or
Create an account

or

Thread mac or pc

• 7 replies
  • 6 participants
  • 0 follower
1 mac or pc
I am in the planning stages of building a home studio. I should emphisize that I am a beginner. I think that I have decided on pro tools, but will be purchasing a computer soon. I have not yet heard from people who do serious audio production from home. So could someone help? I have heard that Mac is the industry standard. I have also read stories of people who had lots of problems with there mac. Plus some who had nothing bad to say. Some of those people are in video, however. What are the key reasons why I should choose a Mac over a PC. Both will work and most PC's cost less. Any sound advice will be much appreciated.

Jason
With Protools there really isnt much difference between Mac and PC, a well built PC can be as stable as a mac easily.

However i will say that if you go down the PC road you will not be able to use Logic Audio 6, which is also another industry 'standard' and an amazing program for writing and producing midi based music. Protools can be a little restrictive on the midi front, as it will not natively run VST instrument plugins etc.

Really does depend what you intend to produce.
Hello there, Jason

My name is Martin Nielsen. I own a professional home based recording studio called Airborne Productions. We use a dedicated PC 2.5 Intel with 1 Gb ram on which I run Logic Audio Platinum 5.5 on windows XP. We can run 75 to 85 tracks simultaneously depending on the amount of plugins we need.

I must agree with iMx! What do you plan to work with; do you mainly work with midi or audio?