Become a member
Become a member

or
Continue with Google
Log in
Log in

or
Log in using a Google account
Add this product to
  • Mon ancien matos
  • My current gear
  • My wishlist
PRS Custom 22
Images
1/389

All user reviews for the PRS Custom 22

Not satisfied with those reviews?
Filter
Keywords
Average Score:
( 4.9/5 based on 9 reviews )
8 reviews
89 %
1 review
11 %
Write a user review
Users reviews
  • johnraejohnrae

    Heaven

    PRS Custom 22Published on 03/19/13 at 22:34
    The Paul Reed Smith Custom 22 Ten-Top is one of PRS's flagship guitars from the 1990's. It features a mahogany body with a carved figured maple top, twenty-two frets, a twenty five inch scale, and Mahogany neck with a Rosewood fretboard. Made in the USA, and solid everywhere. It features the HFS pickup in the neck/treble position, and the Vintage Bass pickup in the bridge/bass position. It has a 5-way blade switch and a tone and volume knob.

    UTILIZATION

    The guitar is an absolute dream to play. Every aspect of it is so perfect and so well thought out and planned for. It sounds and feels just incredible. Very sweet and quick action, awesome tones and really easy to get lost in. Reall…
    Read more
    The Paul Reed Smith Custom 22 Ten-Top is one of PRS's flagship guitars from the 1990's. It features a mahogany body with a carved figured maple top, twenty-two frets, a twenty five inch scale, and Mahogany neck with a Rosewood fretboard. Made in the USA, and solid everywhere. It features the HFS pickup in the neck/treble position, and the Vintage Bass pickup in the bridge/bass position. It has a 5-way blade switch and a tone and volume knob.

    UTILIZATION

    The guitar is an absolute dream to play. Every aspect of it is so perfect and so well thought out and planned for. It sounds and feels just incredible. Very sweet and quick action, awesome tones and really easy to get lost in. Really comfortable to stand or sit. Well dressed frets, comfortable bridge design, and nice shape. Really tempting to just sit and play it all day long.

    SOUNDS

    The Custom 22 absolutely sings no matter what you ask it to do. It can go from chunky bass tones to twangier treble tones and all kinds of places in between. It gets heavy too, and sounds great on hot lead tones. I even played extreme drone metal with it! Also sounds great at my local jazz club through an old Fender Twin Reverb. Really responsive to the effects and amps you use on it, and a very unique sound.

    OVERALL OPINION

    Overall I am blessed by having this guitar in my life. I got a GREAT deal on it, and I'll never give it up! It's basically my dream guitar, but then again so is everything PRS makes. If this were stolen I would track down that thief and do unspeakable things to him! This guitar is a must have everywhere and there are days where I barely even put it down.
    See less
  • MGR/GillyMGR/Gilly

    Paul Reed Smith Custom 22

    PRS Custom 22Published on 02/02/03 at 15:00
    I acquired this guitar at a Guitar Center in Villa Park, IL. The store was selling it for $1964, but since i bought two i payed $1464 for this one, and $2120 for the other, because it had bird inlays and and a flame top.

    By far the best thing about this instrument, and the factor that grabbed me, was the beautiful action and ease of playing. Licks that i could only sort of play my Strat or Les Paul came out flawlessly on the PRS' fingerboard. It is also a beautifully made instrument, and is a work of art in itself. The Dragon II pickups are produce red-hot distortion, and distinctively smooth and full clean tones.

    The only trouble with this instrument, is I don't believe the pickups prod…
    Read more
    I acquired this guitar at a Guitar Center in Villa Park, IL. The store was selling it for $1964, but since i bought two i payed $1464 for this one, and $2120 for the other, because it had bird inlays and and a flame top.

    By far the best thing about this instrument, and the factor that grabbed me, was the beautiful action and ease of playing. Licks that i could only sort of play my Strat or Les Paul came out flawlessly on the PRS' fingerboard. It is also a beautifully made instrument, and is a work of art in itself. The Dragon II pickups are produce red-hot distortion, and distinctively smooth and full clean tones.

    The only trouble with this instrument, is I don't believe the pickups produce enough twang for some styles of music, and it doesnt sound as good in low gain settings that are ideal for blues playing.

