Ibanez RG220
+
Ibanez RG220
Price engine
Classified Ads
Forums

All user reviews for the Ibanez RG220

  • Like
  • Tweet
  • Submit
Average Score:4.1( 4.1/5 based on 12 reviews )
 2 reviews17 %
 9 reviews75 %
 1 user review8 %
FateFelledVictim09/27/2008

FateFelledVictim's review

Ibanez RG220
This guitar was made in Japan, and is a good guitar for a beginner. It has 22 medium size frets, which could be a little bigger, but I am used to playing Bass. It has a single tone control and a single volume control, and a switch to interchange between the two Powersound pick ups.

UTILIZATION

The neck is nice and thin, which allows fast variation between frets, but feels durable. The frets are all accessible, as this one allows the same access to the frets as Fenders and Schecter. The weight of the guitar is the issue, as t is heavy for being such a little guy, but other than that, I have no issues. The sound on a clean setting is to die for, while distortion still holds a great crunch. It all depends on what your other equipment is to get a good sound, but played through a Fender amp, this is amazing sounding.

SOUNDS

It suits almost any style of music, as me and my band play jazz to metal, but the guitar is slightly more suitable for rock. I play it through a Fender tube amp with built in distotion, and it is amazing. I use some chorus, overdrive and distortion, but still use a clean sound now and then. The guitar sounds best with a clean chorus or distorted chorus, but doesn't sound too good with a flanger, but then again, I don't like flangers.

OVERALL OPINION

I have been using this about a year, and the guitars best attribute is the neck. The only negative part is that the jack wears out and needs to be replaced and that it is heavy. This is far better than the Fender Squire Strats and other cheap guitars, and for the price, is a very versatile guitar. Overall, I would buy it again.
MGR/Metalmilitia30611/20/2005

MGR/Metalmilitia306's review"Ibanez RG 220"

Ibanez RG220
i have been playing guitar for a year and a half. i enjoy playing heavy meatal,thrash.hardcore,etc. i am currently in a band and i am the rhythm/lead guitar our othe guitarist does the same (we do the switch off leading roll)

i bought this guitar at guitar center for $190 brand new and i bought this guitar because i wanted a thin neck,24 frets,and a floyd rose tremolo,with the sweetness of an RG body

i really like the fact that it makes solos ALOT easier to play and it is very very comfortable. pickups sound pretty good not the best but they dont suck. also very good quality and easy access to 24th fret great for playing metal

what i dont like about this guitar is that it took a really long time to learn how to tune it but that a big problem for most guitars with floating tremolo bridges other than that this baby is exellent

GREAT QUALITY no questions asked

well this guitar is one of the best guitars ive evey played so if you want to get a good guitar for a good price get the Ibanez RG Any model

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Blackened10/03/2004

MGR/Blackened's review"Ibanez RG220B"

Ibanez RG220
I got for 299.99 +TAX brand new, at a local Guitar Center one year ago. When I got it I did not know much about guitars. I just thought it looked cool because it was black and I said "hey Korn uses Ibanez guitars, so they must be good". But now I have a different opinion.

I like how the neck feels, It's a bolt-on neck but the body has been smoothed down where it's bolted down from, so it doesn't stick out and get in the way like a strat.

Well let's see. I hate the tremolo on this guitar. I was just about to try out some new heavy gauge strings for the first time on this guitar, and the low-E string saddle broke! So I had to wait about three weeks for guitar center to send it out on warrenty for repair. The repair was free but I had to wait almost a month with my dad's guitar as a back-up. The trem's saddle screws strip easy and it's a BITCH to re-string and tune with heavy gauge strings! The sound isn't all that great. If you're looking for the METALLICA sound you won't find it with this guitar. Even after changing the stock humbuckers to emg hz's, it still doesn't sound right to me. My friend's Jackson JS1 (which cost less) sounds more like metallica then mine.

