PRS CE24
+
PRS CE24
  • Increase or decrease font size
  • Print
  • RSS

All user reviews for the PRS CE24

  • Like
  • Tweet
  • Submit
Average Score:4.6( 4.6/5 based on 26 reviews )
 17 reviews65 %
 7 reviews27 %
 1 user review4 %
View price information
iamqman12/31/2011

iamqman's review"What can I say?"

PRS CE24
Paul Reed Smith guitars have a great exotic look but it's very versatile and dynamic town. These guitars are generally very great to look at and have a sensational appeal in there beautifully quilted tops. These guitars feature generally a mahogany wood with a maple top which gives the guitar a very dynamic and versatile tone. They generally are equipped with humbukcer pickups or their own Paul Reed Smith mini humbucker pickups. These guitars are extremely versatile and you can easily find country artists all the way up to modern new metal guitarists play these guitars. There's something about them that has just a great feel and tone for basically every style of music. Not to mention how beautifully constructed and how well-built they are adds to the allure of these instruments.


UTILIZATION

BODY
Top Wood Maple Top and Flame Maple Veneer
Back Wood Mahogany
NECK
Number of Frets 24
Scale Length 25"
Neck Wood Maple
Fretboard Wood Rosewood
Neck Shape Wide Thin
Fretboard Inlays Birds
HARDWARE/ELECTRONICS
Bridge PRS Designed Tremolo
Tuners PRS Designed Tuners
Truss Rod Cover "PRS"
Hardware Type Nickel
Treble Pickup PRS Designed SE HFS Treble
Bass Pickup PRS Designed SE Vintage Bass
Pickup Switching Volume and Tone Control with 3-Way Toggle Pickup Selector


SOUNDS

The tone of these guitars are very similar to Gibson style tone. If you've ever played any mahogany based guitar such as a Gibson Les Paul, Gibson SG, or Explorer guitar that you will find yourself very comfortable with this instrument. The funny thing about these guitars is that they sounds very chiming and clean with clean amplifier setting. I've never found a Gibson guitar give off any type of solid spanky clean tone, but these guitars find some way to balance itself out in the frequency range to give a solid clean tone. It's very remarkable to my ears to hear a guitar that can cover so much ground as these instruments can. It is an easy selling point for these guitars that gives a user such a variety of total features to operate.

OVERALL OPINION

These guitars are quite expensive but you can find them 40% of the new value on any type of classifieds or used section online or in some guitar retailers. I suggest getting one of these guitars used because then you allow the person who originally bought it take to hit on the expenses new price. Even though these are quiet expensive they are great guitars and hold most of their value quite well. They sound good when playing a recording session or any type of live gigging setting. Overall these are great versatile instruments that sounds fantastic.
iamqman12/31/2011

iamqman's review"Sweet Axe!"

PRS CE24
Paul Reed Smith guitars have a great feel and overall are very exotic in their construction. When you pick up a Paul Reed Smith guitar you immediately notice how well-built these instruments really are and how their construction quality is very superb. The tone of these guitars are very similar to a Gibson style voicing. That could be due to the thick mahogany wood that is used throughout their billed process. Generally these guitars will feature the exact same wood compliments and combination as any other Gibson custom or standard Les Paul guitar. So essentially when you get is a mahogany body and a mahogany neck with a rosewood fretboard and generally a flame maple top or a quilted maple top on the. You'll get the standard two humbucker pick ups and sometimes you have a three humbug or pick up and many Paul Reed Smith guitars. But overall you get a very similar voicing as you would a Gibson Les Paul instrument.

UTILIZATION


PRS Custom 22 Left Handed 10 Top Limited Edition Solidbody Electric Guitar Features:

Limited run - 1 of only 250 made
Color: Fire Red Burst
Amazing Ten Top maple on a rich mahogany back
25" scale length
22 fret mahogany wide fat neck with rosewood fretboard
Old-school abalone bird inlays
Nickel finished PRS low mass locking tuners and hardware
PRS Tremolo bridge
Uncovered 59/09 neck and bridge pickups
Volume and push/pull tone control with 3-way toggle pickup selector