    This instrument is constructed flawlessly. It is beautiful to look at, and it feels very solid in your hands. The weight is perfect. It will only sound better with age, and will last a lifetime. The only problem I had was one of the screws that held the bass pickup to the plastic docking piece came loose soon i after i purchased the guitar. However, I tightened it, and have had no problems since.

    Overall one of the best guitars available. While versatile in it's own right, it is perhaps best suited for rock playing, leaving the jazz to a softer sounding intrument, and the blues to a twangier instrument. I would consider this guitar the best middle-ground instrument available.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/AnonymousMGR/Anonymous

    PRS Custom 22

    PRS Custom 22Published on 12/21/02 at 15:00
    I bought this guitar from guitar center for about 1700 U.S.$ new. It is by far the best guitar I have ever played. Before buying it I read all of the reviews, praising this guitar, but I remained skeptical. After playing it, I realized that it was definitly worth the price I paid and more. The sound quality is amazing and the feel of the fingerboard is great too.

    Everything. I have it in black cherry and it looks great. It is the best guitar I have ever played.

    NOTHING!!!!

    Very Good

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
  • MGR/PeteMGR/Pete

    Paul Reed Smith Custom 22

    PRS Custom 22Published on 12/12/02 at 15:00
    Richmond Music Center in Richmond VA for $2100. I was looking for my first high-end guitar for a LONG, LONG time. I was considering PRS, Gibson, Strat, etc., etc. I play a wide variety of music, so the ability to get different tones out of the guitar was very important. A friend of mine swore by PRS guitars, so I decided to focus on them. I spent several days in the shop playing all of the different types of PRS - singlecut, custom 22 vs 24, ce 22 vs 24, standard 22 vs 24. I finally came to the conclusion that I liked a set neck, as well as the Dragon II pickups featured in the 22 fret versions of many PRS models. So, I then played every Custom 22 in the shop that had a tremelo (which I ini…
    Read more
    Richmond Music Center in Richmond VA for $2100. I was looking for my first high-end guitar for a LONG, LONG time. I was considering PRS, Gibson, Strat, etc., etc. I play a wide variety of music, so the ability to get different tones out of the guitar was very important. A friend of mine swore by PRS guitars, so I decided to focus on them. I spent several days in the shop playing all of the different types of PRS - singlecut, custom 22 vs 24, ce 22 vs 24, standard 22 vs 24. I finally came to the conclusion that I liked a set neck, as well as the Dragon II pickups featured in the 22 fret versions of many PRS models. So, I then played every Custom 22 in the shop that had a tremelo (which I initially wanted), but none jumped out at me. Then, the sales guy pulled down this Custom 22 with a stop-tail. No joke, I hit one chord and knew this was "THE ONE." No question - perfect, thank you, done.

    Everything. The workmanship is amazing. In terms of sheer beauty, the guitar is perfect - natural maple top, mahogany body and neck, bird inlays, etc. In terms of tone, it is unbelievable. I am able to get a nice thick Les Paul, as well as a clean glassy Strat sound out of this guitar. It features 2 Dragon II pickups with coil tap which allows me to access the single coils. The wide fat neck is very comfortable in my hand and the new tuners that are now offered on PRS guitars are very easy to use. It is set up with 9's at the shop. I usually play with 10's, but I plan to continue with 9's on the PRS. Why mess with a good thing?

    Nothing. Some people may say price, and yes PRS guitars are expensive. However, new PRS's start at $1300 (Standard 22's), which is what you'll pay for a high-end Strat. Les Paul's will run you $2,000 and up. I'd say, dollar for dollar it is a great value because of the ability to get a large variety of tone out of one instrument.

    Absolutely amazing. No flaws.

    PRS guitars are not for everyone. However, if you are like me and enjoy playing many different styles of music, a PRS might do the trick for you. Keep in mind, PRS guitars vary from model to model, and within a model line itself, so play them ALL. You may be suprised at what you like. Ideally, get a blindfold and have the salesperson, or a friend, hand you one guitar after another. Once you find THE GUITAR, you'll know it, and you may be suprised that what you're holding isn't at all what you expected.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/TravisMGR/Travis

    Paul Reed Smith PRS Custom 22

    PRS Custom 22Published on 12/11/02 at 15:00
    I paid $1,800 for my guitar. It was used made in 1996. This model is the stop tail w/ 5-way rotary switch.

