Become a member
Become a member

or
Continue with Google
Log in
Log in

or
Log in using a Google account
Add this product to
  • Mon ancien matos
  • My current gear
  • My wishlist
Taylor BIG BABY 307
Images
1/62

All user reviews for the Taylor BIG BABY 307

Price engine
Classified Ads
Forums
Filter
Keywords
Average Score:
( 4.7/5 based on 13 reviews )
10 reviews
77 %
2 reviews
15 %
1 review
8 %
Write a user review
Value For Money : Excellent
Users reviews
  • MGR/Larry DeBoyMGR/Larry DeBoy

    Taylor Big Baby

    Taylor BIG BABY 307Published on 08/18/04 at 15:00
    I paid 350.00 at The Guitar center in buffalo after trying many much more expensive guitars.

    This acoustic is different from all others, in that there are no frills,decorations, or special finishes. the neck is screwed to the body, but what a neck! bone straight, with very low string hight, and very easy to play. high quality tuning machines compliment this neck and the guitar seems to stay in tune. Intonation is perfect, and all frets accuratly placed.
    this guitar has a big sound,and won out over many more expensive guitars.

    there is nothing I don`t like about this axe.

    the body has little internal bracing, except where thr neck is screwed on,and has no inlays

    this guitar would be…
    Read more
    I paid 350.00 at The Guitar center in buffalo after trying many much more expensive guitars.

    This acoustic is different from all others, in that there are no frills,decorations, or special finishes. the neck is screwed to the body, but what a neck! bone straight, with very low string hight, and very easy to play. high quality tuning machines compliment this neck and the guitar seems to stay in tune. Intonation is perfect, and all frets accuratly placed.
    this guitar has a big sound,and won out over many more expensive guitars.

    there is nothing I don`t like about this axe.

    the body has little internal bracing, except where thr neck is screwed on,and has no inlays

    this guitar would be a great begginer, because of the ease of playability, but it also sounds bright and calls you to play it

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/Greg HowardMGR/Greg Howard

    Taylor Big Baby

    Taylor BIG BABY 307Published on 08/16/04 at 15:00
    I recently purchased my big baby from Oklahoma Vintage Guitar Shop. I read reviews and like what I saw. I paid $379.00 with a Taylor gig bag.

    The action is low and very easy to play. I like the Taylor quality and name. The sound is that of a full size flat top. I own several very good name flat tops and this guitar is right up there with them.

    I have not found anything yet.

    The construction is clean and solid, however it is a light guitar. No messy glue drips and the bracing seems sound. Mine is a natural finsish, my first one, so I will get used to it.

    The guitar seems to be well worth the price and plays as if it costs double the list. It has true Taylor quality... Very Pleased

    This…
    Read more
    I recently purchased my big baby from Oklahoma Vintage Guitar Shop. I read reviews and like what I saw. I paid $379.00 with a Taylor gig bag.

    The action is low and very easy to play. I like the Taylor quality and name. The sound is that of a full size flat top. I own several very good name flat tops and this guitar is right up there with them.

    I have not found anything yet.

    The construction is clean and solid, however it is a light guitar. No messy glue drips and the bracing seems sound. Mine is a natural finsish, my first one, so I will get used to it.

    The guitar seems to be well worth the price and plays as if it costs double the list. It has true Taylor quality... Very Pleased

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/Daniel hudsonMGR/Daniel hudson

    Taylor Big Baby

    Taylor BIG BABY 307Published on 06/29/04 at 15:00
    I sold a 1973 Gibson J-40, when I came on hard times five years ago, shortly after I had gotten married.. Who hasn't, right?
    Anyways, I was out of playing for about 3 years, until I went to Guitar Center in Little Rock, Ar.
    I had played the Big Baby in Hot Springs in 2000, but could not afford the $450.00 price tag at the time..
    I found a Big Baby that I really liked and the price was right, at $300.00..
    I told you about the Gibson, because as far as I am concerned, I would buy a Big Baby again, before I bought a Gibson.. It is quite simply the best guitar I have ever owned.. Thanks Guitar Center!!