SOUNDS


If you've ever played a Gibson Les Paul and you're going to be very comfortable with this instrument. So the tone, saturation, and feel is going to be very similar to a Gibson Les Paul guitar. The areas that these guitars really excel in is the high gain amplification setting. But still these guitars sounds very good at clean tones as well. I think that might be one of the selling points on these guitars is their ability to be even more versatile than a Gibson Les Paul guitar in my opinion. I find it to Gibson Les Paul guitars don't really do well in a clean setting but they excel in a hard rock high gain set, whereas the Paul Reed Smith guitars can do it all. I have seen Paul Reed Smith guitars played by country musicians all the way through pop and up to nu metal guitar players. That's a lot of versatility in one type of instrument. For me that is a very high selling point on these guitars and also the ability to reach the higher fretboard because of the cutaway body on these guitars. I find it a lot easier to do soloing and riffing on the higher frets because of the cutaway which makes my playing time much more enjoyable.

OVERALL OPINION


These guitars are fairly expensive and can be quite a heavy burden for a budget musician. So I find that these guitars are really tailored towards the person who has been around the block a while and knows exactly what they want and also the person is a professional and has a little bit bigger bank account to afford these type of guitars. Overall these are great sounding instruments and have a great versatility with a solid sound and beautiful look. These guitars are great for recording and they're also fantastic for live stage playing as well.
ericthegreat11/24/2011

ericthegreat's review"grey and black wins!"

PRS CE24
Recently PRS CE24 has been making cheaper guitars and trying to change their image from a guitar maker who only makes guitars for rich dentists to a guitar maker who makes guitars for everyone. Along with making more reasonably priced guitars they have also been making signature models for people younger players would recognize. One of those players who got a signature model was Nick Catanese. Nick Catanese is the other guitar player in Black Label Society opposite of Zakk Wylde who himself is no stranger to unnecessary endorsements.


UTILIZATION


To my knowledge Nick Catanese did not play a PRS model before they made a signature model for them. I always remember seeing him with Les Pauls. The guitar is PRS's single cut shape but with a slightly thicker body. The body is all mahogany and has the classic EMG setup with an 81 in the bridge and an 85 in the neck. It has a Tone pros wrap around bridge. It has a 22 fret ebony fretboard with red binding. The body of the guitar is bound in red and the pickup rings are also red. On the body of the guitar is a huge Nick Cantonese logo which I had never seen before.

SOUNDS

Playability wise this guitar plays as good as any PRS guitar. It has PRS's wide-thin neck profile which feels a lot like a 60s Gibson profile. The Tone pros wrap around bridge is a great setup and matches well with the 25 inch scale. PRS guitars always seem to have better intonation than other guitars even with their seemingly simple bridge setups. The set neck joint is nice and slim so you can play all the way up on the neck.

OVERALL OPINION


This guitar could have been a lot better. If they kept the design simpler. They are losing a lot of potential customers with the huge crazy logo and the red binding. If it just had white or grey binding I think it would be really cool. And if it had to have the crazy logo on it why not make it removable or something or a finish option. Many guitar companies have them problem when it comes to signature guitars. Instead of just making a good guitar similar to what the guitarist uses they end up making 6 string billboards for that player and normal people dont want to play them live or anything because they have someone else s name plastered all over them.
ericthegreat11/24/2011

ericthegreat's review"grand slam "

PRS CE24
The PRS CE24 is an Amazing guitar! Before buying this guitar I had looked at a bunch of others. I was really focusing on the Billie Joe Les Paul but once I played the PRS CE24 it blew my mind away. This guitar has so many sounds in it. I can get that great rock n roll sound, and still get a great blues sound, and with a little distortion you get some great punk.


UTILIZATION

The split coil pickups are definitely an amazing design, I love them. And not to mention how sexy this thing looks. I have owned the exact same one as pictured and looks absolutely beautiful. I definitely recommend getting this guitar if you are willing to splurge a little cash, because they don’t come too cheap. Hopefully you can find this exact same color.


