Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
+
Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
  • Increase or decrease font size
  • Print
  • RSS

All user reviews for the Boss DD-3 Digital Delay

  • Like
  • Tweet
  • Submit
Average Score:4.3( 4.3/5 based on 24 reviews )
 11 reviews46 %
 11 reviews46 %
 1 user review4 %
 1 user review4 %
Audience: Anyone
View price information
Mythrandir104/04/2015

Mythrandir1's review"Proper Boss quality"

Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
Being a fan of Tool and other such progressive metal bands, I needed to look for a good quality delay pedal which offered me all the functionalities that I require, while also being at an affordable price.
After spending weeks of doing research and watching a lot of review videos, I decided to stick with the Boss brand.
I am not saying they are the best, but to me personally, they offer high quality, reliable products at affordable prices, without braking the bank.

Features

The DD3 delay pedal, like many Boss pedals, is very user-friendly and simply easy to adjust to your liking.
It has 4 knobs, for effect level, feedback time, delay time and delay mode. You can replicate any delay effect to match your favorite songs, whether you're an Adam Jones or Tom Morello fan or if you simply want to play the intro to 'Tears don't fall'.
It takes a bit of practice to get to understand how to tweak the settings finely, in order to get the proper effect you require, but all in all it is easy to use.

Sound/quality of effect

Great sound quality, the echo is clear and sharp, not muddy and you can get any desired type of delay from it. I have tested this pedal with both a tube amp and a solid state amp and even though a lot of people will say you can't get a quality effect when used with a solid state amp, especially a practice amp, they are quite wrong. Yes, the quality isn't the same like when used with a tube amp, but it is still well worth it, the effect is clear and precise and you can get the desired effect.

Reliability

It's a Boss pedal, and if you aren't familiar with this brand, you should know that they build their pedals to survive an apocalypse. I have personally, dropped a Boss pedal (not this one, but the casing is usually the same) from the second floor of a building, on concrete (long story...). Not even a single dent on it, just scratched a bit of paint, and it continued to work perfectly like nothing happened.
If you want it for gigs, it's great that you don't have to worry about stomping it to pieces when you are "in the zone", you can just step on it with a lot of force and the pedal won't even "feel" it.

Overall opinion

I would highly recommend this pedal to anyone. It is simple to use, the digital delay is more than good enough to use for gigs or recording, you get a good value for its price, it's indestructible and I simply can't find anything wrong with it. I am more than happy with my DD3.
nickname00902/02/2012

nickname009's review

Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
Compact delay pedal with superb BOSS sound quality
Provides 3 delay time modes and a Delay Time control for quick adjustment of exact delay time between 12.5ms - 800ms
Hold function repeats delay sound indefinitely for interesting effects
BOSS 5-year warranty

This is the legendary boss dd-3,the newer revision of this has some new features but the sound, function and size are the same. It's a great delay for those who are just getting into the idea of owning and using a digital delay pedal who don't really know what they're looking for yet but want something simple to use, that sounds good and can open doors into the whole delay world for you.

UTILIZATION

This is as simple as a digital delay can possibly get. And yes digital delays are usually a bit more complex with knobs and functions than analog delays as there are a lot more parameters that one can control.

But again just like with most pedals you can start with everything up at noon and adjust from there. the E. Level knob is like a mix knob allowing how much of your signal is going to be 'wet' with delay. The Feedback knob controls how long the delay will sustain for before it cuts out of the signal. And the delay time controls how soon or how late the repeats will come in or out.

The mode knob is what's been changed as far as I can remember with the older 90s versions but it's stupid simple. You adjust the length of repeats that the pedal can operate with I think it goes up to 800ms on these. And the HOLD function is for that oscillation effect, if you're in this mode, all you do is press and hold the footswitch and the delay effect will repeat into a neverending cycle and create a cool space-like effect, "oscillation".


SOUND QUALITY

The sound of course is digital. This means that the repeats itself are very clear and precise with quite a bit of presence. Technically, the repeats should be just as clear and precise as the original sound source, that's the point of digital delays. Also digital delays tend to usually allow longer repeat times than analog delays.

So there's not much to judge here about the sound as delay pedals are really just meant to repeat your original sound source. I will say this however, placement of the pedal changes how the delay sound, for example if you put this in the FX loop and use amp distortion, your delays will be clear and not muddy vs if you put this out in front while using amp distortion. Experiment and see what you prefer the sound of, there is no right or wrong.