    It is light weight, and at 15/16 scale, slightly smaller than a full size dreadnaught, …
    Read more
    I sold a 1973 Gibson J-40, when I came on hard times five years ago, shortly after I had gotten married.. Who hasn't, right?
    Anyways, I was out of playing for about 3 years, until I went to Guitar Center in Little Rock, Ar.
    I had played the Big Baby in Hot Springs in 2000, but could not afford the $450.00 price tag at the time..
    I found a Big Baby that I really liked and the price was right, at $300.00..
    I told you about the Gibson, because as far as I am concerned, I would buy a Big Baby again, before I bought a Gibson.. It is quite simply the best guitar I have ever owned.. Thanks Guitar Center!!

    It is light weight, and at 15/16 scale, slightly smaller than a full size dreadnaught, yet its voice will knock your socks off!

    I can't say I have any dislikes about the Big Baby Taylor.. It is probably the last guitar I will ever purchase for myself

    I am unsure of the construction except for the Spruce top, and ebony finger board.. I am not into that type of thing.. Let's leave that to the Luthier's!

    I am looking for a Baby Taylor to teach my 17 month old son how to play, in the next few years.. I love Taylor!!!!!!!!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/Derek MokMGR/Derek Mok

    Taylor Big Baby

    Taylor BIG BABY 307Published on 02/17/04 at 15:00
    Played this guitar for half an hour at Sam Ash on Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood. It was selling for around $350.

    Lots of sparkle in the sound, and playability, as on almost all Taylors, is superb. The feel of this guitar against the body and on the left hand is fantastic, and you can barely notice that it's built on a smaller scale, unless you're weaned on unusually large-bodied guitars like Guilds, larger Gibsons, or Ovations.

    Not much, really. The Big Baby isn't that great for dirty blues and hard playing which requires a booming bottom end, but in an acoustic I've always preferred clarity and sparkle over bass thud anyway. There is also the matter that this guitar, though light, is…
    Read more
    Played this guitar for half an hour at Sam Ash on Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood. It was selling for around $350.

    Lots of sparkle in the sound, and playability, as on almost all Taylors, is superb. The feel of this guitar against the body and on the left hand is fantastic, and you can barely notice that it's built on a smaller scale, unless you're weaned on unusually large-bodied guitars like Guilds, larger Gibsons, or Ovations.

    Not much, really. The Big Baby isn't that great for dirty blues and hard playing which requires a booming bottom end, but in an acoustic I've always preferred clarity and sparkle over bass thud anyway. There is also the matter that this guitar, though light, is not that small size-wise and may be in an uncomfortable middle ground between true travel guitar and full-sized instrument.

    Wonderful. Taylor scores big on the Baby series in this department.

    The Baby Taylor and the Big Baby always invite me to sit down and play them when I see them in a store, and they are instantly welcome in feel. The Big Baby has the edge in sound and feel, but you may prefer the Baby for its further reduced size. Either way, these are the best travel acoustics I've played, both in sound and feel.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/PAJimMGR/PAJim

    Taylor Big Baby 307GB

    Taylor BIG BABY 307Published on 01/18/04 at 15:00
    I work late a lot, and sometimes need some inspiration. I thought a smaller guitar for the office was in order. After nearly buying this guitar model, used, on ebay several times, I stopped by Dave Philips Music and Sound in NJ, and found it for less than most of the auctions I've seen...$289.

    It's Taylor-made, great customer service, and all that. It also comes with a nice, padded gig bag. The guitar is nice looking with an arched back for better projection.

    It's very light, and the construction uses a bolt-on neck, which is obvious when you see the bolts through one of the lower frets. The bolt-on does give you better access to high frets, as there's no need for a "shoulder". The …
    Read more
    I work late a lot, and sometimes need some inspiration. I thought a smaller guitar for the office was in order. After nearly buying this guitar model, used, on ebay several times, I stopped by Dave Philips Music and Sound in NJ, and found it for less than most of the auctions I've seen...$289.

    It's Taylor-made, great customer service, and all that. It also comes with a nice, padded gig bag. The guitar is nice looking with an arched back for better projection.

    It's very light, and the construction uses a bolt-on neck, which is obvious when you see the bolts through one of the lower frets. The bolt-on does give you better access to high frets, as there's no need for a "shoulder". The strings on all the models I played in the store were set very high for my liking. I chose one that was not on display and had never been played, but ended up lowering the bridge to bring the strings down.

