Bass Amplifiers reviews

  • Ashdown Pibass -240 and Mi 12 Speaker Review
    review

    Ashdown Pibass -240 and Mi 12 Speaker Review - π = 240 Watts

    04/03/14

    Ashdown Engineering's PiBass head is the signature model of Polish bass legend Wojtek Pilichowski. I tested it along with the Mi12, a cabinet featuring a 12" speaker. The two products combine to make a 240-watt stack that costs under $900, and has a total weight of under 42 lbs, so it's not hard to see why Audiofanzine pushed me to do this review.

  • TC Electronic BG250-210 Bass Combo Review
    review

    TC Electronic BG250-210 Bass Combo Review - Please Turn on Your Cell Phones!

    02/26/14

    Yesterday I downloaded the free version of a mobile application that makes cats fly!

  • EBS Classic Session 120, Ibanez Promethean P3115 and Peavey Max 115 Comparison
    review

    EBS Classic Session 120, Ibanez Promethean P3115 and Pe… - Only One Can Survive

    12/04/13

    Imagine for a moment that a fellow dressed as the mailman shows up at your door when you are about to start playing your favorite instrument: "Ding-dong! It's the mailman! I've got a parcel for you!," says an affable figure, all sweaty, with a tone that is meant to be cheerful.

  • Fender Bassman Pro 100T Amplifier Head Review
    review

    Fender Bassman Pro 100T Amplifier Head Review - Heavy Weight

    06/24/12

    Tubes are the El Dorado for all people who think that bass amps were better before. Nostalgics can take their bell-bottoms out of the closet and grow their hair long because all-tube technology is back!

  • Fender Bronco Bass Combo Review
    review

    Fender Bronco Bass Combo Review - Rodeo

    03/31/12

    Do you feel like a cowboy? Do you like the smell of ponies and old leather? Do you like riding on a weird mount and sweltering under an old stinking hat?

  • Eden Electronics WTX-500 Amplifier Head and EX110 Speaker Cabinet Review
    review

    Eden Electronics WTX-500 Amplifier Head and EX110 Speak… - Care For Your Garden

    11/21/11

    When I was starting out as a bass player I didn't dream about the ideal amp. Of course, I fantasized about bass guitars but I can't remember being excited by a great combo or a bulky stack. For me, amplifiers were only useful tools: you had to plug into one to get a sound. And the most important thing was to have enough output volume, regardless o…

  • Roland CB120XL Cube Bass Review
    review

    Roland CB120XL Cube Bass Review - Roland's Song

    10/23/11

    If Ikutaro Kakehashi named his company with this typical European name, it wasn't to honor the famous traditional song of heroic deeds. Since its inception the company has been committed to export, and the first goal of its founder was to find a name that was easy to spell and original enough to attract attention.

  • TC Electronic BH500 and BC210 Review
    review

    TC Electronic BH500 and BC210 Review - Red Peril in Denmark

    05/15/11

    Ever since the futuristic RH450 came out (directly from a Georges Lucas film), the viking manufacturer has kept on developing products for bass players.

  • Fender Rumble 150 Review
    review

    Fender Rumble 150 Review - Power on Casters

    02/20/11

    I got a bit nostalgic when I wrote this review. I was 16 when my first amp was waiting for me under the Christmas tree. Not a 15-watt amp but a big one. To play in a band, do live gigs and be cheered by a wild crowd. In short, I could stop playing by myself in my room. The amp was almost more bulky than the Christmas tree: it was a second-hand Fe…

  • SWR HeadLite Amplifier Head & Amplite Amplifier Review
    review

    SWR HeadLite Amplifier Head & Amplite Amplifier Review - Light Headed But Fully Packed

    02/06/11

    On today's menu, to get rid of the cold and warm up, we have a light but nourishing pair of SWR class-D heads (an amp/preamp combo and a power amplifier).