Become a member
Become a member
Continuer avec Google

or
Log in
Log in
Se connecter avec Google

or
Add this product to
  • Mon ancien matos
  • My current gear
  • Mon futur matos
Squier Affinity P Bass
Images
1/318

All user reviews for the Squier Affinity P Bass

4-string bass guitar from Squier belonging to the Precision Bass series.

Price engine
Classified Ads
Forums
Filter
Keywords
Average Score:
( 4.1/5 based on 33 reviews )
12 reviews
36 %
14 reviews
42 %
6 reviews
18 %
1 review
3 %
Write a user review
Audience: Beginners
Users reviews
  • Fender Affinity P-Bass

    Squier Affinity P BassPublished on 07/27/04 at 15:00
    i brought this bass from meltone in melton mowbray, it costs £160 new, but i traded my old bass in , getting it for £100. id been playing bass for about a year and wanted to buy a good second bass.

    its very easy to play, good action, and good quality build for a squier. sound all round except for a few minor flaws below. i play mainly punk rock such as blink 182 and its great for that, but even metallica songs sound good on it.

    there isnt a wide tonal range, bassicaly you've got all tone or no tone, no real mid range. however if you get a decent amp you can make this baby sound good.

    really good quality for a squier, ive had it for a year now and no problems, apart from the input......
    Read more
    i brought this bass from meltone in melton mowbray, it costs £160 new, but i traded my old bass in , getting it for £100. id been playing bass for about a year and wanted to buy a good second bass.

    its very easy to play, good action, and good quality build for a squier. sound all round except for a few minor flaws below. i play mainly punk rock such as blink 182 and its great for that, but even metallica songs sound good on it.

    there isnt a wide tonal range, bassicaly you've got all tone or no tone, no real mid range. however if you get a decent amp you can make this baby sound good.

    really good quality for a squier, ive had it for a year now and no problems, apart from the input nut comming lose, but thats easily fixed. hopefully last me for years to come!

    overall a quality instrument, ill keep it as a back up bass when i get my Epiphone T-bird. if your just starting out on bass or are reasonably experienced on a budject, i say get this bass!!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • J. Reynolds P Bass

    Squier Affinity P BassPublished on 06/21/04 at 15:00
    I bought this bass about 3 years ago as a beginner bass. I bought it at Sam Goody for $99.95, brand new.

    I like that this bass is so light. Haveing to play in guitar gigs for 3-5 hours isn't fun with a heavy bass. this bass also has great plyability

    What I didn't like about this bass is that the strings buzzed against the fretboard which caused bad tone. But I fixed it by raising the bridge and it soundes great. Another thing I disliked about this bass is that the pickguard was cut like someone cut it with a circular saw.

    This bass never failed on me while I played it, and it is still my favorite bass out of 3 more basses I have.

    If I had to buy an off-brand bass, I would for sure......
    Read more
    I bought this bass about 3 years ago as a beginner bass. I bought it at Sam Goody for $99.95, brand new.

    I like that this bass is so light. Haveing to play in guitar gigs for 3-5 hours isn't fun with a heavy bass. this bass also has great plyability

    What I didn't like about this bass is that the strings buzzed against the fretboard which caused bad tone. But I fixed it by raising the bridge and it soundes great. Another thing I disliked about this bass is that the pickguard was cut like someone cut it with a circular saw.

    This bass never failed on me while I played it, and it is still my favorite bass out of 3 more basses I have.

    If I had to buy an off-brand bass, I would for sure buy a J.Reynolds

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • Squier Affinity P-Bass

    Squier Affinity P BassPublished on 03/18/04 at 15:00
    i got it as a pak for £209 off soundslive.co.uk

    This bass is amazing!!! Its price is the best bit but apart from that it is a good, well built bass. The finish is really good. I got the red. There are some reviews I have read that say it is not very good and will fall apart but unless I've just got an unusually good one these reviews shouldn't be listned to.

