Become a member
Become a member

or
Continue with Google
Log in
Log in

or
Log in using a Google account
Add this product to
  • Mon ancien matos
  • My current gear
  • My wishlist
Hamer SB4F
Images
1/4

All user reviews for the Hamer SB4F

Price engine
Classified Ads
Forums
Filter
Keywords
Average Score:
( 4.2/5 based on 13 reviews )
7 reviews
54 %
3 reviews
23 %
2 reviews
15 %
1 review
8 %
Write a user review
Users reviews
  • MGR/Volitional Virtue Bassist-Tom CollinsMGR/Volitional Virtue Bassist-Tom Collins

    Hamer Slammer

    Hamer SB4FPublished on 06/05/04 at 15:00
    I bought this Bass from Jensens Music in Owen Sound, Canada and I paid about 340 for it.

    Soon I'm moving up to either a schecter Stilletto Studio Bass or a B.C. Rich Beast.


    Some people say that the G string is lower but i havent noticed anything, also whoever said that deserves to be shot because all you have to do is go to a guitar store and get the action fixed, YOU IDIOT!!

    Overall it is a decent guitar, its a replica Fender and gives decent sound, it is a great guitar for the beginner.


    Nothing much bad about this thing, only that the style I play doesent use the pickups properly, BUT THAT DOESENT MATTER, unless you are a F&&king poser and copy my style, but no, nothing bad re…
    Read more
    I bought this Bass from Jensens Music in Owen Sound, Canada and I paid about 340 for it.

    Soon I'm moving up to either a schecter Stilletto Studio Bass or a B.C. Rich Beast.


    Some people say that the G string is lower but i havent noticed anything, also whoever said that deserves to be shot because all you have to do is go to a guitar store and get the action fixed, YOU IDIOT!!

    Overall it is a decent guitar, its a replica Fender and gives decent sound, it is a great guitar for the beginner.


    Nothing much bad about this thing, only that the style I play doesent use the pickups properly, BUT THAT DOESENT MATTER, unless you are a F&&king poser and copy my style, but no, nothing bad really.

    Split pickups, easy tune, easy everything, came ready to play and it played fine, no problems so far, I say if you are beggining then by all means, BUY IT!!.

    Great guitar, love it, plays fine, get a good cord tho, or it might not play and you will eventually have to spend more money to buy it.

    I give it a 5 cuz it is an awesome beginner/middle range bass.

    ÁLL THE WAY

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/kyleMGR/kyle

    Hamer Slammer

    Hamer SB4FPublished on 04/17/04 at 15:00
    very nice guitar ive had it for 3 months and is alot better then the kit bass i had i payed about 375 brand new for it and it sounds great on a crate 50 watt amp

    style
    color
    tone
    frets
    every thing

    some people say the g string is lower then the rest but i dont seem to notice it

    great this guitar can take a beating my strap broke on stage and it flew didnt hurt it a bit

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
  • MGR/Justin Stortz of WehrmachtMGR/Justin Stortz of Wehrmacht

    Hamer Slammer

    Hamer SB4FPublished on 01/24/04 at 15:00
    I got this Guitar As a birthday present from my brother.

    this guitar looks BEAUTIFULL for a beginner guitar especially the fret board.
    It is a beginner guitar that does not feel like one. Very nice sound and feel.
    I use this guitar with a Marshall MG-30 DFX amplifier and they are a perfect match.

    Input jack comes loose, I simply added a locking washer for $.30,
    hasnt come loose since. What is there not to like?

    Rigid construction, amazing fret board for the price.

    I was Very impressed with this guitar. I have owned it for 3 months and I play religiously.
    (6 hours a day or more) The guitar still looks, feels, and sounds like it did the first time I plugged it in.
    I have compared…
    Read more
    I got this Guitar As a birthday present from my brother.

    this guitar looks BEAUTIFULL for a beginner guitar especially the fret board.
    It is a beginner guitar that does not feel like one. Very nice sound and feel.
    I use this guitar with a Marshall MG-30 DFX amplifier and they are a perfect match.

    Input jack comes loose, I simply added a locking washer for $.30,
    hasnt come loose since. What is there not to like?