The neck and body is fine. Very comfertable very easy to play, I have no troble hitting those high notes. It's the sound and trem that I don't like.The trem can be fixed but I don't feel like spending anymore money on this guitar to get the sound I want.

The bottom line is that it is still a great guitar. It'll fit you fine if your into Satriani or new metal. So if you still want it, buy it and rock out with your cock out!

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Stephen S07/18/2004

MGR/Stephen S's review"Ibanez RG220"

Ibanez RG220
I bought this guitar at The Guitar Center in Lawndale, CA. I've been studying for about 7 months now and wanted to finally get an electric. I didn't want to get a $100 P.O.S that I would have to replace after a year or so. After reading reviews, I decided on Ibanez. When all was said and done I paid about $325.

I tried a Jackson and a Fender (can't remember the models) for about the same price and the Ibenez had much better sound quality. Stringing is a little harder than most, but you get used to it. Once you get it tuned just right, lock them down and you won't have to bother with tuning too much. The neck feels great...which is good for beginners like me who are working through scales and chords.

About the only thing I really didn't like about this guitar is Ibenez's quality control. I literally went through 4 RG220's before I got one that worked. 2 out of 3 of the ones I got had defective tone controls. One had something wrong with the neck adjustment...E and A kept buzzing, even though I raised the action almost to the point that it seemed that the adjustment screw would come out.

Construction seems pretty well put together. Nice color also. I bought the dark blue 220 and it has a great finish.

If you know what to defects to look for, you shouldn't have any problems. This is a great guitar for the price. When buying....do yourself a favor and check that the tone adjustment works.....you probably won't use it much, but Hell,if you ask me....if it's there, I want it to work! :)

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Steven H.07/17/2004

MGR/Steven H.'s review"Ibanez RG220"

Ibanez RG220
I BOUGHT MY IBANEZ RG220 AT A GUITAR CENTER ,CLOSE TO WHERE I LIVE. I WENT IN WANTING A JACKSON OR A SCHECTER, BUT ONCE I PICKED THE IBANEZ UP, I WANTED IT. I PAID $320 FOR IT. IT SAID $299, BUT THE TAXES MIGHT GET YOU. IT ORIGINALLY PRICED AT $675, BUT I GOT A GOOD DEAL ON IT.

I LOVE THE FAST ACTION PLAYABILITY ON IT. I CAN MOVE MY FINGERS SO MUCH FASTER ON IT, THAN MY EPIPHONE AND FENDER. IT HAS A VERY CLEAN DISTORTION SOUND INSTEAD OF A FUZZY SOUND. I ALSO LIKE THE COLOR TOO. IT IS A METALLIC LAVENDER.

I'M NOT TO CRAZY ABOUT THE LOCK ON THE NECK OR THE STRINGING UP THE GUITAR. THE TREMELO IS A LITTLE OUT OF WHACK.I WOULD PROBABLY HAVE IT A DIFFERENT WAY. I'M NOT USED TO THE STYLE, BUT I"LL GET IT EVENTUALLY.

THE NECK IS THIN WHICH ENABLES YOU TO PLAY QUICKER AND EASIER IN MY OPINION. THE TWO TWIN HUMBUCKERS GIVE IT A VERY GOOD SOUND.IT HAS A CLEAN SOUND WITHOUT DISTORTION AND YOU CAN GET IT TO WHERE IT HAS A VERY HEAVY SOUND.

IT IS A VERY GOOD GUITAR FOR ANY PLAYER, PRO OR BEGINNER. A BEGINNER MIGHT HAVE TROUBLE WITH THE LOCK AND THE UNIQUE WAY OF STRINGING IT UP, BUT YOU'LL GET USED TO IT AFTER A WHILE. IT IS A GREAT BRAND, I THINK IBANEZ IS A TOP NOTCH GUITAR AND MANUFACTURER. THEY MAKE GUITARS WITH SOME OF THE BEST QUALITY AROUND. I'VE BEEN PLAYING FOR 4 AND A HALF YEARS AND I FINALLY GOT AN IBANEZ THE OTHER DAY. I WOULD RECOMEND THIS GUITAR TO ANY GUITAR PLAYER.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Anonymous10/17/2003

MGR/Anonymous's review"Ibanez RG220"

Ibanez RG220
I BOUGHT THIS GUITAR AT GUITAR CENTER FOR $299 PLUS TAX

I LOVE THE NECK,JUMBO FRETS,FLOYD ROSE!