    On the brige one of the screws is loose and it is really annoying hovever all you have to do is tighten it by crosshead screwdriver to fix it.

    it's really good. Solid and it chips but that is more my fault than the bass'

    Overall I think this bass is amazing. If you want a bass and have this sort of budget don't buy any other......
    Read more
    i got it as a pak for £209 off soundslive.co.uk

    This bass is amazing!!! Its price is the best bit but apart from that it is a good, well built bass. The finish is really good. I got the red. There are some reviews I have read that say it is not very good and will fall apart but unless I've just got an unusually good one these reviews shouldn't be listned to.

    On the brige one of the screws is loose and it is really annoying hovever all you have to do is tighten it by crosshead screwdriver to fix it.

    it's really good. Solid and it chips but that is more my fault than the bass'

    Overall I think this bass is amazing. If you want a bass and have this sort of budget don't buy any other bass, get this one!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • Fender Affinity P-Bass

    Squier Affinity P BassPublished on 02/11/04 at 15:00
    I bought this guitar from www.soundslive.co.uk for £129.00 in white!

    I loved this guitar as soon as i layed eyes on it! Its attractive body and lightweight design gives me such an easy time playing it. It has great sound and due to its weight i can play it quicker and very precisely!

    I honestly love everything about this guitar! I cant fault it!

    The shell of the guitar is so durable and attractive, i feel i could never even put a dent in it. The finish on the wood is also really great!

    I saved £30 buying this guitar online compared to in the shop! Great huh!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com...
    Read more
    I bought this guitar from www.soundslive.co.uk for £129.00 in white!

    I loved this guitar as soon as i layed eyes on it! Its attractive body and lightweight design gives me such an easy time playing it. It has great sound and due to its weight i can play it quicker and very precisely!

    I honestly love everything about this guitar! I cant fault it!

    The shell of the guitar is so durable and attractive, i feel i could never even put a dent in it. The finish on the wood is also really great!

    I saved £30 buying this guitar online compared to in the shop! Great huh!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • Squier Affinity P-Bass

    Squier Affinity P BassPublished on 01/04/04 at 15:00
    I got this bass from www.flyingpigmuisc.co.uk cause they are great for guitars and basses. Affordable, sensibly priced, and quality; the P-Bass just stood out. I think it was £139.

    I really like the fact that it is made by Squier, a sub-division of Fender. There are many P-Bass copies about but this is the only budget P-Bass made by Fender and it tells. It has exactly the same specs as a Fender Standard Precision but at a budget price. Apart from the high quality of the bass, the looks and classic tone of the P-Bass really are excellent. If you are just starting to play, or are on a tight budget, go for the Squier P-Bass every time.

    There is no point in me going on about what could be......
    Read more
    I got this bass from www.flyingpigmuisc.co.uk cause they are great for guitars and basses. Affordable, sensibly priced, and quality; the P-Bass just stood out. I think it was £139.

    I really like the fact that it is made by Squier, a sub-division of Fender. There are many P-Bass copies about but this is the only budget P-Bass made by Fender and it tells. It has exactly the same specs as a Fender Standard Precision but at a budget price. Apart from the high quality of the bass, the looks and classic tone of the P-Bass really are excellent. If you are just starting to play, or are on a tight budget, go for the Squier P-Bass every time.

    There is no point in me going on about what could be changed or improved with it for two reasons.
    1)I like every aspect of it.
    2)It is made by Fender to Fender Precision Bass specs, therefore you get exactly the same as you would with a more expensive bass.

    This bass is as solid as a concrete floor, and would probably withstand many an attempt on it's life being smashed against one. It is of excellent quality, but what else would you expect from the daddy of the electric guitar and Bass?!

    Value: 11/10
    Quality: 10/10
    Sound: 10/10

    This bass is great... although I am now getting a 1979 All-Black Fender Standard Precision Bass; SWEEEEET!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • Squier P Bass

    Squier Affinity P BassPublished on 12/13/03 at 15:00
    I bought this from the local music store (salop music centre) having pushed the price down buy £60 using 'negotiations' I only paid £120.

    It is easy to play and still cheaper than the fender model. Obviously people with enough money will go straight for the fender model but for a beginner this is a brilliant start.

    The tone control can really do things considering the instrument has relatively cheap pick-ups. When slapping the sound will really kick. (especially through my Ashdown mag 200)

    The action could be a fraction lower.(but it probably would be if i bothered to set it)
    The scratch plate can't take too much abuse. (The damage is my fault not squiers(its along story!!))

