or
Create an account

or

Thread VLA 2 Compressor & Saffire Pro 24 (Setup Help)

• 2 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 3 followers
1 VLA 2 Compressor & Saffire Pro 24 (Setup Help)
PLEASE HELP!
Okay this is all a bit confusing.

I just bought a VLA 2 Compressor & Saffire Pro 24 Interferface.
Complete noob when it comes to setting up the hardware and software.
I google & youtubed & tried multiple things but i can't seem to get this stuff running right.

Im using Logic Pro X & Saffires Mix Control.

What i want is to use my VLA to compress vocals while tracking.
So basically i want my vocals compressed before they are recorded into Logic.
I don't want to hear the compression while tracking however.
I mix while i record so its important i only get the logic master output and not the a compressed master sound in my headphones/Monitors

I specifically need help with Saffire mixcontrol because it is so confusing to me.

So basically
1. How do i route this compressor to my interface?
2. What wires will i need?
3. what setting do i change in mixcraft?
4. What setting do i change in Logic?

Thanks In Advance!

Pictures below may help:
499943d1443055783-help-w-saffire-pro-24-mix-control-art-vla-2-setup-screen-shot-2015-09-23-8.48.51-pm.png

499944d1443055970-help-w-saffire-pro-24-mix-control-art-vla-2-setup-307195d1346305429-art-pro-vla-focusrite-liquid-saffire-56-art-back.jpg

499945d1443055970-help-w-saffire-pro-24-mix-control-art-vla-2-setup-focusrite-saffire-pro-24-dsp-756145.jpg
Good afternoon,

It seems as though you're attempting to setup your compressor as an external effect, which we have written an answer base article about here:

http://uk.focusrite.com/answerbase/how-do-i-set-up-and-use-an-external-effects-processor-as-an-insert-when-mixing