OVERALL OPINION

Overall, best basic digital delay. Legendarily known for being so and definitely worth looking into for those who are just getting started with delay. For those who've played with delay pedals for years and years they'll know what to to with this for sure and have probably moved on to other bigger pieces of gear with more knobs etc. But this has always been a great simple effect to experiment with new guitar sounds and get your creative juices flowing.
Fireguy840212/23/2011

Fireguy8402's review"Very Digital.. Love it or hate it."

Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
The Boss DD-3 is the most basic delay pedal out by Boss at the moment. This delay has a four knob design. The pedal has an Effect Level knob that adjusts the amount of delay that is mixed with the dry tone, a Feedback knob that adjust the number of repeats, a Delay Time knob that adjusts the amount of time between repeats, and a four way Mode knob that adjusts between the pedal modes. Mode one or “S” is a short delay with a range of 12.5 ms to 50 ms. Mode two or “M” is a medium delay with a range of 50 ms to 200ms. Mode three or “L” is a long delay with a range of 200 ms to 800ms. The Hold mode is a little different, it allows you to hold a delay and then play over it. The pedal can be powered by 9 volt batter or external AC adapter. Dimensions of the pedal are Boss’s typical 2.4" x 5.1" x 2.9" and it weighs about a pound. Normal input and output jacks are available as well as a direct output.

UTILIZATION

Boss builds little tanks; it’s as easy as that. They can take serious abuse from the road and never hiccup, and the DD-3 is no exception to the rule. It is a very reliable pedal and I’ve never heard any complaints in the build of the pedal or quality control. It’s a very straightforward layout and the knobs seem sturdy and hold your settings well. The Mode knob has a solid click feel between settings. The housing and jacks are metal and will deal with life on the road. Including a direct out allows the player to use two amps to get that true full stereo delay and is a great addition from Boss.

SOUND QUALITY

This pedal doesn’t really produce a difference in tone when it is on and off. The bypass of the pedal, though buffered, is very good. Basically what you put into it is what you get out of it. The delays are very clean and crisp and are almost exact replications of what comes into the front end of the pedal. I have moved on to the DL-4 and an analog delay because I like their coloration of the repeats. I feel it sounds more natural if the delays are slightly muffled in the high end like a natural echo and decay. This does a great clean repeat though if you’re looking for that.

OVERALL OPINION

Overall this is a great delay for clean repeats. It spits out exactly what you put into it, and delays it. The delays aren’t warmer or colored at all like an analog delay or echo pedal, and that’s what it’s supposed to do. This pedal is built road tough, and can really take a beating. I gigged it for awhile, but I felt the clean sounding repeats sounded too digital and unnatural, and I’ve since moved to an analog delay. Had the pedal incorporated an EQ so I could roll off some of the high end on the repeats, I may have stuck with the DD-3. I can’t say it’s a bad pedal though, because it does exactly what it’s meant to do, it’s just not for me.
denied07/31/2011

denied's review"Classic Digital Delay"

Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
- Digital Delay
- Controls for level, feedback, delay time, and mode
- Direct out
- Buffered bypass
- Powered by 9V battery or Boss style adapter
- Boss build and durability
- Easy battery access
- 800ms of delay time
- Hold function


UTILIZATION

My biggest gripe with this pedal is the delay modes. I see no reason why there need to be three different parameters for delay time, as opposed to one knob that runs from 12.5ms to 800.
There is no tap tempo on this pedal, so if that is what you’re after, you’ll need to look at one of the later models like the dd6 or 7.
The direct out, easy battery access are nice features. I didn’t find a whole lot of use for the hold function, you’d be better off looking at something like the EHX freeze. To clarify, this is NOT a looping function.


SOUND QUALITY

Classic digital delay. You won’t get any analog warmth or imperfections here, so if that’s what you’re after, keep looking. The repeats are exact digital replications of what goes in to it, and fade out as such. Some call it sterile, it really depends what kind of delay you are looking for.
The tone is definitely in demand, to the extent that Boss reissued this pedal alongside the current DD7 model. As digital delays go, this is an excellent representation of the industries early offerings.


OVERALL OPINION

A classic pedal that captures the essence of digital delay. This is pretty much the bare basics, just enough features to get you by, with a few added frills. My biggest complaint is the lack of tap tempo, something that you end up using quite a bit with something as stable as digital delay. I don’t find myself missing it when using analog or tape for some added character. But especially when using delay rhythmically, you tend to need it.
But that said, it really is a great little delay pedal, at an affordable price.
tjon90107/31/2011

tjon901's review"Everyday Delay"

Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
Boss is pretty much the standard when it comes to pedals. Many of their pedals are the standard when it comes to whatever that pedal does. This delay is pretty much your standard fare delay pedal. It has been used since the mid 80s and has been the go to delay pedal since then. It has been updated a few times but the sound has remained pretty much the same. Not only is the delay sound great but it has a great reverb effect. The controls are super simple. It has a level knob a feedback knob and a delay time adjustment.