SOUNDS

This guitar leans closer to the latter, but it doesn't have the raw crunch and power of, say, a Les Paul. It's more of a guitar for progessive metal, and really 80's style rock leads, though with the right amp combo it can sound good for more general rock too. If I had to say whether or not it suited my style, I'd probably say no. But I'd be doing the guitar a great disservice to say that it didn't sound good. As far as the tones it's going for, it's got them nailed. The leads and sustain are soaring. The more well-known guys who use these guitars all use them to great effect, and this guitar is one of their better models. I must say though, I'm not a fan of the clean tones at all, they seem boring and have no pop.


OVERALL OPINION


The guitar just sounds great, and its exactly what use guitar players love to have in our possesion. Its not hard at all to get a nice clean sound. The top frets are really easy to reach and the high notes sound amazing. it’s a nice heavy guitar, but not too have in weight terms. With 24 frets and 2 hum buckers you cant go wrong with the PRS CE24.
iamqman09/03/2011

iamqman's review"Holy guitar tones"

PRS CE24
This Paul Reed Smith guitar is named at the 24th because of the neck scale length. This compared to the 22 is only a couple inches in difference. All the controls and features and tone is pre-much the same he just get a little bit more fret action with the longer neck. This guitar is a boutique guitar and it down is an expensive guitar for a lot of people including myself but is a great guitar if your wanting step up to a quality built guitar as well as a very versatile quality sound guitar.

These guitars are very easy to play on the neck is a little bit chunky so if you spend any time playing against Les Paul or Gibson flying V then you will probably feel comfortable with this guitar. If you can use to playing a fender telecaster or something like an Ibanez guitar then this snack is going to be a little awkward for you. It's going to be thicker and the radius of it will be a little strange comparatively to a shredder guitar.

UTILIZATION

Paul Reed Smith CE 24 Maple Top Electric Guitar Features:

* Bolt-on 24-fret maple neck for classic maple neck clarity
* Comfortable wide-thin neck carve
* 25" scale length, 10" radius fretboard
* Friction-resistant "unobtanium" nut
* Abalone dot inlays (bird inlays by special order)
* Maple-topped, one-piece mahogany body
* Gorgeous "dipped in glass" clearcoat finish
* HFS Vintage Treble/Bass pickup combination
* Coil-tapping 5-way rotary pickup selector with volume and tone controls
* PRS tremolo with locking tuners
* Paul Reed Smith signature logo headstock
* Tolex covered rectangular hard case
* Made in USA

SOUNDS

The tone of this guitar is an exceptional one. It sounds fantastic with pretty much any amplifier you put it in. I personally like the sound of the Paul Reed Smith amps with their own guitars. They're able to find a great chemistry and connection with the sound of their amps in the voicing of the ramps with these guitars. Usually there and sour low to mid gain amps so they really bring out and allow the guitars to shine with their note separation and clarity.

These guitars also sounds fantastic with a high gain amplifier as well. So if you're playing the marshal amplifier or Mesa boogie amplifier in this guitars but it sounds very well in that type of setting. When my favorite sounds is not necessarily this guitar but Paul Reed Smith guitar and a Bogner. This is what Mark Tremonti the guitar player from Alter Bridge and he uses in his live recording and stage guitar rig. These guitar sound fantastic with a Bogner amplifier think it's a good chunky distortion town because these guitars are able to get a good chunky rhythmic tone.

OVERALL OPINION

You find his guitar for right around $2000 which is a pretty high price for any kind of guitar. However, this is an exotic built and exotic wood guitar so am the price is in net. This is a guitar for the professional musician and not someone is starting out on the guitar or a learner. So if you have an opportunity to play his guitar then I would recommend it before shelling out the money to own it because you might not jive with it because it feels a little bit different then many guitars that are more common such as Fender Stratocaster or telecaster.
iamqman08/18/2011

iamqman's review"Black cherry icecream!"

PRS CE24
PRS guitars are some of the best looking boutique get tarp out there. There are great quality at great build standards and they're just exceptional to look at. They also are able to branch through multiple genres of music and not stay particular to one style.

This guitar is it is quite a beautiful guitar. The nice beautiful finger flamed maple top just looks great on top of the mahogany wood body. The nice curvature to this guitar is another selling point to the Paul Reed Smith guitars. The curved heels in the blend of the actual laminate top to the body is very well put together. You have your standard humbucker pickups that are a very good quality sounding pickups.

