Bass Guitars
Audio & music gear Bass Guitars

Bass Guitars reviews

  • Stack Attack
    Review

    Stack Attack - Tech 21 Hot-Rod Plexi Review

    05/20/14

    Although most amp modeling is digital, Tech 21 has always created its amp emulations using analog circuitry. The Hot-Rod Plexi pedal ($179) is the latest example. It’s an effects processor that’s designed to be used with an amp, so unlike the SansAmp processors, it has no speaker emulation built in.

  • π = 240 Watts
    Review

    π = 240 Watts - Ashdown Pibass -240 and Mi 12 Speaker Review

    04/03/14

    Ashdown Engineering's PiBass head is the signature model of Polish bass legend Wojtek Pilichowski. I tested it along with the Mi12, a cabinet featuring a 12" speaker. The two products combine to make a 240-watt stack that costs under $900, and has a total weight of under 42 lbs, so it's not hard to see why Audiofanzine pushed me to do this review.

  • Please Turn on Your Cell Phones!
    Review

    Please Turn on Your Cell Phones! - TC Electronic BG250-210 Bass Combo Review

    02/26/14

    Yesterday I downloaded the free version of a mobile application that makes cats fly!

  • A New Bass Pedal in Town
    Review

    A New Bass Pedal in Town - Tech 21 VT Bass DI Review

    02/21/14

    The VT Bass DI offers vintage tone and lots of handy features. How does it compare to Tech 21's other VT Bass products?

  • Only One Can Survive
    Review

    Only One Can Survive - EBS Classic Session 120, Ibanez Promethean P3115 and Peavey Max 115 Comparison

    12/04/13

    Imagine for a moment that a fellow dressed as the mailman shows up at your door when you are about to start playing your favorite instrument: "Ding-dong! It's the mailman! I've got a parcel for you!," says an affable figure, all sweaty, with a tone that is meant to be cheerful.

  • All Ears
    Review

    All Ears - Gibson ES-335 Bass Review

    10/02/13

    Kalamazoo isn't the name of a strange bird. It's a town in Michigan where Gibson was founded. While the brand is very present among six-string colleagues─ to the point of fanatism sometimes ─ it never really did, after its creation, stir the bass guitar world.

  • Heavy Weight
    Review

    Heavy Weight - Fender Bassman Pro 100T Amplifier Head Review

    06/24/12

    Tubes are the El Dorado for all people who think that bass amps were better before. Nostalgics can take their bell-bottoms out of the closet and grow their hair long because all-tube technology is back!

  • Rodeo
    Review

    Rodeo - Fender Bronco Bass Combo Review

    03/31/12

    Do you feel like a cowboy? Do you like the smell of ponies and old leather? Do you like riding on a weird mount and sweltering under an old stinking hat?

  • Ray Issue…
    Review

    Ray Issue… - Sterling Ray 34 CA Mini Review

    03/15/12

    Almost exactly one year ago, I wrote a review about the Music Man Classic Stingray bass guitar. One year later, Sterling, another brand of the Ernie Ball group, presents the budget version. So my curiosity led me to review this instrument. A review that will be of interest to all of you who dream about buying a legend for half the price.

  • Both or Nothing At All
    Review

    Both or Nothing At All - Fender Modern Player Jazz Bass & Telecaster Bass Review

    02/06/12

    When I went to pick up these beauties at AudioFanzine's editorial office, I asked myself how many Jazz and Precision basses I had already reviewed in my life as an editor. From Standard to Deluxe, Vintage, Special and Classic versions, from US to Mexican and Japanese, not to mention the Korean Series and Squier — Fender's offer is very wide and al…