I DONT LIKE THE PICKUPS IN THIS GUITAR,HERE IT IS IBANEZ BUILDS THESE GREAT GUITARS CHEAP,THE TWO MAIN REASONS Y R THEY R BUILT OVER SEAS AND THEY PUT CHEAP PICKUPS IN IT CAUSE MOST PEOPLE THAT BUY AN IBANEZ PUT THERE OWN FAV PICKUPS IN IT WHICH I DID I.E. EMG 81'S

THE QUALITY AND CONSTRUCTION OF THIS GUIATR IS PERFECT NO FLAWS AT ALL

BOTTOM LINE BUY THIS GUITAR TAKE OUT THE PICKUPS AND PUT A HIGH QUALITY PICKUP IN THIS GUITAR AND U WILL HAVE AN AWESOME GUITAR FOR ABOUT $400 PUT THE EMG 81 IN IT AT THE BRIDGE TURN YOUR AMP UP LOUD IGNITE YOUR BOSS METAL ZONE PEDAL AND PREPARE FOR SOME ASS KICKING TONES!O BY THE WAY I ALSO OWN A GIBSON LES PAUL WHICH IS A AWESOME GUITAR BUT IF U WANT TO ROCK THE WORLD DO WHAT I JUST TOLD U!

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Bad Bob08/28/2003

MGR/Bad Bob's review"Ibanez RG 220"

Ibanez RG220
I purchased this guitar from a local music store for $150 and some other equipment I traded in. It would have cost $299 to purchase outright. I wanted to try a guitar with a Wizard II 24 fret neck, and a Floyd Rose Trem.

Solid construction. This puppy is built well, except for the input jack which kept loosening. Just add a lockwasher and a little clear nail polish and fix that joke.
The all-access neck is nice to hit those really high notes. The Wizard II neck is great but since it is flatter, it seems to chord differently(harder)from a standard neck...it takes some getting used to. For scorching riffs it excels though. Also, you can set the action way low without a lot of buzz. Great for speed...but don't try classical !!!
The guitar looks and feels great, maybe a tad heavy, but you can work with that as long as you don't do a really long session.
The Floyd Rose wails, and seems to stay in tune pretty well with only some rare tweaking of the fine tuning screws to keep her in tune. Holds tune better than many other guitars I have had.

The pickups are pretty bad. The neck pickup is semi useable, but kinda muddy. The bridge pickup is way to bright on the high strings. For high cords like Rush plays, or Buck Dharma of BOC...it sounds sweet and very bright, but for riffs and individual notes it sounds overdone...too bright.
Also, maybe it's just me, but the strings lockers on the nut seems to get in the way on 1st fret open cords.

Ibanez builds some good stuff. The guitar can take a pounding and come back for more. The phrase "built like a Sherman Tank" is very suitable for this guitar.
The finish is flawless, and the design snugs your body well.
I cannot think of any way to improve it, other than a better design for the input jack.

A great guitar for a person who wants speed and riffs. For a beginner who is learning chords and wants to strum some basic songs...this model ain't for you.
This is a "rocker only" guitar, built for blazing riffs and metal music, she don't do country ballads very well !!!
The pickups don't sound great for clean music, with the exception of really high, bright chords. They work better with distortion...aka...metal.


This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Dan Meyers03/21/2003

MGR/Dan Meyers's review"Ibanez RG220"

Ibanez RG220
I bought this badboy at Guitar Center in MD for $280. I was lookin at Jacksons but they were a bit too pricey for me.

