Harahan, Louisian on sale for $70 each.

    The contruction and the sound. I bought them so that I could do stereo effects from a Digitech RP300 Effect peddle. The sound is GREAT. It is really a full sound and very clean. When playing with the overdrive button depressed, it produce a fine sounding distortion. It sings, has lots of sustain when overdriving with my Gibson SG. I often play through one of them with my Strat. Sounds equally good. In fact I like it so much that I don't use the RP300 peddle much and just play it straight through.

    Since I started playing it without any effects, sometimes I wish that I had spent and extra $20 and got…
    Read more
    Bought two of them from the Guitar Center in Harahan, Louisian on sale for $70 each.

    The contruction and the sound. I bought them so that I could do stereo effects from a Digitech RP300 Effect peddle. The sound is GREAT. It is really a full sound and very clean. When playing with the overdrive button depressed, it produce a fine sounding distortion. It sings, has lots of sustain when overdriving with my Gibson SG. I often play through one of them with my Strat. Sounds equally good. In fact I like it so much that I don't use the RP300 peddle much and just play it straight through.

    Since I started playing it without any effects, sometimes I wish that I had spent and extra $20 and got one with a reverb.

    Top notch. It is finished as good as any Fender or Peavy, maybe better.

    Well spent money. I tried a lot of practice amps. This sounded the best to me. I do it again. Like I said, have two, but I would buy one of them with a reverb. You won't be sorry with this one, no way.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/Lead guitrarist of ERAD - Cezary S.MGR/Lead guitrarist of ERAD - Cezary S.

    Crate GX-15

    Crate GX15Published on 04/19/03 at 15:00
    This is my first guitar amplifier. I bought this amp at Musician's Friend for $80. I searched for an amp not too big.

    It's very light and pretty much portable. I carry it around and jam with my friends with it. It can get pretty distorted. The clean channel is good. You can set your low's, mid's, and high's and get a lot of different sounds. It's a good practice amp, where you can play it at night and not disturb the neighbors.

    Too much feedback, after volume 4. I can't really level with my drummer with it. Well, what do you expect from a small 12 watt amp?

    Excellent construction. I dropped it many times on concrete floor,..not a scratch! It is very durable.

    Need a small, compact prac…
    Read more
    This is my first guitar amplifier. I bought this amp at Musician's Friend for $80. I searched for an amp not too big.

    It's very light and pretty much portable. I carry it around and jam with my friends with it. It can get pretty distorted. The clean channel is good. You can set your low's, mid's, and high's and get a lot of different sounds. It's a good practice amp, where you can play it at night and not disturb the neighbors.

    Too much feedback, after volume 4. I can't really level with my drummer with it. Well, what do you expect from a small 12 watt amp?

    Excellent construction. I dropped it many times on concrete floor,..not a scratch! It is very durable.

    Need a small, compact practice amp? Don't wanna disturb the neighbors? Got a tight budget? Well this is the amp for you. You play in a band? You do small gigs? Don't bother.

    www.geocities.com/erad_rocks

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/the goatMGR/the goat

    Crate GX-15

    Crate GX15Published on 01/25/03 at 15:00
    I bought this amp several years ago at a music store as part of a starter combo with a Fender knock-off guitar for around $200 all total. I wanted to play guitar to annoy my parents and pay off my wife's student loans. Of course, my parents are happy that I've finally found a productive hobby, and the student loans will follow the old lady and me the grave. Go figure.

    It's light and easy to move around. It's also quite cheap. Having played the amp at parties, it looks like it's been through a war, yet it keeps on ticking. For a dinky little amp, it is cabable of satisfying a single room of drunk headbangers on a budget.


    It sounds like a clock-radio lit up on meth. The distortio…
    Read more
    I bought this amp several years ago at a music store as part of a starter combo with a Fender knock-off guitar for around $200 all total. I wanted to play guitar to annoy my parents and pay off my wife's student loans. Of course, my parents are happy that I've finally found a productive hobby, and the student loans will follow the old lady and me the grave. Go figure.