    Rigid construction, amazing fret board for the price.

    I was Very impressed with this guitar. I have owned it for 3 months and I play religiously.
    (6 hours a day or more) The guitar still looks, feels, and sounds like it did the first time I plugged it in.
    I have compared it to guitars in a higher price range and I still prefer my Slammer.



    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/AnonymousMGR/Anonymous

    Hamer Slammer

    Hamer SB4FPublished on 07/06/03 at 15:00
    I got this bass for christmas about a year and a half ago. I think my parents got it at sam ash. I looked online about a year later and it was about $300.

    I like the color. It's a metallic blue. But other than that there's nothing that really stands out to me in this guitar. I think its a good beginner guitar for anyone who wants to start playing.

    I don't like how the body is constructed, its more of a jazz style bass, sort of like an imitation fender. Another thing is where my g string is held at the bottom of the guitar, is lower than all the other strings, and it sounds like crap.

    The constructions okay I guess for a beginners guitar. At least it didnt fall apart or anything. But I …
    Read more
    I got this bass for christmas about a year and a half ago. I think my parents got it at sam ash. I looked online about a year later and it was about $300.

    I like the color. It's a metallic blue. But other than that there's nothing that really stands out to me in this guitar. I think its a good beginner guitar for anyone who wants to start playing.

    I don't like how the body is constructed, its more of a jazz style bass, sort of like an imitation fender. Another thing is where my g string is held at the bottom of the guitar, is lower than all the other strings, and it sounds like crap.

    The constructions okay I guess for a beginners guitar. At least it didnt fall apart or anything. But I only suggest this guitar to beginners.

    Its a good bass for newbies. I think it might be a little over priced at $300.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/JacobHMGR/JacobH

    Hamer Slammer

    Hamer SB4FPublished on 12/30/02 at 15:00
    I acquired this nice nice guitaer at Musicians center, in 1999. It was about 250 bucks, with a Dean Markley K-10 Amp.

    I like it's sleek, Strat-like design, it is made of a basswood body, and a Maple fret board, with a Mahogany neck. It is a very strurdy guitar and it is well made.


    I don't like the fact that after a day or two, it will become slightly un-tunned. after 3 days of playing it it will be severley out of tune!
    I am planning on buying some Gibson, or Carvin tuners so that won't happen no more!

    It is handmade, with pretty high quality woods, and the internal cut-outs are rather well-done too! Like i said, it feel like a pretty sturdy guitar, plus it has a steel-reinforced …
    Read more
    I acquired this nice nice guitaer at Musicians center, in 1999. It was about 250 bucks, with a Dean Markley K-10 Amp.

    I like it's sleek, Strat-like design, it is made of a basswood body, and a Maple fret board, with a Mahogany neck. It is a very strurdy guitar and it is well made.


    I don't like the fact that after a day or two, it will become slightly un-tunned. after 3 days of playing it it will be severley out of tune!
    I am planning on buying some Gibson, or Carvin tuners so that won't happen no more!

    It is handmade, with pretty high quality woods, and the internal cut-outs are rather well-done too! Like i said, it feel like a pretty sturdy guitar, plus it has a steel-reinforced neck, and a bolt-on neck!


    This guitar is worth the money and the new Tuners, plus adding a Fender Hot Rails single-coil pickup at the bridge position, totally changes the sound!
    I would reccomned this guitar to anyone, begginer, or expert it is cumfy, and plays prtyye well.
    I might also recommend taking it to an expert and paying them to take off the neck, re-set it and re-do the bridge and bridge saddle. To bring the strings closer to the fretborad, which makes it sooo easy to play!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/AnonymousMGR/Anonymous

    Hamer Slammer

    Hamer SB4FPublished on 12/27/02 at 15:00
    The Slammer by Hamer was my very first electric guitar, i got it when i was 14 and i've had it for 2 years now. It still sounds just as good as it did the first time I strummed it! I bought it at some Professional Musian's Center in Louisville Kentucky, for $270.00. It was worth every penney! I got it becaude i was stuck with either a DRIVE (sucks) brand electric, or this HAMER, so the only reason i bought it wqas cause the DRIVE was purple, and the Hamer was black, plus the guy told me it was much beter for the type of stuff i like to play!


