Fender American Telecaster [2000-2007]
+
Fender American Telecaster [2000-2007]

American Telecaster [2000-2007], TLC-Shaped Guitar from Fender in the Telecaster series.

  • Increase or decrease font size
  • Print
  • RSS

All user reviews for the Fender American Telecaster [2000-2007]

  • Like
  • Tweet
  • Submit
Average Score:4.9( 4.9/5 based on 23 reviews )
 20 reviews87 %
 3 reviews13 %
Value For Money : Excellent
iamqman10/11/2011

iamqman's review"White is fine Vintage white is better"

Fender American Telecaster [2000-2007]
The Fender Telecaster is absolute superb instrument. From top to bottom up and down inside and out. This is such a great instrument and a solid tone for just about any style of music. The telecaster is a somewhat different body then a Stratocaster in that it doesn't have its double cut away top and bottom heels. It's only got a single cutaway which is similar to a Gibson Les Paul. However, this instrument carry's a particular tone that no other guitar can match.

UTILIZATION


This guitar features to single coil pickups as well as a volume control knob and a tone control knob. It also has a pickup selector and that's pretty much about it. You get a straight up rock guitar that is just brilliant to listen to and is just a fantastic overall instruments.

SOUNDS


I love the tone of this guitar primarily with a good solid clean amplifier and any distortion boxer overdrive pedal out in front of the amp. This is a guitar that's not going to get you thick saturated warm tones, but it's going to get you a percussive high frequency snappy clean tone. If you use a lot of distortion in your amplifier in this guitar does sound good but it's not going to quite give you that beef and drive that you might be used to out of a Gibson Les Paul guitar or another humbucker sinstalled guitar.

OVERALL OPINION


These guitars are very highly used in the country world as well as all the way up to the hard rock world. This is the kind of guitar that is going to be a life or guitar for you. It has a unique tone that is very fender like because it is Fender but extremely different than a Fender Stratocaster. Both can pretty much play in the same style of music but this one has a little bit different feel in the neck and is pretty little bit thinner so it gets a little faster aggressive snappier lead and solo tones. They generally feature ash wood so you get that nice brilliant tones good for clean playing. You can find these guitars for just around thousand dollars or so new and used for around $6-$700. You can find them pretty much anywhere you look for any guitar instruments.
iamqman10/10/2011

iamqman's review"Sunburst all the time"

Fender American Telecaster [2000-2007]

The Fender Tele is a cool and simple design. It has a great feel and a fantastic look. This is a simple guitar with two single quill pick ups and volume control knob any tone control knob with a pick up selector. This is a very simple guitar but yet a extremely great sounding instrument. There isn't a whole lot to get in the way of tone with this instrument. There's not a lot of extra backs or switches or booths of any kind I get in the way of your guitars natural organic tone.

UTILIZATION

Detail
Body Material Ash
Body Finish Urethane
Color Natural
Neck Material Maple, bolt-on
Neck Shape C
Scale Length 25.5"
Fingerboard Material Maple, 9.5" radius
Fingerboard Inlay Black dots
Number of Frets 22
Nut Width 1.685"
Bridge/Tailpiece Strings-through hardtail with bent steel saddles and stamped brass plate
Tuners Cast sealed tuners
Number of Pickups 2
Neck Pickup Tele single-coil
Middle Pickup No middle pickup
Bridge Pickup Tele single-coil
Controls Master Volume, Master Tone, 3-way pickup selector
Case Included Hardshell

SOUNDS


These guitars work in any music setting that you find yourself in. If you play anything from indie rock to pop rock or even hard rock then this is going to be a great setting for your rig for that style of music. If you use a high gain amplifier then it is going to be a mild tone overall and not very thick and saturated. If you have a clean amplifier such as a Fender twin reverb or fender Princeton amplifier then this guitar is really good match with those amps. I like to use this guitar with a fender Hot Rod Deluxe amplifier and a good overdrive pedal such as an Ibanez tube screamer and a nice digital or analog delay. When you have these pedals with this guitar you can get some great sonic tones.