UTILIZATION

The tone of this guitar is quite exceptional. It can go to country blues all the way up to metal music. It has a great sustain and just an overall great sound with this very versatile guitar. I don't find at the Paul Reed Smith guitars had as much sold as a Gibson Les Paul does but it's still has a great versatility and they are great gigging guitars.

SOUNDS

Is guitar sound exceptional with their own Paul Reed Smith amplifiers. They just sound very country very clean and bluesy with their clean amplifiers. But stick this thing in front of a nice high gain amplifier and you can get some really good chunky thick distorted tones. I really dig these guitars in a high gain amplifier setting . They just have a good quality and sustain that matches very well with a high gain amplifier. Just about any application will sound great with this guitar.

OVERALL OPINION

You can find these guitars for right around $1000 give or take a few hundred. That is a pretty expensive price for a guitar but then again this is a professionals guitar and not a beginner or learner guitar price. Either way this is an exceptional guitar for someone who likes a boutique quality likes to craftsmanship of of the guitar and prefers a more custom piece because these can come in a various of different colors.
iamqman08/18/2011

iamqman's review"Decent guitar"

PRS CE24
This PRS guitar is an exceptional beauty any absolute fine instrument. The voicing of this guitar is very thick and chunky as well as a distinct mahogany tone. Most of the PRS guitars feature on mahogany body and neck woods and this one is no exception when it comes to that mahogany tone.

This one has a cool sunburst paint job that really set off the look of this guitar quite well. You get a volume and a couple tone controls knobs and that is about it with this guitar's control features.

UTILIZATION

The PRS guitar sits in the music which can be cleaner than a Les Paul even though it is mahogany but yet thick and juicy with a high gain amplifier. This guitar has an exceptionally beautiful top on it which is pretty standard with most Paul Reed Smith guitars. Some of their major highlights in their instrument building is there beautiful exotic woods and their exceptional aerodynamic cuts in their bodies. This guitar highlights those exclusive and beautiful features.

SOUNDS

The tone of these guitars are an exceptional and very versatile guitar. You get a fantastic clean tone as well as a new modern high gain tone. I have seen these guitars on so many different stages from so many different styles of music. I seen them with the most modern high again metal players as well as the clean bluesy players. It's interesting that these guitars are able to clean up so well which I think is a downfall to the Gibson Les Paul guitars which are great. It's hard rock 'n roll and high gain distortion that don't fit very well when it comes to cleaning up and doing a nice shiny sparkly clean tone. This guitar is able to cross those boundaries and do both very well.



OVERALL OPINION

At used these guitars are priced right around $1000 which is a little bit expensive for most people but again this is a professional guitar for someone or for someone who knows exactly what they want. This is not a beginners guitar and if you get lucky enough to get this guitar as a beginner then you're pretty lucky guitarist. The birds inlay for the frets is a nice edition and it really sets the look off with this nice top and beautiful paint job. I highly recommend this guitar to anyone who likes the Paul Reed Smith brand and has the equity to do it.
King Loudness08/11/2011

King Loudness's review"Versatile and classy"

PRS CE24
The PRS CE-24 is designed to be a slightly lower end version of their famed 24 fret flagship, the Custom 24. It features a solid mahogany body with a classy flamed maple top as well as a nice binding that surrounds the top. It also has a bolt on maple neck with rosewood fretboard and 24 frets, PRS locking tuners, PRS designed vibrato unit, PRS designed Vintage Bass and HFS humbuckers, and a control layout of a volume control, a tone control, and a 5 way rotary switch that combines the tones of the full humbuckers with some split coil and parallel wired sounds as well. This guitar was built in the USA PRS factory, same as the higher end Custom 22s and 24s.

UTILIZATION

The PRS guitars have always been considered to be like a blend between a Fender and a Gibson as far as their feel and design. It has the mahogany construction, maple top, dual humbuckers and classic sunburst finish of a Gibson, but the longer scale length, tremolo, maple neck, more versatile switching system and lighter weight of a Fender style guitar. To me it really combines the best of both worlds as far as feel and tone. The guitar is fairly light and sits on the body extremely well. The upper fret access is stellar, and reaching 24 is no problem whatsoever.