    It has lasted almost 4 years and doesn't need a thing to be repaired, except after i had it for a year i got some CARVIN knobs put on cause th…
    Read more
    The Slammer by Hamer was my very first electric guitar, i got it when i was 14 and i've had it for 2 years now. It still sounds just as good as it did the first time I strummed it! I bought it at some Professional Musian's Center in Louisville Kentucky, for $270.00. It was worth every penney! I got it becaude i was stuck with either a DRIVE (sucks) brand electric, or this HAMER, so the only reason i bought it wqas cause the DRIVE was purple, and the Hamer was black, plus the guy told me it was much beter for the type of stuff i like to play!


    It has lasted almost 4 years and doesn't need a thing to be repaired, except after i had it for a year i got some CARVIN knobs put on cause the strings kept slippin'. Then i put a DiMazzario c2AD hot rails single coil pick-up at the bridge position, to get the best sound i could.

    I didn't like the fact that i was constantly re-tuning , but i fixed that! Now i'll even use it in my band sometiimes (d.e.s. is my band)


    It has a mahogany body, which is great, and a maple fingerboard(which never wears out), and it is all around a well crafted, and good quality guitar for 270 bucks!

    If u r a begonner this is the guitar for u! They're cheap, last through constant beeetings, and sound great!
    p.s. come see d.e.s, my band we r da best!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/Soul Driver 77MGR/Soul Driver 77

    Hamer Slammer

    Hamer SB4FPublished on 12/25/02 at 15:00
    I purchased this Guitar Brand New for $480.00 in 1998. I bought it from a local Guitar Store. I loved the looks and feel of this Guitar. It looks just like the SANTANA SE made by PRS.

    I love the way the Hamer Looks,feels,and plays. Its great to play lead on because of the Double Cutaway body(Looks like SANTANA SE) It has a Solid Body Neck which helps with the strings staying in tune. I played its USA made counter part in the store when I purchased it ,and could not find any differences at all other than the Tuners. There was however a $200 price difference between the USA Made and the Korean Made Slammer which I have. I have done some minor upgrades to it, which I think makes it sound a…
    Read more
    I purchased this Guitar Brand New for $480.00 in 1998. I bought it from a local Guitar Store. I loved the looks and feel of this Guitar. It looks just like the SANTANA SE made by PRS.

    I love the way the Hamer Looks,feels,and plays. Its great to play lead on because of the Double Cutaway body(Looks like SANTANA SE) It has a Solid Body Neck which helps with the strings staying in tune. I played its USA made counter part in the store when I purchased it ,and could not find any differences at all other than the Tuners. There was however a $200 price difference between the USA Made and the Korean Made Slammer which I have. I have done some minor upgrades to it, which I think makes it sound as dood as any Hamer on the Market that I have seen. The upgrades included changing out the Factory Tuners, and installing GROVER self Locking Machines. I also removed the two original Seymour Duncan Humbuckers and replaced with two GIBSON 498 and 490 Chrome covered Humbuckers.(Les Paul Standard pickups)
    I did this more for the Vintage look than anything. But I spent the extra money for Top quality Sound as well. Now she sounds like exactly like a Les Paul Tone wise.
    I love the Looks as well. It is solid Black with a cream binding around the entire body.
    The Outer Pickup skirts are Cream to match.
    THe neck is made of a Rosewood Fingerboard, and is solid Black on the rear side. It has pop in style strap mounts as well which are always handy. It has tone and Volume controls for each Pickup.


    The only thing I Ever Disliked about this Guitar I fixed. Which was the Factory Tuners. They were definately Low end. I spent $36.95 on The GROVERS and cured the problem forever. I also dont care for the Fact that its not USA made, but I dont plan on selling it, so resale Value isnt as important.

    This Guitar is built very well, especially since it has a solid body with built on Neck. It weighs Exactly the same as my Gibson Epiphone Slash Model. It wil lwear you out if your a smaller guy on stage all night. But its sound is awesome. I would definately buy another one.