    Good construction, although very light. No frills design, but what you would expect for under $300

    It's nice to say I own a Taylor (without mentioning the model), but if I had to do it again, I would save a few more bucks for a better office guitar.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/CENTERMGR/CENTER

    Taylor Big Baby

    Taylor BIG BABY 307Published on 12/11/03 at 15:00
    I purchased this on an impulse from a respected music store on the East Coast. I went in for some replacement strings for another guitar I have. While I waited to be helped, I went into the "music room" & picked up the Taylor Big Baby Acoustic Guitar & started to play. Well, I was immediately hooked!

    This is a light weight guitar with a beautiful spruce top & rosewood neck. The action is perfect for the beginner (someone I am teaching) or the advanced player (me).

    There is NOTHING I do not like about the Taylor Big Baby. I owne 4 guitars, two handmade & this has become my favorite.

    Light weight. Beautiful solid wood (Spruce) construction. Steel heads, easy to tune. Great action.

    I am s…
    Read more
    I purchased this on an impulse from a respected music store on the East Coast. I went in for some replacement strings for another guitar I have. While I waited to be helped, I went into the "music room" & picked up the Taylor Big Baby Acoustic Guitar & started to play. Well, I was immediately hooked!

    This is a light weight guitar with a beautiful spruce top & rosewood neck. The action is perfect for the beginner (someone I am teaching) or the advanced player (me).

    There is NOTHING I do not like about the Taylor Big Baby. I owne 4 guitars, two handmade & this has become my favorite.

    Light weight. Beautiful solid wood (Spruce) construction. Steel heads, easy to tune. Great action.

    I am sooooo glad I went in to purchase replacement strings. I purchased this guitar on sale for $300 (worth twice the price)& the store threw in Taylor padded case at no charge!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/Don MGR/Don

    Taylor Big Baby

    Taylor BIG BABY 307Published on 12/08/03 at 15:00
    I was looking to purchase a mohogany baby M by taylor but the music store has them on back order. The sells person showed me a Big Baby that was used and in my price range! I paid $250.00 for the Big Baby. The guitar has very few scraches on top and one ding on the headstock hardly noticable!

    The Tone of the Bib baby was certainly better than the 110 ( Could be because they just put new strings on it )or the other Baby Taylor's They had at the Store. It's Size is 15/16 dreadnought is very comfortable to hold and the action is very low and easy to fingerpick or strum, So Its very easy to kick back on the couch with.

    So far The only thing I Dislike about the Big Baby is the Same thing wit…
    Read more
    I was looking to purchase a mohogany baby M by taylor but the music store has them on back order. The sells person showed me a Big Baby that was used and in my price range! I paid $250.00 for the Big Baby. The guitar has very few scraches on top and one ding on the headstock hardly noticable!

    The Tone of the Bib baby was certainly better than the 110 ( Could be because they just put new strings on it )or the other Baby Taylor's They had at the Store. It's Size is 15/16 dreadnought is very comfortable to hold and the action is very low and easy to fingerpick or strum, So Its very easy to kick back on the couch with.

    So far The only thing I Dislike about the Big Baby is the Same thing with the Baby Taylor The Necks are Bolted on and The Bolts show! But seems to be very Sturdy!

    The Big Baby is a 15/16 Dreadnought with a solid spruce top with Sapelle laminate Back and Sides with Satin finish throughout. The nut width is 1 11/16 inch. It also has Truss rod to easily adjust height To desired action.

    If this guitar was lost or stolen I would replace it in a heartbeat! I have a 214 Taylor that I keep right next to the Big Baby and Find myself playing The Big Baby just as much if not more than my 214. Both Guitars have the same feel and size on the Neck. So Switching Back and forth doesn't seem to be a problem! I Bought this for a travel guitar and it comes with a very well padded gig bag. So What are you waiting for Go Get one Now!!!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/JB DanielsMGR/JB Daniels

    Taylor 307GB Big Baby

    Taylor BIG BABY 307Published on 10/31/03 at 15:00
    I was guitar shopping for a friend who was just starting guitar. His wife, who was going to surprise him with it for his birthday accompanied me to the music store (Guitar Center, Spokane, WA). After trying out several guitars, I was floored by how great this thing sounds and plays. I liked it so much that we walked out of the store with two of 'em! One for him, and one for me. I was not planning on buying a guitar for myself - really. It was 329 with the gig-bag.