    It's light and easy to move around. It's also quite cheap. Having played the amp at parties, it looks like it's been through a war, yet it keeps on ticking. For a dinky little amp, it is cabable of satisfying a single room of drunk headbangers on a budget.


    It sounds like a clock-radio lit up on meth. The distortion is very muddy, and the soul-penetrating hiss it exudes at even moderate volumes can grate on your nerves. You can fiddle with the dials all day long, and it will never quite sound just right.

    It has survived beer spills (Pabst no less), a U-Haul, and people falling on it. It has also been knocked off of a chair. All in all, it seems quite durable. The dials are a smidge off though; when you turn them all the way down, none of them match with the zero mark, which is annoying to me, but maybe not to you.

    This is an absolute starter amp. When you've learned to play your second chord, it's time to take this little girl to the pawn shop and let some other budding rocker have a go.

    Note: if you have a lot of digital filter design experience, you may be able to put together professional recordings with an amp this cheap, but it does take determination and some serious creativity. If that ain't you, I'd recommend buying a better amp.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/Yury BaranoffMGR/Yury Baranoff

    Crate GX15

    Crate GX15Published on 01/22/03 at 15:00
    My friend bought it long time ago for ~$200, and recently I had to repair it.

    Very good clean sound. Drive channel gives a perfect tone, a bit old-style, but it is the best I've ever heard from 15-Wt amp. Works good with most drive pedals, although a bit fuzzy. It has adequate volume and the bass is ok - like always, the best sound is obtained with the volume set near to half maximum level.

    Crate 15 and 20Wt amps has 2 basic disadvantages. 1-power amps and speakers usually get out of order 2-tone and volume pots aren't reliable. Maybe amps with these disadvantages are specially chosen for exporting to Russia 8-)

    Like all cheap amps this one has hum and noise, though in most situations …
    Read more
    My friend bought it long time ago for ~$200, and recently I had to repair it.

    Very good clean sound. Drive channel gives a perfect tone, a bit old-style, but it is the best I've ever heard from 15-Wt amp. Works good with most drive pedals, although a bit fuzzy. It has adequate volume and the bass is ok - like always, the best sound is obtained with the volume set near to half maximum level.

    Crate 15 and 20Wt amps has 2 basic disadvantages. 1-power amps and speakers usually get out of order 2-tone and volume pots aren't reliable. Maybe amps with these disadvantages are specially chosen for exporting to Russia 8-)

    Like all cheap amps this one has hum and noise, though in most situations they are unaudible. The speaker has a little bit more treble than I'd like it to have. Reverb unit isn't somethig very good, like any other cheap spring reverb unit.


    Like I mentioned it has problems with power amp and speaker. Assembly quality sometimes is awful - for example, speaker is never centered to its hole. I've even seen an amp mounted with only 3 screws.

    If you're lucky you may choose an amp with no disadvantages I mentioned above. If so then you'll own the best sounding 15Wt amp. Marshall practice amps are much more reliable but they have much worse tone, especially for the drive channel.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/NRGuitarMGR/NRGuitar

    Crate GX-15

    Crate GX15Published on 04/01/02 at 14:00
    I bought it off my neighbor for 40$, though they run for about $80.

    Good practice amp. Versatile. Good clean tone. Plenty of noise capability.

    The onboard distortion stinks! Get a stomp box. I ahve an Ibanez DS7 tonelok and it rocks!

    Very durrable. I've beat the heck out of the thing and it still sounds great!

    I love this amp. I custom enclosed the back of mine and the bass response is cool. People are constantly surprised at its power and tone. Though the onboard distortion is not recomended. I give it a four because its power beats out the distortion problem.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    Read more
    I bought it off my neighbor for 40$, though they run for about $80.

    Good practice amp. Versatile. Good clean tone. Plenty of noise capability.

    The onboard distortion stinks! Get a stomp box. I ahve an Ibanez DS7 tonelok and it rocks!