    This is sweeeeeeeeeetest sounging guitar in the world. No other guitar has the versatility and tone quiality as this guitar. I use a Mesa Triple Rectifier with it. You can imagine the tones I can get out of this. I recomend this guitar for any serious musician!!!!!!

    There is nothing that I don't like about this guitar!

    This is a handmade quilted t0 top. Esteticaly it is the most beautiful guitar I have ever seen. I own five guitars and this one takes it by far.

    I recomend that you try out all the guitars you can and research them. Then buy the one you like the best. Don't settle fo…
    Read more
    I paid $1,800 for my guitar. It was used made in 1996. This model is the stop tail w/ 5-way rotary switch.

    This is sweeeeeeeeeetest sounging guitar in the world. No other guitar has the versatility and tone quiality as this guitar. I use a Mesa Triple Rectifier with it. You can imagine the tones I can get out of this. I recomend this guitar for any serious musician!!!!!!

    There is nothing that I don't like about this guitar!

    This is a handmade quilted t0 top. Esteticaly it is the most beautiful guitar I have ever seen. I own five guitars and this one takes it by far.

    I recomend that you try out all the guitars you can and research them. Then buy the one you like the best. Don't settle for anything less than the best. You will probably regret it latter down the road.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/TravisMGR/Travis

    Paul Reed Smith Custom 22

    PRS Custom 22Published on 10/01/02 at 15:00
    I got this guitar from a store in new york. This is my pride and joy in my collection. I paid @ $1,900

    The tones that you can get out of this guitar are the best in the industry. The most versatile guitar on the market.

    NOTHING....absolutley nothing!!!!!!!!!

    The guitar is hand made. It is vitage burst, quilted top. One of the best quilted tops that I have ever seen. The best construction of a guitar that I know of. I own 5 guitars and this one by far is the best.

    A+++++++++++++++++++

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    Read more
    I got this guitar from a store in new york. This is my pride and joy in my collection. I paid @ $1,900

    The tones that you can get out of this guitar are the best in the industry. The most versatile guitar on the market.

    NOTHING....absolutley nothing!!!!!!!!!

    The guitar is hand made. It is vitage burst, quilted top. One of the best quilted tops that I have ever seen. The best construction of a guitar that I know of. I own 5 guitars and this one by far is the best.

    A+++++++++++++++++++

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/Bob WalkerMGR/Bob Walker

    Paul Reed Smith Custom 22

    PRS Custom 22Published on 12/02/01 at 15:00
    I purchased this beauty at Guitar Center (Hollywood) back in the summer of 1997. I was looking at buying a Les Paul Double Cutaway, but at the salesman's suggestion, I tried a PRS (a CE22 model). I was so impressed that I came back a week later, tried a Custom 22 that had just come in, and was convinced that I had to have it. Purchase price was $2000.00, including case and taxes.

    Buttery-smooth action, excellent playability, incredible tone. Five-position pickup selector, allowing for either single-coil or hum-bucking operation. Quick-release tuners make string changes quick. Outrageously sexy!

    The price-tag is definately not for the wallet-consious. But I am convinced...you get wh…
    Read more
    I purchased this beauty at Guitar Center (Hollywood) back in the summer of 1997. I was looking at buying a Les Paul Double Cutaway, but at the salesman's suggestion, I tried a PRS (a CE22 model). I was so impressed that I came back a week later, tried a Custom 22 that had just come in, and was convinced that I had to have it. Purchase price was $2000.00, including case and taxes.

    Buttery-smooth action, excellent playability, incredible tone. Five-position pickup selector, allowing for either single-coil or hum-bucking operation. Quick-release tuners make string changes quick. Outrageously sexy!

    The price-tag is definately not for the wallet-consious. But I am convinced...you get what you pay for when it comes to PRS.