    This guitar has a fast neck - it almost plays like an electric. You really can get around on this thing! What I love most about this guitar is the sound, pure and simple. The intonation is like that of guitars that cost…
    Read more
    I was guitar shopping for a friend who was just starting guitar. His wife, who was going to surprise him with it for his birthday accompanied me to the music store (Guitar Center, Spokane, WA). After trying out several guitars, I was floored by how great this thing sounds and plays. I liked it so much that we walked out of the store with two of 'em! One for him, and one for me. I was not planning on buying a guitar for myself - really. It was 329 with the gig-bag.

    This guitar has a fast neck - it almost plays like an electric. You really can get around on this thing! What I love most about this guitar is the sound, pure and simple. The intonation is like that of guitars that cost 3 times as much, and the tone is well-rounded (a bit toward the high end) with unbelievable sustain. Honestly, this guitar is a steal at what it's presently being sold for. I tried out every one of these that they had in the store (3 guitars) and they were quite consistant tonally. The craftsmanship is fanstastic, especially the rounded back. Did I mention that it's made in the U.S.A.?

    The only thing that is a little cheesy is purely cosmetic. The lettering on the head that says "Taylor" is cheaply silk-screened. However, I'm glad that they skimped on that part rather than anyplace else on the guitar. Otherwise, this thing is first class.

    The construction is top-notch. The finish is gorgeous, especially the back. The tuners are not Grovers or the like, but you can't have everything for $329, right?

    If you need a sub $500 acoustic six-string, look no further than this guitar. It outshines any other instrument within $300 of its price range. That is to say, this plays and sounds better than $600 acoustics out there.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • MGR/6 StringerMGR/6 Stringer

    Taylor Big Baby

    Taylor BIG BABY 307Published on 04/28/03 at 15:00
    BOUGHT AT SAM ASH,PAID$379,BOUGHT THIS GUITAR BECAUSE I PLAYED JUST ABOUT EVERY ACOUSTIC GUITAR IN THE STORE!AND THIS ONE SOUNDED THE BEST AND FELT THE BEST!

    I LIKE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS GUITAR!THE SOUND IS INCREDIBLE FOR A $379 GUITAR!EASY TO PLAY,ITS LIGHT BUT DURABLE!PLUS ITS A TAYLOR!

    THE ONLY THING I WOULD HAVE TO SAY THAT I DONT LIKE ABOUT THIS GUITARS,IS THE SCREWS SHOWING ON NECK!

    ITS'S VERY LIGHT SO LIGHT THAT YOU THINK YOU MIGHT BREAK IT BY PLAYING IT!DON'T LET THAT YOU FOOL! VERY STRONG!

    IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR AN AWESOME ACOUSTIC GUITAR AND NOT EMPTYING OUT YOUR WALLET BUY THIS GUITAR!YOU WILL FALL IN LOVE WITH IT!I DON'T PLAY MY ELECTRICS THAT MUCH ANYMORE SINCE I BOUT THIS!…
    Read more
    BOUGHT AT SAM ASH,PAID$379,BOUGHT THIS GUITAR BECAUSE I PLAYED JUST ABOUT EVERY ACOUSTIC GUITAR IN THE STORE!AND THIS ONE SOUNDED THE BEST AND FELT THE BEST!

    I LIKE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS GUITAR!THE SOUND IS INCREDIBLE FOR A $379 GUITAR!EASY TO PLAY,ITS LIGHT BUT DURABLE!PLUS ITS A TAYLOR!

    THE ONLY THING I WOULD HAVE TO SAY THAT I DONT LIKE ABOUT THIS GUITARS,IS THE SCREWS SHOWING ON NECK!

    ITS'S VERY LIGHT SO LIGHT THAT YOU THINK YOU MIGHT BREAK IT BY PLAYING IT!DON'T LET THAT YOU FOOL! VERY STRONG!

    IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR AN AWESOME ACOUSTIC GUITAR AND NOT EMPTYING OUT YOUR WALLET BUY THIS GUITAR!YOU WILL FALL IN LOVE WITH IT!I DON'T PLAY MY ELECTRICS THAT MUCH ANYMORE SINCE I BOUT THIS!