    Great Rock/Blues Guitar. If you like to play fast youll love this one, the neck is average size, but very fast. Its a very good looking guitar, it sits in my band room with seven other AXES and always draws the most compliments. I think the price is just about right for what you get. As I said earlier I changed the pickups solely for looks and a little more of that patented Gibson Tone(It sounds better to me than my Gibson Epiphone) The original Neck pickup was a ZEBRA Humbucker and the Bridge was a standard Black open faced Humbucker, both made by Seymour Duncan. It is definately the best Korean or Japanese made Guitar I have ever played. I kept the original Humbuckers in case I ever want to make her original again, but I am spoiled now ,so I doubt it. Bottom line is, if your looking at any HAMER Guitars, and dont want to spend extra money on a USA made model, Check out the Slammer Series line, but be careful, some of the Slammer Guitars are not good at all. Make sure it has the binding, solid body and is made in Korea or Japan. some of the Slammers are made in Mexico or China. Stay away from those models.
    HAMER Slammers are a well kept secret for the money!!!


    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/AnonymousMGR/Anonymous

    Hamer Slammer

    Hamer SB4FPublished on 08/20/02 at 15:00
    This was my first electric guitar although i owned an acoustic before it. I bought this guitar second hand from a friend of my family. I paid 100$ for it in very good condition. I played this guitar for about a year until i wanted something better, since i am no longer a beginner.

    This guitar puts out good sound considering it is a cheap unit. it sounds equal to some of my friends guitars which are more expensive. It is a great beginner guitar and sells at a good price.

    This guitar is not capable of staying in tune for more than a day. It constantly goes out of tune even though i replaced the tuning heads and had it tweaked. This can get extremely annoying. There are also a few frets that…
    Read more
    This was my first electric guitar although i owned an acoustic before it. I bought this guitar second hand from a friend of my family. I paid 100$ for it in very good condition. I played this guitar for about a year until i wanted something better, since i am no longer a beginner.

    This guitar puts out good sound considering it is a cheap unit. it sounds equal to some of my friends guitars which are more expensive. It is a great beginner guitar and sells at a good price.

    This guitar is not capable of staying in tune for more than a day. It constantly goes out of tune even though i replaced the tuning heads and had it tweaked. This can get extremely annoying. There are also a few frets that buzz, tho not a big deal.

    The guitar i owned was nice to look at. The only thing i disliked about the look was the name logo on the top "HAMER SLAMMER". I dont think they could possibly think of a dumber name for a guitar. The guitar itself held up well and i never had any durability problems with it.

    A good guitar for the money i paid, although i think better investments could've been found. Definately beginner level unit.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/Adam HenningsenMGR/Adam Henningsen

    Hamer Slammer

    Hamer SB4FPublished on 05/10/02 at 15:00
    I bought this guitar off my friend with a 15 watt amp for $150. I just needed a guitar to start on, and thats about all I got!

    The only good thing about this guitar is that it's cheap. If you are a beginner looking to purchase your first guitar I would deffinetly steer clear of this one. If you have to wait a couple of weeks to get a Squire or something, do it! Dont get impatient like I did! You will pay for it later.

    What really got me about this guitar is how quick it got beat up. The stupid thing cant even stay in tune for more than 5 minutes. All it did was frustrate me. If you do have to get this guitar, I would replace the tuners first chance I got.

    your basic strat copy. It…
    Read more
    I bought this guitar off my friend with a 15 watt amp for $150. I just needed a guitar to start on, and thats about all I got!

    The only good thing about this guitar is that it's cheap. If you are a beginner looking to purchase your first guitar I would deffinetly steer clear of this one. If you have to wait a couple of weeks to get a Squire or something, do it! Dont get impatient like I did! You will pay for it later.

    What really got me about this guitar is how quick it got beat up. The stupid thing cant even stay in tune for more than 5 minutes. All it did was frustrate me. If you do have to get this guitar, I would replace the tuners first chance I got.

    your basic strat copy. It doesnt hold up very well. After one year of playing on and off, the neck was all bent out of shape.

