or
Create an account

or

Thread Setting up home recording with my PC

• 3 replies
  • 2 participants
  • 0 follower
Sujet de la discussion Setting up home recording with my PC
I've been a musician off and on for the past 8 years, with a couple of friends ofmine from college. We've made some average recordings on a TASCAM 4-Track in the past. We record vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, currently through a Mackie 24-4 Mixing console that then goes to the 4 track.

I now have another PC at home (new Dell with CD-burner), and I am looking for some insight on what upgrades I should be looking for to utilize my PC for recording.

I've managed to record from tape to computer, using the stock SoundBlaster card that came with the machine. From what I can tell, it is pretty limited, as the sound quality isn't too good and it looks like I can only record 60 second increments.

I am pretty sure I will need to upgrade my sound card, and I also wanted some ideas on what direction to go in with regard to software.

Any assistance would be appreciated.
Sounds like you have everything but the correct S/W. I have done the same with my old Pentium 133 PC (Win 95, 64 MB) and a Sound Blaster Live Soundcard. When I started working on this home recording project, the stock windows recording program was limiting me to 60 seconds of record time. Once I installed my multitrack software I was able to do 2 tracks for ten minutes without a memory crash. I have a better PC now and can do more things faster than my old PC, but it did work.

I can copy tracks from my Tascam 2 at a time (as stereo) and then copy them to single tracks, re-mix them, filter them, add effects and so on.

I have read most of the posts in this forum and it seems that most people are using S/W I don't know anything about, I use Cool Edit Pro but from what I gather from the posters here, there is cheaper software out there.

I hope this helps.
Thanks for the feedback.