Getting a good tone out of this guitar really isn't difficult because of the high quality PRS pickups that are in this guitar. The Vintage Bass and HFS pickups are quite versatile and combined with the PRS rotary switch, the guitar is able to go from great clean jazz or country tones all the way through to searing and soaring "fall to your knees in ecstasy" lead tones. Awesome...

SOUNDS

I've tried this guitar through various Fender and Marshall amps. This particular guitar has the distinction of having the BEST clean sound I've ever heard. I used it at a house gig recently along with a Diamond Compressor and a 1964 Blackface Super Reverb with 4 10s. Song after song I was just marveling at how godlike the tones were... it was unreal. I could go from really smooth jazz textures to some really convincing country tones for chicken pickin' and then finish off with the world's most perfect gutsy blues tone that had me in chills when I dug into it hard enough.

The dirty tones are equally as stellar, though I haven't had a chance to try them in QUITE as nice a setting. The neck pickup is perfect for legato fusion and shred lines. Arpeggios just work so well with that particular pickup and my favoured smooth lead tone. The HFS bridge pickup has long been one of my favourite pickups and in this guitar it's easy to see why. It has that perfect snarl and bite that drives any amp into overdriven mercy and as a result, it just works excellent for rock and metal riffage. Despite this though it still has a spongy vintage quality that makes it sound like an old PAF, just... brought into the modern age.

OVERALL OPINION

All in all I think the PRS CE24 is just a killer example of a versatile giggers guitar. It does every tone anyone could want, and uses top notch parts and craftsmanship to boot. They can be had for about $1,300 used which is an absolute steal for the quality and TONE that you're getting. If you want a super versatile guitar that is a near perfect blend of Fender and Gibson, give the PRS CE-24 (or if you prefer 22 frets, try the CE-22) a shot. You won't be disappointd!
nickname00904/03/2011

nickname009's review

PRS CE24
This is a review of an older 1998-ish PRS CE24, they're now unfortunately discontinued and no longer available in the PRS line. The SE korean series have taken over.

specs:

* bolt on hard maple neck
* rosewood fingerboard
* 25 inch scale
* 5 position rotary pu selector, volume and tone
* PRS trem system
* abalone dot inlays
* 14:1 low mass locking tuners
* wide-thin neck
* HFS and Vintage Bass pickups
* maple carved top with blue/greenish flame

Depending on the neck you get, the wide thin being the most popular, this can either make or break your decision on being happy with the guitar.



UTILIZATION

First of all I want to say I loved these CE guitars, I think they're the best in all of the PRS guitar line. They're dead simple, yet amazing in quality and the price range wasn't too shabby either!

The bolt on neck has a heel which has changed over the years in size. Though i can still get to the upper frets no problem. The guitar is comfortable to play and the 25" scale is not too foreign to me even though on paper it's definitely different from a fender or gibson. The wide thin neck is a gorgeous fit also.

Every detail has been thought of, down to even the strap buttons, which are HUGE on purpose so you don't have to go out and buy aftermarket strap locks! And the weight of PRS guitars is almost always consistently good!

The only REAL beef I have is the 5 way rotary switch, while it's a cool idea cause it's unique and looks neat, it's not very practical in a live situation. I like to switch pickups a lot during a phrase so it takes a quick flip movement, but the rotary switch design doesn't allow that.

The locking tuners are good, and so is the trem! I've never really had any troubles with USA guitars equipped with trems for some reason, they just know how to get it right!

SOUNDS

PRS pickups have a very distinct sound. It's not too PAF-like but not modern either, they seem to sit right in between. The pickups are, i'd say medium to high gain. The time I spent with this guitar, I played mostly through a VHT pitbull head and a zinky 2x12 cab.

Neck pickup (clean):
Very nice, smooth and clear. Not overly thick or muddy either. Almost PAF-like but a bit more compressed.

Neck pickup (dirty):
Smooth and never brittle. Can get a bit muddy on the low end depending on how you use it, but it is dynamic and definitely not sterile.

Neck pickup (split):
This would be the 2nd position on the switch assuming position 1 is the neck pickup by itself. This is supposed to emulate a sort of strat-like sound. It doesn't sound like a strat to me at all, it's still too thick and not bright and 'twangy' enough for it. It still sounds good, don't get me wrong, but it's not quite there if you're lookin for a strat-ish sound. It's just more of a nice clean spli/bucker sound. I'm talking clean here, it's not really favorable with distortion.