    Mahogony back, carved maple top, rosewood fingerboard with cresent-moon inlays, wide-fat neck, one volume, one tone, and one pickup selector.
    This guitar simply radiates quality. Every aspect of it's construction leaves no questions about the integrity of the individuals that created it. Just pick one up, plug it in, and enjoy. (careful...you may not want to put it down)

    In a nutshell, you can't go wrong with this guitar. There hasn't been a single day since the purchase that I have regretted buying it. I have let several people play it, and the looks on those faces says it all. PRS Rocks!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/Steve TracyMGR/Steve Tracy

    Paul Reed Smith Custom 22

    PRS Custom 22Published on 11/27/01 at 15:00
    This was a case of being in the right place at the right time. The guitar was on sale by Tokyo's main PRS dealer as a "slightly damaged demonstration model", after the recent Japan Musical Instrument Festival. The"slight damage"amounted to two small nicks in the finish where it had been repeatedly taken on & off the stands, otherwise it was perfect, with a 3 month old manufacture date,and a 40% price reduction! How could I resist it,especially seeing it had the"Artist Package" cosmetic upgrades.(better top, gold hardware etc). I paid 360000yen for it, which roughly converts to US$2950.

    The wide,thin neck is wonderful! Probably the finest I've ever played, or likely to play. Marvellous low…
    Read more
    This was a case of being in the right place at the right time. The guitar was on sale by Tokyo's main PRS dealer as a "slightly damaged demonstration model", after the recent Japan Musical Instrument Festival. The"slight damage"amounted to two small nicks in the finish where it had been repeatedly taken on & off the stands, otherwise it was perfect, with a 3 month old manufacture date,and a 40% price reduction! How could I resist it,especially seeing it had the"Artist Package" cosmetic upgrades.(better top, gold hardware etc). I paid 360000yen for it, which roughly converts to US$2950.

    The wide,thin neck is wonderful! Probably the finest I've ever played, or likely to play. Marvellous low,fast action. Through Soldano's Astroverb 16 amp, this instrument sounds incredibly warm,especially through the bridge pickup. The P/U's on this model are PRS Dragon II's,and although I'd never had any past experience with them, I've grown to love their sound very quickly. Although others have said that they dislike the rotary p/u selector, I for one like it. It's very positive,and noise free,and its wiring configuration gives the guitar a very wide range of tones.It responds very well to delicate finger-style as well as the usual over-driven tones many players desire. Even standard PRS models are beautiful instruments, but with this AAA+ top, gold hardware and a deep amber finish, it takes my breath away just standing in the corner! I love it, and that's saying something after 36 years of playing, and trying just about everything on the market! It's everything the Les Paul aspires to be, only better.

    The tuners are a bit fiddly, but I think it's just a matter of getting used to them. After all, my other guitar is a Parker Fly, and it uses the best(and quickest) tuners of all. Sperzel locking-type. Perhaps my only concern is the durability of the gold hardware. It looks gorgeous at the moment, but it hasn't been exposed to the elements for any length of time as yet. I guess only time will tell.

    Construction can be summed up in two words. QUALITY and STRENGTH. It's built to last, and put together flawlessly. These guys know their stuff! The Holy Grail as far as I'm concerned. BLOODY MARVELLOUS!

    If you really want one, and can afford it, it's everything you expect it to be.Great sound, a high level of playability, and a work of art all rolled into one.Say no more!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • tjon901tjon901

    One of the few lefty PRS guitars

    PRS Custom 22Published on 12/28/11 at 08:48
    PRS is one of the most respected guitar makers in the industry now but they do not make many lefty guitars. This year they did a limited run of Custom 22's in lefty which all sold for about 3000 bucks. I got to try one out as I could never afford one and I have played other PRS guitars and wanted to compare what a lefty one would be like. These guitars are basic PRS guitars just lefty. The body is made out of mahogany with a maple top. The set neck is the pattern normal or wide fat profile with 22 frets and the old bird inlays. Up top you get the fancy PRS Phase 3 locking tuners and the bridge is the PRS wraparound bridge. The pickup are uncovered PRS pickups and the controls are basic with…
    Read more
    PRS is one of the most respected guitar makers in the industry now but they do not make many lefty guitars. This year they did a limited run of Custom 22's in lefty which all sold for about 3000 bucks. I got to try one out as I could never afford one and I have played other PRS guitars and wanted to compare what a lefty one would be like. These guitars are basic PRS guitars just lefty. The body is made out of mahogany with a maple top. The set neck is the pattern normal or wide fat profile with 22 frets and the old bird inlays. Up top you get the fancy PRS Phase 3 locking tuners and the bridge is the PRS wraparound bridge. The pickup are uncovered PRS pickups and the controls are basic with a volume and tone with a 3 way switch. The tone control has a pull pull function for coil splitting. The finish on this example was a 10 top orange flame type of finish.