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
  • blabla blablabla bla

    Taylor Big Baby

    Taylor BIG BABY 307Published on 01/30/03 at 15:00
    I have bought this guitar in france in a local store.
    i wanted a better souding guitar that my apx 4a from yamaha (and i've got it !)

    The price is expensive if we compare with usa prices, but it's like that with most imported guitars here..
    I have given 500€ for it , let's say it's 500$

    I like the frettboard really much , it's fine and your fingers on it are like if you were skiing !!,It's quick and pleasant.

    It was the first time that I was tryingf elexir strings, and after 4 months, the sound is still a lot better than with some phosphore bronze strings and two weeks of playing.

    The sound is bright, some people like it some other not !

    THis is not a full size guitar, I like b…
    Read more
    I have bought this guitar in france in a local store.
    i wanted a better souding guitar that my apx 4a from yamaha (and i've got it !)

    The price is expensive if we compare with usa prices, but it's like that with most imported guitars here..
    I have given 500€ for it , let's say it's 500$

    I like the frettboard really much , it's fine and your fingers on it are like if you were skiing !!,It's quick and pleasant.

    It was the first time that I was tryingf elexir strings, and after 4 months, the sound is still a lot better than with some phosphore bronze strings and two weeks of playing.

    The sound is bright, some people like it some other not !

    THis is not a full size guitar, I like big ones; despide that the sound is not as weak as my old apx model (that is a 15/16 guitar too).

    for me the problems are :

    lack of bass :(

    not a lot of sustain but this is a cheaper guitar !

    the guitar is light, at first it seems that this is so light than it can be break but no problem ! of course, you must take care of your bib baby !!




    I'm not really an expert in this kind of stuff, but I appreciate the fact that the link beetween the fretboard and the body is make in a way that you can access to low cases easily.

    each note sounds good in any place of the fretboard.

    This is a good valeu for money, I love this guitar, and all my friends that have played on it have loved it sound and the frettboard.

    But now, I want o more serious guitar, I want to play with fingers a lot and I believe that this one is better when you use a pick because this is not a full size guitar, the sound is not as powerfull as biggest models.

    i have never played again with my yamaha apx since I got this one.

    This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
    See less
cookies
We are using cookies!

Yes, Audiofanzine is using cookies. Since the last thing that we want is disturbing your diet with too much fat or too much sugar, you'll be glad to learn that we made them ourselves with fresh, organic and fair ingredients, and with a perfect nutritional balance. What this means is that the data we store in them is used to enhance your use of our website as well as improve your user experience on our pages (learn more). To configure your cookie preferences, click here.

We did not wait for a law to make us respect our members and visitors' privacy. The cookies that we use are only meant to improve your experience on our website.

Our cookies
Cookies not subject to consent
These are cookies that guarantee the proper functioning of Audiofanzine and allow its optimization. The website cannot function properly without these cookies. Example: cookies that help you stay logged in from page to page or that help customizing your usage of the website (dark mode or filters).
Google Analytics
We are using Google Analytics in order to better understand the use that our visitors make of our website in an attempt to improve it.
Advertising
This information allows us to show you personalized advertisements thanks to which Audiofanzine is financed. By unchecking this box you will still have advertisements but they may be less interesting :) We are using Google Ad Manager to display part of our ads, or tools integrated to our own CMS for the rest.

We did not wait for a law to make us respect our members and visitors' privacy. The cookies that we use are only meant to improve your experience on our website.

Our cookies
Cookies not subject to consent

These are cookies that guarantee the proper functioning of Audiofanzine. The website cannot function properly without these cookies. Examples: cookies that help you stay logged in from page to page or that help customizing your usage of the website (dark mode or filters).

Google Analytics

We are using Google Analytics in order to better understand the use that our visitors make of our website in an attempt to improve it. When this parameter is activated, no personal information is sent to Google and the IP addresses are anonymized.

Advertising

This information allows us to show you personalized advertisements thanks to which Audiofanzine is financed. By unchecking this box you will still have advertisements but they may be less interesting :) We are using Google Ad Manager to display part of our ads, or tools integrated to our own CMS for the rest.


You can find more details on data protection in our privacy policy.
You can also find information about how Google uses personal data by following this link.