Neck+bridge: I never use this.

Bridge pickup split: Sort of the same idea as the neck pickup split but with less bass. Still not quite strat-like but still a decent clean overall.

Bridge pickup clean: Nice and jangly, plenty of headroom.

Bridge pickup dirty: Very smooth. Bluesy/jazzy and if you crank the gain you can get some really nice vintage crunch sounds, depending of course, on the amp you're using it with. It's not a tight pickup however, it's a little bit loose for tight rhythmic metal-like stuff, but for anything else it's thick and clear enough. Cleans up well with the volume rolled down, I always like that in a pickup!

Again the pickups sound good. I wouldn't change them, but then again I wouldn't go out of my way to install them on another guitar either. They have a very distinct sound that can be noticed instantly from all the modern rock bands playin them, it doesn't seem to matter what model pickup, they all seem to have the same signature sound. I remember going through PRS's website, I can't find it anymore but they used to have sound clips of all their pickups, and I swear to god, they were all exactly the same, no matter what model you chose! Maybe that's why that part of the site is gone now? I don't know..And my ears aren't bad! I can hear subtle nuances!

OVERALL OPINION

Overall it's a great guitar! It's basically an LP/strat-hybrid guitar, that's the whole point of a PRS, so that you'd be able to get the best of both worlds in one guitar! I don't mind bolt on necks vs neck through/set neck, they're all good for their own reasons. Sustain is in the player not the neck joint. I bought this for a REAL good used price a couple years back I wish I kept it...

I honestly think these are the best PRS guitars for the money. Everything else above the CE line is basically just a pimped up version of it aesthetically.

Too bad they don't make'em anymore. They were near perfect work-horse, yet high quality and long-lasting guitars...well..maybe that's exactly why they stopped makin'em?

mooseherman01/27/2010

mooseherman's review

PRS CE24
This guitar was made in the good old Us of A. It's incredibly well-crafted. It has an interesting combination of woods, a mahogany body, maple neck, and a rosewood fretboard. It features the PRS custom tremolo bridge, a nice alternative to the Floyd Rose. It has 24 frets and two great humbuckers (not sure the name). It features three knobs, one volume, one tone, and one that functions as a pickup selector switch.

UTILIZATION

This guitar is a dream to play. Getting a nice sound out of it shouldn't be tough for anyone, unless they really despise the sounds of a PRS. The top frets are very easy to reach and allow for some piercingly high notes. I've rarely been able to play in that register as easily as I can on this. It's a bit on the weightier side of the spectrum, but it's not going to break your back like a Gibson Les Paul might. Everything about this guitar is right on, the bridge and drivers are stable. I've heard someone describe the guitars as "butter in your hand", and I have to say it's a good analogy.

SOUNDS

This is where I'm a little torn on this guitar. I personally prefer bright, twangy sounds and popping R&B tones out of guitars, they fit my style. However, I'm also partial to really rocking out, and getting loud and crazy in the style of Crazy Horse, or even Sonic Youth. This guitar leans closer to the latter, but it doesn't have the raw crunch and power of, say, a Les Paul. It's more of a guitar for prog, metal, and really 80's style rock leads, though with the right amp combo it can sound good for more general rock too. If I had to say whether or not it suited my style, I'd probably say no. But I'd be doing the guitar a great disservice to say that it didn't sound good. As far as the tones it's going for, it's got them nailed. The leads and sustain are soaring. The more well-known guys who use these guitars (Santana, Brad Delp of Boston, Al Di Meola) all use them to great effect, and this guitar is one of their better models. I must say though, I'm not a fan of the clean tones at all, they seem boring and have no pop.

OVERALL OPINION

I like the way the guitar plays more than anything. It is more comfortable than almost any guitar I've played, especially when "shredding". I think that this guitar has been discontinued, since PRS's website no longer lists it and the only time I've seen it is used, so if you can find a remotely good deal on it, take advantage.  I've tried a few PRS models, definitely liked this the best, so if the kind of sounds I talked about are your thing, you owe it to yourself to check it out.