    Very......
    Read more
    I bought this from the local music store (salop music centre) having pushed the price down buy £60 using 'negotiations' I only paid £120.

    It is easy to play and still cheaper than the fender model. Obviously people with enough money will go straight for the fender model but for a beginner this is a brilliant start.

    The tone control can really do things considering the instrument has relatively cheap pick-ups. When slapping the sound will really kick. (especially through my Ashdown mag 200)

    The action could be a fraction lower.(but it probably would be if i bothered to set it)
    The scratch plate can't take too much abuse. (The damage is my fault not squiers(its along story!!))

    Very good i have carried the bass all over the place without doing any real damage to it (other than the scratch plate.) I have even dented a drummers cymbal with my headstock without any harm coming to my bass.

    The varanish is also very difficult to damage. The intonation is easily settup and stays fixed.

    Good for not only beginners but also other people who can't get hold of the Fender model.

    A good cheap indestructable bass guitar!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • Squier Affinity Precision Bass

    Squier Affinity P BassPublished on 11/29/03 at 15:00
    Got it from Music123 for about $170. I needed a better bass than my Rogue/

    It has a good construction and takes a beating. The bottom end is the best way to play it.

    It had a flat sound with the tone on 10 with a pick. I was hoping for a punchy sound that they are known for,

    Fell short of a good bass. Needs a Seymour Duncan QTR pounder and thats about it.

    All good but the pick up

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
  • Fender Affinity P Bass

    Squier Affinity P BassPublished on 11/03/03 at 15:00
    I paid $250 for this unit at Grandma's Music Store and it came as a package deal.

    This bass is fairly nice but one of the srews already stripped out. It has a decent sound but was cheap so its ok.

    The quality and the sound of the guitar itself.

    Its been falling apart so i dont think that it's very well made.

    It's a good guitar and cheap but make sure you're careful with it.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
  • Squier Affinity P-Bass

    Squier Affinity P BassPublished on 11/02/03 at 15:00
    This was my first bass-hunting. I do the comparison of different manufacturers mostly by Internet. Actually I was dreaming about a Fender Precision Bass, but for about US$1170 (maybe cos it's imported built-up from USA), I turn to this babe. I got it at Simfoni Pondok Indah, one of Fender's outlet in Jakarta. It's made in China and cost about US$170 plus a soft case bag.

    A classic Fender design and style. I don't know why but I like its old-fashion style rather than today's modern basses. It's just give me more confidence by holding and playing it, something I didn't get while using my friend's Yamaha RBX270. Maybe some people prefer 24 frets (especially those who like playing Jazz),......
    Read more
    This was my first bass-hunting. I do the comparison of different manufacturers mostly by Internet. Actually I was dreaming about a Fender Precision Bass, but for about US$1170 (maybe cos it's imported built-up from USA), I turn to this babe. I got it at Simfoni Pondok Indah, one of Fender's outlet in Jakarta. It's made in China and cost about US$170 plus a soft case bag.

    A classic Fender design and style. I don't know why but I like its old-fashion style rather than today's modern basses. It's just give me more confidence by holding and playing it, something I didn't get while using my friend's Yamaha RBX270. Maybe some people prefer 24 frets (especially those who like playing Jazz), but for me 20 is the best. With this, I can always change to 2nd or even 1st string to reach certain notes, not only using the 3rd and 4th strings. So it makes my left fingers more trained and functional :) No fret-buzzing, all strings always in tune. The sound is a "true genuine bass guitar sound"! (Well, at least for me =>)

    Something wrong with the circuits inside? I don't know. But it does produced some noises when I set both volumes at full. It can be handle by adjusting my amp's, but still I wonder about it. When I try it at the shop, I use a Fender Bassman 25 with all switches at 0 position and it sounds great. But I use an Ibanez SoundWave 35. I have to put the amp's Treble and Presence at 0 (though I don't really need trebles in my sound). Wrong amp? I hope not =( Maybe I should open and check my babe.