OVERALL OPINION

At new you can find these guitars for around $1000 or so depending on the actual specs of the instrument. Some paint jobs have a little bit different price and such but nothing that will be outrageous. This is a great guitar for cleans and anyone needing a good solid guitar for this particular tone. A Strat and a LP will not sound like this and visa versa. So this is a good addition to any guitar collection.
iamqman10/05/2011

iamqman's review"Yes I can"

Fender American Telecaster [2000-2007]
Every little nuance and dynamic that you give this instrument is going to be amplified through the pick ups that are in the guitar. It is such a great guitar for allowing the players unique feel and style and approach to come through those pickups in your amplifier and projected through the speakers. It's such a great and shrimp as a unique tone and a unique sustain that is unlike any other guitar.

UTILIZATION


Neck Shape: Modern "C" Shape
Number of Frets: 22
Fret Size: Medium Jumbo
Position Inlays: Black Dot Position Inlays
Fretboard Radius: 9.5" (24.1 cm)
Fretboard: Maple
Neck Material: Maple
Neck Finish: Gloss Headstock Face with Satin Urethane Finish on Back of Neck
Nut Width: 1.685" (42.8 mm)
Scale Length: 25.5" (64.8 cm)
Neck Plate: 4-Bolt Neck Plate with Micro-Tilt
Truss Rods: Bi-Flex™ Truss Rod System
Truss Rod Nut: 1/8" American Series Nut
Electronics
Pickup Configuration: S/S
Bridge Pickup: American Tele® Single-Coil Pickup
Neck Pickup: American Tele® Single-Coil Pickup
Pickup Switching: 3-Position Blade: Position 1. Bridge Pickup, Position 2. Bridge and Neck Pickups, Position 3. Neck Pickup
Special Electronics: No-Load Tone Control
Controls: Master Volume, Master Delta Tone

SOUNDS


I primarily like these guitars with a good Fender amplifier of some kind. I like the clean tones at Fender amps give me an couple that with a good solid distortion pedal or overdrive pedal and maybe some digital delay and this guitar really rings through for me. I never like this guitar with a high gain amplifier even know it will sound good in many circumstances but I just preferred with a good solid Fender clean amplifier with them . I like using the manufacture distortion tone from an overdrive pedal or distortion pedal because it's just my personal preference. There's really no way to play this guitar or a right way to play it just give it what you have and I'll be a good friend to you.

OVERALL OPINION

I would highly recommend this guitar to anyone searching for one of the best guitars that has ever been created. At new these guitars come in right at around $999. That is a great price for a USA built tone machine. These are cool guitars and a player's guitar for sure. They have a touch and rugged feel to them that makes them a perfect gigging guitar.
iamqman10/05/2011

iamqman's review"Red guitar on fire...."

Fender American Telecaster [2000-2007]
The Fender telecaster is easily the most soulful and transparent guitar that a lot of people have played. There's a lot that can be said about the fender telecaster for one thing that comes to mind is that it's a very transparent guitar and what I mean by that is that he gives you exactly what you put into it. It's not to be a ripping high gain metal type guitar that accepts distortion or high levels of gain, but this is the county guitar and if you give it enough tube distortion or any type of the fact that it's going get you a very good transparent tone that will cut through the band mix very well.

UTILIZATION


Fender American Standard Telecaster Features:


* Body: Ash
* Finish: Polyurethane
* Neck: Maple
* Fretboard: Maple, 9.5" (241mm)
* Number of frets: 22, Medium-jumbo
* Scale length: 25.5" (648 mm)
* Nut: Melamine
* Nut width: 1.685" (42.8mm)
* Hardware: Chrome
* Machine heads: Fender deluxe staggered cast/sealed tuning keys
* Bridge: American Standard Telecaster with six American Standard bent steel saddles and stamped brass plate
* Pickguard: 3-ply
* Neck pickup: American Tele single-coil pickup
* Bridge pickup: American Tele single-coil pickup
* Pickup switching: 3-position blade
* Controls: Volume, tone
* Strings: Fender Standard Tension™ Bullet® ST3250L, nickel-plated steel (.009 to .042)
* Case: Molded Fender/SKB case included with TSA locks, glass-reinforced nylon trigger latches, and plush interior
* Accessories: Cable, strap, polishing cloth, and wrenches

SOUNDS


Simple design with two single coil pickup's a volume control knob and a tone control knob and pick up selector. There's not a lot of extra stuff to get in the way it is just a simple no-nonsense design. It does have a nice smooth tone that is appropriate for country music all the way up to hard rock music. I don't like the fender pickups so I suggest swapping those out for some nice Seymour Duncan pick ups or anything that you like. I've never been a fan of Fender's brand pick ups and matter what they are so I voice swamped mine out for Seymour Duncan's cause that's what I prefer. This guitar will work great in a nice Fender amp of some kind.