    Very durrable. I've beat the heck out of the thing and it still sounds great!

    I love this amp. I custom enclosed the back of mine and the bass response is cool. People are constantly surprised at its power and tone. Though the onboard distortion is not recomended. I give it a four because its power beats out the distortion problem.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/pooploserMGR/pooploser

    Crate GX-15

    Crate GX15Published on 03/24/02 at 15:00
    one of my friends gave this to me beacuse she bought a new amp, and i needed a practice amp

    well i always liked crate amps, and this one is a nice practice amp. i have an old model, but it still sounds good, it has a very nice gain and that is very important, the newer gx-15 have an even better sounding gain, the eq is good, some practice amps dont have them, and the headphone jack is really nice so i dont get to loud, and the speaker output is very usefull. its a very good beginer amp

    well i guess the only thing i dont like about the amp is that it gets kinda fuzzy and pops and high volumes but what do u expect from a little practice amp.

    i think that this i very well built and sturdy. …
    Read more
    one of my friends gave this to me beacuse she bought a new amp, and i needed a practice amp

    well i always liked crate amps, and this one is a nice practice amp. i have an old model, but it still sounds good, it has a very nice gain and that is very important, the newer gx-15 have an even better sounding gain, the eq is good, some practice amps dont have them, and the headphone jack is really nice so i dont get to loud, and the speaker output is very usefull. its a very good beginer amp

    well i guess the only thing i dont like about the amp is that it gets kinda fuzzy and pops and high volumes but what do u expect from a little practice amp.

    i think that this i very well built and sturdy. the quality is very good, crate is under rated, they r very nice amps for the price.

    so bottom line if u want a good sounding nice distortion practice amp and your on a small budget this amp is the one for u. i think it sounds better then most practice amps and they r not very expensive.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/shmoMGR/shmo

    Crate GX 15

    Crate GX15Published on 02/17/02 at 15:00
    I needed any kind of amp I could get- this was 45 dollars used at a store. I currently need a new one, 15 watts is too small. Bought from a local shop.

    This unit is good at what it does at low volumes- the price was nice. The pre-amp helps a bit.

    This amp is too quiet for gigs. It's solid-state. The overdrive is pretty poor, and I don't like the Crate tinny sound too much. Only an 8" speaker.

    This amp is fairly solid, though it has occasional pops and background noise (fuzz).

    It isn't so great of an amp, but the price is low. Save up if you want an amp big enough for a gig, and get a tube amp if you want nice sound. Use a pedal if you want distortion because the Crate GX 15 does…
    Read more
    I needed any kind of amp I could get- this was 45 dollars used at a store. I currently need a new one, 15 watts is too small. Bought from a local shop.

    This unit is good at what it does at low volumes- the price was nice. The pre-amp helps a bit.

    This amp is too quiet for gigs. It's solid-state. The overdrive is pretty poor, and I don't like the Crate tinny sound too much. Only an 8" speaker.

    This amp is fairly solid, though it has occasional pops and background noise (fuzz).

    It isn't so great of an amp, but the price is low. Save up if you want an amp big enough for a gig, and get a tube amp if you want nice sound. Use a pedal if you want distortion because the Crate GX 15 doesn't cut it.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/KateMGR/Kate

    Crate GX-15

    Crate GX15Published on 12/01/01 at 15:00
    This was my first guitar amp that my dad bought for me when I was 12. We got it at Michael's Music in Freeport, NY for $100.

    It's light and I can carry it around with me when I go to camp. It's just loud enough to jam with your friends, but it can be quiet enough to practice at home late at night.

    The overdrive isn't that great, and the feedback is really bad sometimes.

    It's a sturdy lil' 12 watt amp, great for the guitarist just starting out.

    I think that I payed about $20 too much for it, other than that, it's a good little amp. If you want something to just mess around with, it's great, but if you want something loud, definitely get a louder amp.