I absolutly love the neck on this guitar, super low action makes for fret melting speed. The humbuckers could be better but they are still better than single coils for distortion.

The trem feels too woobly and lose and it takes time to change strings with the lockin but, but ill get used to it

Well the fretboard is rosewood with i think maple neck. And im not sure of the body, but the cutaway makes for easy acess to the 24th fret.

Its great for beginers or for advanced guitar players, but a true pro might opt for the expensive ESP or Jackson guitars.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Samir Malla01/04/2003

MGR/Samir Malla's review"Ibanez RG220 (Black)"

Ibanez RG220
I bought this guitar for $199, at the Guitar Center in Ventura Blvd in California past summer(2002); it was on for sale. I saved some money for my partime summer job to buy it.
I've always wanted an Ibanez guitar especially Ibanez JS signature series guitar; it's bit expensive but i'm saving up for it. Ibanez has the best sound and tone quality that other brand guitars, which i think is the most important factor to look for in an instrument for any player. I listened to whole bunch of artits but the standing out sounds were those of like the likes of Satriani and Vai. Both of them uses their own signature series guitars JS series and the Jem Series. If you listen to them, you know what i'm talking about; Satriani is a master at tone and Vai is just simply awesome.

Well, i like the sound and the tone of my guitar. It has 24 frets, so it has higher reach on the pitches for soloing. And the best part is that the high pitches doesn't choke while playing clean. The two humbuker pickups provieds for three different tone color for it and also a tone knob to vary the tone at the same pickup setting. The voulme knob and the tone knob are that as the same as the JS series i.e it does not have numbering on the knobs and is smooth while rotating which I like, especially when i have to change the volume or the tone while playing. Playing clean you think is good in this guitar, but wiat until you plug in a boss DS1 pedal with a bad horsie 2 wah pedal;it's simply awesome.
The boss DS1 pedal, when it's switches are 1 o'clock, 4 o'clock and 5 o'clock and you hit artificial harmonics while soloing, just sounds great, just like the harmonics you hear in the playing of Satriani. Also, it has a whammy bar to give you those wierd sounds of Vai's and Hendrix's.


Well only thing i didn't like about my guitar is that the whammy bar i got did not hold its position. When i'm playing and use whammy bar, after couple of time the screw becomes loose. Other than that I think my guitar is pretty good.

Well since my guitar is a RG series guitar, it has typical RG series light rosewood body; makes it easier to play long periods. It has 24 frets and neck I think is a wizard neck. The whammy bar is a Floyd Rose licensed doulbe locking tremlo. There are two humbuckers and I think they are Di marzio pickups. It has killer looks, black all the way except for the back of the neck and cutting edges.

Overall, I would recommend Ibnanez RG series guitars to anyone, who may be just a beginer or a professional player, to lay their hand on it feel the feel of good sound and tone. With its cool looks and cuttin edges, i will gurantee that any one would be dissapointed with its performance.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Yimpy01/04/2003

MGR/Yimpy's review"Ibanez RG220B"

Ibanez RG220
I bought this unit used from an ad in the paper, in the LA area. I had played Ibanez guitars in shops and was impressed by the sound and fast action, and the feel of the neck. I paid $180.

The action is superb for a guitar in this price range...no make that in ANY price range. It also has a string locking nut and tuning screws at the bridge.

This Ibanez model is a tad heavy but I don't mind that very much. Others might have a problem with that. If you play with the heel of your hand on the bridge, carefully consider that this guitar has a Floyd Rose tremelo that is very sensitive. However, it can therefore scream when you use the arm AND bend the notes!

This guitar is very solid. It has a bolted neck that has a very smooth finish. Once you set it up properly, you can play the entire fretboard (24 frets) without any buzzing.

The Ibanez RG220B is great guitar in it's class. It's an excellent starter guitar or intermediate, has a distinctive sound with it's dual humbuckers, and can give you an edge if you learn to master the Floyd Rose tremelo. It's staying in my stable of preferred guitars.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com