or
Create an account

or

Thread Some advice for home Studio design needed!

• 1 comment
  • 2 participants
  • 0 follower
1 Some advice for home Studio design needed!
I have just registered at this site. I am a beginner in the music area. However, my aim is to use some music software as to try to produce music (use loops and other stuff that others have done and rework it) and record the vocal part. I have a Dell 8500 portable with 512MB RAM and 60GB harddisk and 200GB external harddisk. The sound card is a Sigma Tel (I suppose MME support but not ASIO). I have just got Reason 2,5 for the music elaboration part (and downloading every rfl-file that i can) and the Cubase package + VSTs (cracked of course). I also have a CASIO CTK-671 keyboard. I have heard (on internet) that I can have a latency down to <10ms when using a dll from Cubase. I have not started that part yet.
My Questions:
1) Does the set up seems OK.
2) If I am going to do vocal recordings, is it possible to reach a professional level by my computer? What kind of microphone should I use and what kind of interface do i need to connect the microphone (I heard of one on internet using a RME Cardbus + interface from Digiface). Was this about microphones? This guy also was up to buy a Behringer ADA-8000 preamp/AD/DA. How should the setup for vocal recording look like. Lets assume that I have 1000USD for this setup. What should I select? Or should I perform the vocal recording in an other way, perhaps through a ADAT-recorder (I hardly know what it is!).
3) At what stage should I use the Cubase package?

I know this is a lot of questions, but you seem to be nice folks, so perhaps somebody would like to give me some advice!
/regards
musicforeverybody