UTILIZATION

The Boss pedal design hasnt changed over the years because there is nothing to change. The design is simple and rugged and can take whatever you give it. The knobs are pretty strong although I would not suggest stepping on them. The switch is big and strong. With the Direct out you can have a signal that only has the delayed sound which adds some more versatility but most people probably will not use it. Even with this extra output the pedal cannot be used in stereo.

SOUND QUALITY

It has it nice sound for a Digital Delay. It does not sound super organic like a tape delay but some people like that. Being digital you can dial in super long delay tones for really crazy progressive stuff. Doing a long delay time like this on a lower quality pedal can cause you a lot of unwanted noise and feedback. This pedal is best if you want an exact sounding digital delay. If you are looking for a more organic or tape sound there are other delays out there that can do that sound better.

OVERALL OPINION

If you are looking for a simple workhorse delay pedal for your rig this is a good choice. For a little over 100 dollars you can get a pedal that has been used for over 20 years on just about any record and for just about any style of music. These pedals are very rugged and you should get many years of service from one of these. If you do not need a stereo delay or a tape delay this pedal will do everything you want in a delay pedal.
iamqman07/13/2011

iamqman's review"The standard"

Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
This is pretty much the standard when it comes to the industry used digital delay pedal. There isn't a short list of players who have used this pedal. Everyone and their grandmother have used this pedal at one time or another. This is a great pedal and can be found out many recordings since its inception in 1986.

There are three version updates to this pedal through the years. Each usually was a chip update or removal. The chips don't sound all that different I think is was matter of cost changes with chips through the years.

UTILIZATION

Specifications

Controls: E.Level, F.Back, D.Time, 4-way Mode switch
Connectors: Input, Output, Direct Out, AC Adaptor
Current Draw: 55 mA (DC 9V, D.Time control at center)
Weight: 450 g (0.99 lb.)
A/D Conversion: 12-bit logarithmic compression
D/A Conversion: 12-bit logarithmic compression
Input Impedance: 1Mohm (FET Input)
Residual Noise Level: -95dBm (IHF-A)
Recommended Load Impedance: 10kOhm or greater
Delay Time: 12.5 to 800ms
Recommended AC Adaptor: PSA Series


SOUND QUALITY

This is still one of the best delays in history. The tone of it is fantastic and colorful. One of the riffs that I always hear with this pedal is the Welcome to the Jungle by guns N Roses. I am almost positive that Slash used this pedal on that opening riff that is now infamous.

This pedal works great in just about any application. If you want to add a nice cutting delay to your distortion tone like Slash then here it is. If you want something that is clean and beautiful like a nice U@ riff then this is a great pedal for that.

OVERALL OPINION

At new these pedal come in at around $139, which is a great price for this pedal. This is a great delay and will last a long time touring or gigging. Boss pedals have a great build to them that make them great night after night of playing. Even large amounts of abuse will not keep these pedals.
badgerific03/30/2011

badgerific's review"Lots of features for a good price."

Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
This is a digital delay stomp box from boss, it has 1/4" input and outputs, can be powered with a standard 9V adaptor or using an internal 9V battery. It has four controls which are: Effect level, Feedback, Delay time and a four way Mode selector.

The four modes are Short, Medium, Long and Hold.

The Short has delay times between 12.5ms and 50ms, the Medium goes between 50ms and 200ms and the Long mode has delays of 200ms to 800ms.

The hold function will infinitely repeat the section of sound that is being played while the foot pedal is pressed down. When the pedal is released it will continue to repeat this section until the foot pedal is tapped again to stop the effect.

UTILIZATION

This pedal is fairly simple to set up and operate, the only thing I have difficulty using effectively is the hold function but I'm sure with some practice I'd be able to get it done better.

There are lots of useable settings in this delay unit from a slapback sound to long spacey delays.

SOUND QUALITY

I have used this pedal extensively with my friends Fender Highway one Telecaster and Marshall JCM900 amplifier. This pedal has crystal clear digital repeats which don't begin to become darker or distorted as they go on like analog delays do. To lots of people this will be an excellent feature on for a delay pedal, I personally really don't like it, I much prefer analog sounding delay units to ones like this.

I found this pedal sounded a lot nicer and fitted in with the other effects pedals I was using when put into the effects loop of the marshall.

