or
Create an account

or

Thread recording drums first?

• 5 replies
  • 6 participants
  • 0 follower
1 recording drums first?
I'm a drummer, but i play with other guiatrists vocalists etc. we've made some music before, recoridng individually, but the timing is always a little messed up because we have the guitarists go first. i know you're supposed to have the drummer record first, but how would you go about doing that, because how would you know when to do a fill, or switch the rhythm for a chorus or something of that nature. please help

Thank you
well generally before you step foot into a studio you should know your shit up and down. so i would say learn it the best you can.
if you cant accomplish this for whatever reason (time constraints ect.), then pipe a headphone mix of the guitarist playing live into your phones. either put him in a separate room and mic him, use the headphone out from his amp, or pull from a DI track. there are many ways to accomplish this.....
maybe playing to a click track wouldn't be such a bad idea either.
get the drummer to wear headphones in which he can hear the guitarist playing while he is recording his drums.
always do drums first.
play to a click track too.. it makes editing easier. much easier.

%1$s a écrit get the drummer to wear headphones in which he can hear the guitarist playing while he is recording his drums.
always do drums first.
play to a click track too.. it makes editing easier. much easier.

I second all of this.