Create an account

or

Thread setting up home studio

• 3 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 0 follower
Topic setting up home studio
hi all

i'm a newbie from australia first timing on this board, hopefully will be frequenting it a little more in the future though.

i'm currently at the planning stage of my home studio - reasearching, seeking advice, visiting my local music shop (a valid reason this time, not just to go in and talk/play guitars)..

proposed studio
with my computer (p4 2.6, 1GB RAM) and some advice i've been given, i'm looking at building with the following:
STAudio 8 channel C-Port
1 Rhode NTK Vocal Mic
2 Rhode NT5 Condenser Mics
1 AKG D112 Mic
A set of Yorkville Monitors

current set up
to date i've spent very little on recording equipment:
1 AKG 880 mic
1 Shure PG57 mic
1 Behringer XM2000S Mic
Tascam 414 4-track tape recorder

the way i have it set up at the moment is to run the mics into the 414 then run the line-out into the line-in on my PC, seems to work ok. once i have an ok sound out of the 4 track i record on the PC.. i'm monitoring the sound from a pair akg headphones attached to the PC. i'm recording using Cool Edit Pro, doing some mastering/cleaning up with WaveLab 4.

for years i have been mucking around with the 4 track on a tape only basis more often than not with very cheap mics. for the last 12 months or so i've been making the transition from tape->pc. but dont get me wrong, the 414 is still a handy little unit.

Now it's PC all the way and I'm wanting to expand what I've got, what i'm doing and how i'm doing it.

i joined this forum to listen to what other people are doing and hopefully learn some more tips/tricks on recording. so if anyone has any advice to give on planning a home studio i'm all ears! :)
Hi brendonpyers,

Nice stack on your photo ;-)