Create an account

or

Thread free software for free music

• 2 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 0 follower
1 free software for free music
means: free as in libre

i am working on building a LINUX AUDIO WORKSTATION based on affordable PC_Hardware and GNU-Software.

right now i am about to compile ARDOUR beta09 - Paul Davis Realtime-No-Limit-Pro-Harddiskrecordingsuite.

I have some 12 Years of Experience in Home/Studiorecording and work on Linux-Audio for 2 Years now.

HD-Recording i in a somewhat hmmm... embryonic State in LINUX means: there are shapes of great things to come (professional HD-Recording with open, free, no-charge - Programms etc) but most stuff is not really stable yet.

At the other hand ther is astounding stuff out ther recently:

- alsa - drivers plus JACK_Audioserver provides better Support for Audiocards than the original VendorDrivers for Win32 (Infinite channels at the same time, latency about 20ms etc)
- flexibility unknown from propriatary progs (most synths/FX can be merged at runtime to create never-before-heard sounds etc)
- great synths

I introduce everybody out there to share my experience/knowledge and to have a look at LINUX-Audio.

see ya...