    Hey, can you believe this babe fell-off my back just about half-an-hour after I bought it!? That bag had a lousy-cheap sewing-quality on its strap! Fortunately it was protected by the inner sponge layers. My babe was OK. The whole construction was great. The switches are good, also the input socket and the straphooks. The whole body, neck and frets were crafted perfectly.

    A Precision Bass is recommended for anyone who want to be a bassist, cos you can play any kind of music with this bass. It is slightly heavy, maybe, but try hook it on the Fender's Deluxe Wide-Padded Leather Strap (I use this one), or the latest Neoprene Bass Strap. It'll help!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • Squier Affinity Precision Bass

    Squier Affinity P BassPublished on 10/10/03 at 15:00
    Got it for Christmas, as my first bass. It was aquired from Sounds Live In Newcastle. It cost £179 with a Fender Frontman 15B and leads etc.

    It has that classic p-bass tone and feel. Sounds bassy and low when played near the neck and with a low tone to punk-style growl near the bridge. Nothing to say that hasnt been said already, this IS a P-Bass, its not a copy, a Squier P-Bass is a real P-Bass.

    The build quality seems quite low. Ive had an ongoing battle with the jack socket. Since i bought my second bass (Ibanez SRX500) ive had to upgrade it somewhat, so the jack socket was replaced with a Schaller. (Note- Im reviewing the original product, woth out any modification)

    Already said......
    Read more
    Got it for Christmas, as my first bass. It was aquired from Sounds Live In Newcastle. It cost £179 with a Fender Frontman 15B and leads etc.

    It has that classic p-bass tone and feel. Sounds bassy and low when played near the neck and with a low tone to punk-style growl near the bridge. Nothing to say that hasnt been said already, this IS a P-Bass, its not a copy, a Squier P-Bass is a real P-Bass.

    The build quality seems quite low. Ive had an ongoing battle with the jack socket. Since i bought my second bass (Ibanez SRX500) ive had to upgrade it somewhat, so the jack socket was replaced with a Schaller. (Note- Im reviewing the original product, woth out any modification)

    Already said that.

    Extremely good, cannot be beaten for the price. Every bassist should have a p-bass, If you cant afford the real thing, get the real thing with a different name on the headstock.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
cookies

We are using cookies!

Yes, Audiofanzine is using cookies. Since the last thing that we want is disturbing your diet with too much fat or too much sugar, you'll be glad to learn that we made them ourselves with fresh, organic and fair ingredients, and with a perfect nutritional balance. What this means is that the data we store in them is used to enhance your use of our website as well as improve your user experience on our pages (learn more). To configure your cookie preferences, click here.

We did not wait for a law to make us respect our members and visitors' privacy. The cookies that we use are only meant to improve your experience on our website.

Our cookies

Cookies not subject to consent

These are cookies that guarantee the proper functioning of Audiofanzine and allow its optimization. The website cannot function properly without these cookies.

Website preferences

We store your preferences so that you do not have to re-enter them every time your come back (forums options, dark or light theme, classifieds filter, standard or buzz news, newsletters popups...).

Log in

This one makes sure you don't have to re-enter your credentials every time you visit Audiofanzine.

Analytics

This data allows us to understand the use that our visitors make of our website in an attempt to improve it.

Advertising

This information allows us to show you personalized advertisements thanks to which Audiofanzine is financed. By unchecking this box you will still have advertisements but they may be less interesting :)

We did not wait for a law to make us respect our members and visitors' privacy. The cookies that we use are only meant to improve your experience on our website.

Our cookies

Cookies not subject to consent

These are cookies that guarantee the proper functioning of Audiofanzine and allow its optimization. The website cannot function properly without these cookies.

Website preferences

We store your preferences so that you do not have to re-enter them every time your come back (forums options, dark or light theme, classifieds filter, standard or buzz news, newsletters popups...).

Log in

This one makes sure you don't have to re-enter your credentials every time you visit Audiofanzine.

Analytics

This data allows us to understand the use that our visitors make of our website in an attempt to improve it.

Advertising

This information allows us to show you personalized advertisements thanks to which Audiofanzine is financed. By unchecking this box you will still have advertisements but they may be less interesting :)


You can find more details on data protection in our privacy policy.