or
Create an account

or

Thread What software to use/get for newbie

• 3 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 3 followers
1 What software to use/get for newbie
Hello, I'm not really a newbie, I've used Cakewalk Music Creator and Cubase LE (entry-level DAWs that come with hardware). But I'm not that good at it.

I recently had to get a new computer. Because the new computer didn't have a firewire, I was forced to replace my audio interface.

Based on Amazon reviews, I decided to get the Focusrite 2i2.

I am going to have to start over learning a new DAW now and I'm not excited about that. I've had to learn a new DAW a couple times and I always find it to be difficult. So I'm effectively a newbie.

The Scarlet came with Abelton Lite. I spent an hour or two with it last night. I found first two tutorials to be cumbersome. the screenshots didn't always match what was in the tutorial. I couldn't figure out how to see more of a window (could only see a tiny portion of a recording; i'm used to being able to zoom in and out and have most of the width of my computer to see a whole song).

I'm thinking before I get too far into this software, I should consider the options.

Does anyone have an opinion on which of these is better, easier, ...?

Abelton Live Lite
Cakewalk Music Creator
Cubase LE

Or any other entry-level DAW.
I mainly do multi track audio recording. Would like to be able to add effects and start experimenting with virtual instruments.

Also wondering if there is an official user forum through Focusrite, or is this the closest thing?

any advice is appreciated.

-gary in vermont

[ Post last edited on 01/28/2015 at 23:25:34 ]

Quote:
Does anyone have an opinion on which of these is better, easier, ...?

Abelton Live Lite
Cakewalk Music Creator
Cubase LE