OVERALL OPINION


These are great guitars built right here in America and have a great balance and feeling for the money it's kind hard to beat. You can find these for right around the thousand dollars or so at that price it is worth the investment. This is a great guitar for anyone looking for a different style in a different tone to your arsenal or maybe if you're looking for to this particular time then there's really no other guitar that can do it quite like a Fender telecaster.
iamqman09/29/2011

iamqman's review"Gorgeous is the word"

Fender American Telecaster [2000-2007]
The Fender telecaster is an great accomplishment for the guitar world. It was the first guitar as introduced by the Fender music company and still today is still one of the most iconic and glorified instruments in the rock 'n roll world. It's a simple design with two single coil pickups with a volume control knob and a tone control knob with a pick up selector. It's in easy guitar and it's just a simple design and really just a classic sound. It has a nice organic sound that is very addictive if you're playing clean amplifiers all the way up to moderately mild gain amplifiers.

UTILIZATION

The tone of these guitars are phenomenal. They give you exactly what you put into them. They have a nice clean shiny tone but you do you give it a little dirt or distortion , they can give you a nice driving sustain tone. These are great guitars for country players all the way up to rock 'n roll players. It has a nice feel and a nice balance overall to the instrument. These necks are a little bit thinner and slimmer than the fender Stratocaster guitars so you can really get that good plucking in solo style down pretty easily with these necks. That's why a lot of country players gravitate towards these instruments is because they can play pretty quickly with their lead and solo rhythm playing. Plus they just sounds great through a clean amplifier which is a little bit of distortion in it.

SOUNDS

If you do play this guitar then if you have a hiking amplifier it will sound excellent as well. I really like these guitars with a nice fender hot rod deluxe amplifier and good overdrive pedal with some digital delay. It gets a great solid rock 'n roll town that is perfect for covers and just general pop or rock music. That would be my perfect combo with this guitar. I have never liked the sound of the Tele with a high gain amp but more with a clean amp with some boosted pedal overdrive.

OVERALL OPINION


I highly recommend a Fender telecaster to any guitar player because it has such a unique sound and feel that is different from any other guitar. So if you have a Gibson Les Paul or Fender Stratocaster or Paul Reed Smith guitar or anything of that nature. This will go well with your collection of guitars because it has its own unique feel and sound. You're just starting out on the guitar this is a great guitar start with because it has a good basis for burning chords and the feel of the neck is just right.
iamqman09/28/2011

iamqman's review"Black old and beautiful"

Fender American Telecaster [2000-2007]
The Fender Telecaster is the first guitar from the Fender factory and still today continues to be one of the best and most highly recognizable guitars on the planet. They have a great feel and a great tone for country music all the way up to rock and roll music. You can find this guitar used whether it be on stage somewhere or even in the recording studio. Its a great spanky clean tone that gives a fantastic sustain that is unique to this guitar which doesn't sound like a Fender stratocaster or a Gibson Les Paul guitar. No other guitar can replicate the sound of this guitar quite as well. It has an easily identifiable tone that has a fantastic sustain and a great feel overall.

UTILIZATION

* Alnico V pickups
* Deluxe hardware
* Solid alder body (black, 3-color sunburst, candy cola, and blizzard pearl) or ash body (2-tone sunburst, natural, crimson red transparent)
* Modern C-shaped maple neck with rich, deep neck tint, glossed neck fretboard with satin back and rolled edges
* Delta-tone™ no-load circuit
* Highly finished frets
* Detailed nut work
* Bent steel Fender saddles
* American Standard Tele® Bridge Plate (steel saddles and brass plate) for improved resonance
* Thinner undercoat for improved body resonance
* Rosewood or maple fretboard
* Staggered machine heads


SOUNDS


The tone of this guitar is a very cleaning tone. It's good to be a tone cuts through the band mix very well and has a nice crisp cut to the overall voicing of the guitar. If you couple this with a clean amplifier than your to get some solid nice sparkly tones. If you using this with a high gain amplifier and you're still probably going be lacking in the gain saturation because the the single coil pickups. This guitar just doesn't have that beefy thick tone like a Gibson Les Paul or Gibson Explorer guitar that features a mahogany wood with a humbucker pickup install. Is good to be a guitar that has a chimy and percussive snappy tone.