    This review was originally publis…
    Read more
    This was my first guitar amp that my dad bought for me when I was 12. We got it at Michael's Music in Freeport, NY for $100.

    It's light and I can carry it around with me when I go to camp. It's just loud enough to jam with your friends, but it can be quiet enough to practice at home late at night.

    The overdrive isn't that great, and the feedback is really bad sometimes.

    It's a sturdy lil' 12 watt amp, great for the guitarist just starting out.

    I think that I payed about $20 too much for it, other than that, it's a good little amp. If you want something to just mess around with, it's great, but if you want something loud, definitely get a louder amp.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/AnonymousMGR/Anonymous

    Crate GX-15

    Crate GX15Published on 06/30/01 at 15:00
    I got this as a first guitar amplifier at Micheal's Music (Freeport, NY) for $100.

    I like how it can be quiet enough to practice late at night, but it can also be loud enough to jam with friends.

    The speaker isn't the best and can be a little noisy at times, but other than that I have nothing bad to say about the amp.

    It only weighs 15 pounds. It has an 8" speaker with a 12+ watt RMS. It has a headphone jack if you don't want to wake anybody up at night or want to play to yourself. It also has a speaker jack so you can hook it up to something more powerful. It has an overdrive button on it as well. It's made in the USA.

    It's a good practice amp, great for beginners or anybody that …
    Read more
    I got this as a first guitar amplifier at Micheal's Music (Freeport, NY) for $100.

    I like how it can be quiet enough to practice late at night, but it can also be loud enough to jam with friends.

    The speaker isn't the best and can be a little noisy at times, but other than that I have nothing bad to say about the amp.

    It only weighs 15 pounds. It has an 8" speaker with a 12+ watt RMS. It has a headphone jack if you don't want to wake anybody up at night or want to play to yourself. It also has a speaker jack so you can hook it up to something more powerful. It has an overdrive button on it as well. It's made in the USA.

    It's a good practice amp, great for beginners or anybody that just wants a little amp to practice at home with.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
cookies
We are using cookies!

Yes, Audiofanzine is using cookies. Since the last thing that we want is disturbing your diet with too much fat or too much sugar, you'll be glad to learn that we made them ourselves with fresh, organic and fair ingredients, and with a perfect nutritional balance. What this means is that the data we store in them is used to enhance your use of our website as well as improve your user experience on our pages (learn more). To configure your cookie preferences, click here.

We did not wait for a law to make us respect our members and visitors' privacy. The cookies that we use are only meant to improve your experience on our website.

Our cookies
Cookies not subject to consent
These are cookies that guarantee the proper functioning of Audiofanzine and allow its optimization. The website cannot function properly without these cookies.
Website preferences
We store your preferences so that you do not have to re-enter them every time your come back (forums options, dark or light theme, classifieds filter, standard or buzz news, newsletters popups...).
Log in
This one makes sure you don't have to re-enter your credentials every time you visit Audiofanzine.
Analytics
This data allows us to understand the use that our visitors make of our website in an attempt to improve it.
Advertising
This information allows us to show you personalized advertisements thanks to which Audiofanzine is financed. By unchecking this box you will still have advertisements but they may be less interesting :)

We did not wait for a law to make us respect our members and visitors' privacy. The cookies that we use are only meant to improve your experience on our website.

Our cookies
Cookies not subject to consent

These are cookies that guarantee the proper functioning of Audiofanzine and allow its optimization. The website cannot function properly without these cookies.

Website preferences

We store your preferences so that you do not have to re-enter them every time your come back (forums options, dark or light theme, classifieds filter, standard or buzz news, newsletters popups...).

Log in

This one makes sure you don't have to re-enter your credentials every time you visit Audiofanzine.

Analytics

This data allows us to understand the use that our visitors make of our website in an attempt to improve it.

Advertising

This information allows us to show you personalized advertisements thanks to which Audiofanzine is financed. By unchecking this box you will still have advertisements but they may be less interesting :)


You can find more details on data protection in our privacy policy.