OVERALL OPINION

The thing I like most about this pedal is the hold feature, despite the fact I find it tricky to use, as I haven't seen it on any other delay unit i've tried except the DD6 and it's quite an interesting effect.

The thing I dislike most about this pedal is the clean repeats, which sound quite sterile to me and the buffered bypass.

Overall I think this is a good pedal if you like the digital delay sound.
Hatsubai03/21/2011

Hatsubai's review"Standard digital delay"

Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
The Boss DD-3 is pretty much the absolute standard of delay pedals. It features multiple modes of delay from 12.5ms to 800ms, so it can act as both a reverb and a delay. There are knobs for the level, feedback and delay time to control the overall setting you choose.

UTILIZATION

These pedals are very rugged. Boss is known for building tough pedals, and this is no exception. The Boss DD-3 is one of the better delay pedals that Boss makes. Some of them, like the DD-6, sound a bit more digital, but this one isn't too bad. It lacks the ability to be run in stereo, but I find that actually helps preserve the tone a bit more. The manual is well written, and it's a cinch to setup in any rig. I recommend running this in the loop as it doesn't sound quite as nice in front. Things like the Echoplex and other vintage/tape delays work better for that.

SOUND QUALITY

The sound of the DD-3 is quite nice out of the box. It does have a little hint of digital flavor with the repeats, but that's an easy fix with a simple capacitor across the lugs of the feedback pot. The various delay times allow it to even be used as a slight reverb. It won't be a very rich one, but it can work in a pinch. One of the real cool tricks that Paul Gilbert helped show everyone is that you can play a phrase, turn it on real quick and it'll loop that phrase. You can hear this being done on his "Get Out of My Yard" album on the very first song.

OVERALL OPINION

If you're contemplating on getting a basic delay pedal, I highly recommend looking into this. It's a nice pedal that won't break the bank, it'll take nearly any abuse you throw at it, and it's also easy to modify. The lack of stereo is a bit disappointing, but it helps make up for it in overall tone.
MGR/Billy12/12/2010

MGR/Billy's review"Boss DD-3 Digital Delay"

Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
The Boss DD3 is probably the most well known in digital delay pedals. Its merits aren't without being well deserved, this pedal does it all: Short delay, long delay, it can repeat something once or it could repeat something eternally!

I bought this used for $40. As of 2010 I believe Boss charges about $120 for one of these new.


It is simple to use. No manual needed, just plug and play. I bought it specifically to get a nice, clean slap back delay like my, at the time guitar hero Brian Setzer. Sure new pedals come out and I give them a shot, but the DD-3 will always be a staple for my delay sounds.

In a perfect world this pedal would have a cleaner, quieter bypass as well as a tap tempo, but if I want the that or the tap tempo at least I'll have to upgrade to the newer DD-7.

Boss builds great pedals that can take the abuse of years of non-paying sweaty rock clubs. My DD3 has never shown up late for practice or got too drunk to perform at gig.

Great, simple to use delay pedal. Unless you need a delay time of 5 1/2 weeks, I'd check this pedal out. It's good clean fun!

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
moosers03/11/2009

moosers's review

Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
Boss DD-3 Digital Delay is a guitar stomp box with the ability to produce a number of different delay tones. It has a 1/4 inch input and output and is powered by either a nine volt battery or a nine volt power supply. It is not a rackable effect as it is a stomp box.

UTILIZATION

The configuration of the DD-3 is easy to follow and it is easy to get a good sound from this. It has a knob for effect level, a knob for feedback, a knob for delay time, and a knob to change the mode. It is straightforward and is easy to figure out what everything does. The manual is pretty thorough and complete, but the pedal is easy enough to figure out on its own if you don't have it.

SOUND QUALITY

The delay from the Boss DD-3 is clear in general has a great tone to it. I have only used this with guitar - usually a Fender Stratocaster and a '76 Fender Twin Reverb amp. With this combination I get a great tone and with the DD-3 I can get a variety of delay sounds. My favorite mode on the DD-3 is probably the M 200ms setting as it suits the amount of the delay I usually need, but all of the settings are pretty good, it just depends what you are looking for.

OVERALL OPINION

I've been using the Boss DD-3 Digital Delay for a few years and I have found it to be a great delay pedal for the guitarist who wants simple delay at a reasonable price. Boss makes great products that will last if you treat them right and this is another great example of the high quality pedals they make. While not as versatile as the Line 6 DL-4 delay pedal, it is good at what it does and is great for getting simple delay tones. Overall, I definitely recommend this delay pedal.