OVERALL OPINION

These are great sounding guitars and they have a distinct tone all to themselves. If you are a guitar player who has a guitar collection or if you're looking for that specific tone that you hear your head or that maybe why your favorite artists play this is going to be very particular tone so I suggest playing one of these guitars before buying it at least online. You can find them for right around $1000 or so and they are very easily to find in the used classified sections of forums or even on eBay.
iamqman09/12/2011

iamqman's review"Big red machine"

Fender American Telecaster [2000-2007]
The fender telecaster is a cool and fun's guitar. It has a good field to the body and the neck is an exceptional feeling. The neck. Overall is a very thin or neck my hands than a Fender Stratocaster and deathly more than a Gibson Les Paul. This guitar neck is not quite in Ibanez guitar neck but is pretty close. It usually has a poly finish on the back where is an Ibanez neck is a boiled neck. So the neck itself is in the snooze but you can always get that sanded off.

The center telecaster is an iconic guitar in such a great guitar for most solid music. Many country players will turn to this guitar more than any other guitar due to its very percussive sound and note separation. All of the notes when you play or strum or even any kind of lead line racing are very separated from each other. This allow someone to play a medium to low gain setting and would really cut those tones and notes in the mix. They have a very fast neck so country players also like the tone of this guitar.

UTILIZATION

Fender American Standard Telecaster Features

* Five-Screw Mounted Brass Bridge Plate for Sonic Stability
* Bent Steel Saddles with Elongated String Slots increasing resonance and sustain
* Thinner Undercoat Finish for Improved Body Resonance
* Tinted Satin Neck Finishes
* Maple or Rosewood Fingerboards
* 4-Bolt Neck Attachment with Micro-Tilt Adjustment
* Bi-Flex Truss Rod System
* Rolled Fretboard Edges
* Staggered Tuning Keys
* H/S/H Pickup Routing
* Molded Fender/SKB Case with TSA Locks and Form Fitted Plush Interior
* Sharp ‘52 Style Body Radius


SOUNDS

I really like the time of this guitar when you couple it with a good medium to low gain amplifier such as a center twin reverb or send her hot Rod deluxe amplifier. Those amplifiers are just made for guitars and vice versa. When you use a nice overdrive pedal and a good analog delay pedal or course petal. Overall this is a great guitar for any hard rock player all the way down to me any rock or country player. All the rock guitar players in England grab this guitar because of it's great for success of tone and overall three-dimensional tone. It feels good in the mix and just a great overall guitar it does have some single coil pick up, so you will need to really beef up your distortion if you want to play this in a hard rock setting.

OVERALL OPINION

I highly recommend this guitar to anyone is wanting a good solid clean American guitar. I knew you can find these guitars right around $1100 which is still at the price in my opinion. It's a fun guitar and a good complement to your guitar collection. I would recommend swapping out the pick ups for a better output pick up such as some Seymour Duncan's because the fender pickups are not very good overall. Don't get the job done but you can find a better pick up which really bring this guitar to life.
King Loudness04/26/2011

King Loudness's review"A true American Standard"

Fender American Telecaster [2000-2007]
The American Standard Telecaster from Fender is essentially Fender's original solid body guitar, but with refinements that have been made or requested over the years by players. The Tele has been a guitar used for countless genres of music and for countless generations. Here are the specs from Fender:

Body Shape: Telecaster®
Body Finish: Urethane Body Finish

Neck
Neck Shape: Modern "C" Shape
Number of Frets: 22
Fret Size: Medium Jumbo
Position Inlays: Black Dot Position Inlays
Fretboard Radius: 9.5" (24.1 cm)
Fretboard: Maple
Neck Material: Maple
Neck Finish: Gloss Headstock Face with Satin Urethane Finish on Back of Neck
Nut Width: 1.685" (42.8 mm)
Scale Length: 25.5" (64.8 cm)
Neck Plate: 4-Bolt Neck Plate with Micro-Tilt™
Truss Rods: Bi-Flex™ Truss Rod System


Electronics
Pickup Configuration: S/S
Bridge Pickup: American Tele® Single-Coil Pickup
Neck Pickup: American Tele® Single-Coil Pickup
Pickup Switching: 3-Position Blade: Position 1. Bridge Pickup, Position 2. Bridge and Neck Pickups, Position 3. Neck Pickup
Special Electronics: No-Load Tone Control
Controls: Master Volume, Master Delta Tone™

Hardware
Hardware: Chrome
Bridge: American Tele with New American Standard Bent Steel Saddles and Stamped Brass Plate
Tuning Machines: Deluxe Staggered Cast/Sealed Tuning Machines
String Nut: Synthetic Bone
Switch Tip: "Barrel" Style Switch Tip

I have played numerous Teles over the years and I've noticed that the newest 2010-2011 American Standard Teles are just really great guitars. They're simple, but effective guitars. The improvements made by Fender in the finish, electronics, hardware and quality in the last few years is great and I would definitely say they're on their game as far as quality control and putting out a great guitar, even for the $1,000 price point or so that these guitars are selling for. The necks in particular are something that I have been very impressed with recently. The satin finish that they use is really comfortable and pleasing to the hand. I can play for longer periods of time and not get that annoying stickiness that is commonplace with gloss finished necks. The features of the new Teles are great and it shows how much care Fender put into making a killer workhorse guitar for those who wanted it.

UTILIZATION

The Tele is not my favourite guitar to play all the time simply because you have to fight it a little bit more compared to a Les Paul or even a Strat. The design itself is very much a "plank." It's a flat guitar with no contouring of note, so there can be some discomfort there if you're playing for longer periods of time. The weights of the Teles I've tried vary, but they're usually medium to heavy weight guitars, so they're definitely not the most ergonomic guitar I've ever seen. I can't imagine a problem with long gigs for me (being that my main guitar is a non-chambered Les Paul) so that wouldn't be a major issue for me. Upper fret access is reasonable. It's not the greatest in the world by any means but I haven't had any major issues with it, and the satin neck finish on the new American Standard Teles does facilitate fast playing and going up and down the neck quite well.

Getting a good tone out of the Tele is very simple. This guitar gives back what you put into it. If you play softly with lots of dynamics and a cleaner sound, it reproduces that quite well. However if you really dig into it and are using a brighter, more brash sort of sound, it works equally as well with that sort of tone. It's not for everyone but if you're really into a purer sound, you can't get much more pure than the ol' plank known as the Telecaster.

SOUNDS

I've tried these Teles through various Fender, Marshall, Dr. Z and Mesa Boogie amplifiers, all with excellent results. Teles are a lot more versatile and widespread sounding than some people give credit for. It's a very dynamic and true sounding guitar that really sings in the hands of a good player. I wouldn't say the sound of a Tele is very forgiving by any means... you certainly will hear your mistakes, so playing a guitar like this will definitely bring your chops up.

Clean tones are the strong point of this guitar. Using the neck pickup and rolling the tone back yields some wonderful jazz tones (surprising from a single coil, I must say). However, the best thing to do with one of these is plug into a clean, loud Fender amp, run the guitar wide open, add a dash of that dripping Fender 'verb and let loose with a barrage of licks that take you down to the highway to Nashville. That sort of tone, very bright and pure is PERFECT for country licks and tricks. Because of it's pure tonal nature, you've got to fight it a bit like I was saying, but once you tame it, it's a wonderful feeling, and possibly a bit more rewarding than playing a very easy guitar.