    UTILIZATION

    The factory setup on these PRS guitars are wonderful. The wide fat neck has a really traditional feel to it. It is not uncomfortable to play but it just fills your hand in a right way. The 25 inch PRS scale gives you a good balance between tension and comfort. The locking tuners are great and are PRS's own design. They limit the slip so they are even more locking than most tuners. The Wraparound bridge in most guitars is a sign that the guitar is cheap and will never be in tune but on PRS they have made it work over the years. It is compensated for intonation and as long as you dont do any radical tunings it will be fine. They also make a fine tuner Wraparound bridge that you can retrofit to your guitar if you really need the adjustments.

    SOUNDS

    This guitar has some of the classy PRS pickups in it. The bridge has a great classic rock crunch to it but when you are playing single note lines it is nice and smooth with just a bit of bite. The clean tones are equally smooth. The bridge pickup in this guitar is smoother than most guitars neck pickups. The neck pickup is like butter on this guitar dirty or clean. These are like exaggerated PAFs in terms of smoothness. They have a really modern voicing to them.

    OVERALL OPINION

    I wouldnt be surprised if this is the last line of lefties they do for a while. The fact that they are using the old bird inlays makes me think that these necks were old and they wanted to finally get rid of them. So this might be a back handed favor for lefties. Them putting a run of PRS lefty guitars just to get all the lefties on to them so they can go nope all done. I hope they make this a yearly or every couple year thing but I really doubt it. PRS knows what makes them money and im afriad it isnt making lefties. If you are a lefty and have been waiting for a PRS here is possibly your last chance to pick one up.
    See less
cookies
We are using cookies!

Yes, Audiofanzine is using cookies. Since the last thing that we want is disturbing your diet with too much fat or too much sugar, you'll be glad to learn that we made them ourselves with fresh, organic and fair ingredients, and with a perfect nutritional balance. What this means is that the data we store in them is used to enhance your use of our website as well as improve your user experience on our pages (learn more). To configure your cookie preferences, click here.

We did not wait for a law to make us respect our members and visitors' privacy. The cookies that we use are only meant to improve your experience on our website.

Our cookies
Cookies not subject to consent
These are cookies that guarantee the proper functioning of Audiofanzine and allow its optimization. The website cannot function properly without these cookies. Example: cookies that help you stay logged in from page to page or that help customizing your usage of the website (dark mode or filters).
Google Analytics
We are using Google Analytics in order to better understand the use that our visitors make of our website in an attempt to improve it.
Advertising
This information allows us to show you personalized advertisements thanks to which Audiofanzine is financed. By unchecking this box you will still have advertisements but they may be less interesting :) We are using Google Ad Manager to display part of our ads, or tools integrated to our own CMS for the rest.

We did not wait for a law to make us respect our members and visitors' privacy. The cookies that we use are only meant to improve your experience on our website.

Our cookies
Cookies not subject to consent

These are cookies that guarantee the proper functioning of Audiofanzine. The website cannot function properly without these cookies. Examples: cookies that help you stay logged in from page to page or that help customizing your usage of the website (dark mode or filters).

Google Analytics

We are using Google Analytics in order to better understand the use that our visitors make of our website in an attempt to improve it. When this parameter is activated, no personal information is sent to Google and the IP addresses are anonymized.

Advertising

This information allows us to show you personalized advertisements thanks to which Audiofanzine is financed. By unchecking this box you will still have advertisements but they may be less interesting :) We are using Google Ad Manager to display part of our ads, or tools integrated to our own CMS for the rest.


You can find more details on data protection in our privacy policy.
You can also find information about how Google uses personal data by following this link.