    Its a piece of crap! Definetly get a Squire, they're like the same price.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/AnonymousMGR/Anonymous

    Hamer Slammer

    Hamer SB4FPublished on 04/15/02 at 15:00
    Bought at my local music store, guys I have gone to ever since I started playing ten years ago. Paid $150.

    Due a set of very unfortunate circumstances, my baby, my mid 80's B.C. Rich Warlock was destroyed. It was my only guitar because it was the only thing I ever needed, and I had hardly amy money to replace it. Even the lowest priced Warlocks were out of my range at the time. The music store that I go to got some of these Slammer guitars and had them on special for Christmas, so I picked one up. I didn't expect too much out of the guitar, but they hooked me up through a kickass Ibanez distortion pedal called a Smashbox and turned on the amp. DAMN. This thing sounds VERY good, even compar…
    Read more
    Bought at my local music store, guys I have gone to ever since I started playing ten years ago. Paid $150.

    Due a set of very unfortunate circumstances, my baby, my mid 80's B.C. Rich Warlock was destroyed. It was my only guitar because it was the only thing I ever needed, and I had hardly amy money to replace it. Even the lowest priced Warlocks were out of my range at the time. The music store that I go to got some of these Slammer guitars and had them on special for Christmas, so I picked one up. I didn't expect too much out of the guitar, but they hooked me up through a kickass Ibanez distortion pedal called a Smashbox and turned on the amp. DAMN. This thing sounds VERY good, even compared to a guitar in the mid priced range. I even took home the pedal! Take it from a person who has owned a Warlock, an Ibanez USA Custom and a Gibson SG... This is a whole hell of a lot of guitar for the money.

    The only thing I didn't like about it once I got it home was a tendency to go out of tune. I use very heavy strings. I took it back to the store, and with just a little bit more money, got it tweaked and had new tuning heads put on. Now it's solid.

    This is a pretty handsome looking thing, except for the cheesy SLAMMER logo on the headstock. A well placed sticker took care of that. It wears pretty well too, and is easy to jump with for all you aggro rockers out there.

    WELL worth it. A stellar beginner guitar for sure, and a wise buy for anyone who needs a crunchy guitar in a pinch, or a back up axe. I would have no qualms about gigging with it anywhere.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
cookies
We are using cookies!

Yes, Audiofanzine is using cookies. Since the last thing that we want is disturbing your diet with too much fat or too much sugar, you'll be glad to learn that we made them ourselves with fresh, organic and fair ingredients, and with a perfect nutritional balance. What this means is that the data we store in them is used to enhance your use of our website as well as improve your user experience on our pages (learn more). To configure your cookie preferences, click here.

We did not wait for a law to make us respect our members and visitors' privacy. The cookies that we use are only meant to improve your experience on our website.

Our cookies
Cookies not subject to consent
These are cookies that guarantee the proper functioning of Audiofanzine and allow its optimization. The website cannot function properly without these cookies. Example: cookies that help you stay logged in from page to page or that help customizing your usage of the website (dark mode or filters).
Google Analytics
We are using Google Analytics in order to better understand the use that our visitors make of our website in an attempt to improve it.
Advertising
This information allows us to show you personalized advertisements thanks to which Audiofanzine is financed. By unchecking this box you will still have advertisements but they may be less interesting :) We are using Google Ad Manager to display part of our ads, or tools integrated to our own CMS for the rest.

We did not wait for a law to make us respect our members and visitors' privacy. The cookies that we use are only meant to improve your experience on our website.

Our cookies
Cookies not subject to consent

These are cookies that guarantee the proper functioning of Audiofanzine. The website cannot function properly without these cookies. Examples: cookies that help you stay logged in from page to page or that help customizing your usage of the website (dark mode or filters).

Google Analytics

We are using Google Analytics in order to better understand the use that our visitors make of our website in an attempt to improve it. When this parameter is activated, no personal information is sent to Google and the IP addresses are anonymized.

Advertising

This information allows us to show you personalized advertisements thanks to which Audiofanzine is financed. By unchecking this box you will still have advertisements but they may be less interesting :) We are using Google Ad Manager to display part of our ads, or tools integrated to our own CMS for the rest.


You can find more details on data protection in our privacy policy.
You can also find information about how Google uses personal data by following this link.