Dirty tones are great as well from this. The pickups in the American Standard models are hotter than the vintage models so you can apply tasteful amounts of grit for that classic blues or rock tone, or you can increase the gain up to savagely high levels to play some shred licks. I find Teles react best for riff based hard rock (if we're discussing drive based tones) because they have a nice crisp, bright edge that sits really well in a mix, and if you put that with a Les Paul or something dark, it makes for a very well seated mix. I wouldn't say this guitar is great for metal styles due to the noise and the bright nature of the guitar, but for classic/hard rock, provided you can tame the noise from the single coils, it can sound awesome with the right amount of grit applied.

OVERALL OPINION

All in all I feel these new American Standard Teles are wonderful and a great part of Fender's line of products. It's a true workhorse and sounds great for many different styles. Though it's not the easiest guitar to play at times (or "tame,") when you get it to do what you want, there isn't a more rewarding feeling in my opinion. For the $1,000 or so that Fender charges and considering the updates they've done on this guitar since about 2008, it's a fantastic bargain for a workhorse musician who wants a plank (albeit a great sounding plank) for their arsenal of guitars.
mooseherman01/26/2010

mooseherman's review

Fender American Telecaster [2000-2007]
As the title states, this Telecaster is American made, which is always a good thing with Fender. It has a standard bridge, a maple neck (though I've seen variations), maple fretboard, two single-coil pickups with a three way switch, a volume and a tone knob below the strings.

UTILIZATION

The cutaway on this guitar does provide really easy access to the higher frets, which is great news for lead players. The sound, actually the range of sounds, are pretty easy to get. It might require time for less seasoned players to get the sound they are looking for, but the diversity of tones is actually the main selling point of the instrument. It's a bit heavier than some Fender guitars, but nowhere near as heavy as a Gibson Les Paul, and the shape is standard Tele. The drivers are stable on my instrument, at least. Playing this guitar is a dream, it's very smooth and it's not taxing on the fingers at all.

SOUNDS

The Tele sounds really great with a Marshall or Fender amps. A bit noisier than Les Pauls, they still manage to rock pretty hard, and are capable of beefier tones than my normal go-to, my Strat. I like the range of tones that you can get with simple amp and pickup manipulation. Even without tons of gain or effects, you can go from a thick, jazzy tone to a twangy country tone to a ripping electric blues sound easily. With distortion, you can really mess with the pickup selector switch and do some interesting effects (something I learned from Tom Morello in an interview, which I haven't been able to clearly replicate on another guitar). I would say that this guitar, if I needed it to, could suit my style pretty well, since I like to be able to genre-hop.

OVERALL OPINION

I love the versatility of the tones more than anything else, followed closely by the comfort and ability to play. I've tried lesser, cheaper Mexican and Japanese Teles, as well as other brands' imitation Teles, and I've never gotten results as thrilling as the ones I did with this. I think that this is a great purchase, and it's worth it to seek out a high-quality, preferably older used model than a newer one. It's worth the investment because you won't find yourself getting frustrated with it as you mature as a player, the way I did with many other guitars.
moosers02/12/2009

moosers's review

Fender American Telecaster [2000-2007]
The Fender American Series Telecaster has 22 frets two single coil pickups. It has knobs for controlling the volume and tone and has a switch for selecting between the pickups. The set up of the Tele is easy to follow and is easy to get a great sound out of - just let it rip!

UTILIZATION

The American Telecaster is extremely easy to play and feels great overall. It is great for playing both lead and rhythm and it has a classic Tele body which has become so ubiquitous in rock music. It isn't heavy and is really easy to get a good sound out of - both pickups sounds great and is easy to get both a great rhythm tone and a great lead tone.

SOUNDS

I have used guitar for only rock and pop music, as this is what I play most of the time. It definitley works for both applications as the inherent tone is rich and is especially great for classic rock. It sounds great both clean and with overdrive but have found that it isn't suited for heavy distortion, but is great with more of an overdrive distortion.

OVERALL OPINION

I've been playing the American Telecaster for about three years. Like a lot of people I have come to love both the overall feel and sound of the Telecaster. Since it is made in America it is very well built and is the best Telecaster you can buy. It has a unique tone and is great for playing rock n roll. The price is set right for an instrument like this and is comparable to an American Stratocaster. Both are great guitars and have great tone quality - some people like Teles and some like Strats, I like both of them as they are each unique with varieying feels and tones. Overall the Fender American Telecaster is a classic guitar that continues to be a mainstay in rock music.