Create an account

or

Thread My first Home Studio.

• 1 comment
  • 2 participants
  • 0 follower
Topic My first Home Studio.
Hi all,

My name is Max and I have been an artist for over a decade and I'm finally ready to start recording. I live in NYC and I have a couple of friends that have a ProTools Home-Studio. I've been to some of their studio sessions to see how pro tools work and all. Now I want to have my own little studio at home(APT). I don't think I need Protools cause I'm at the begining stages of learning the how to.

Well....I have done a configuration for an audio and Video Worstation and would like to see if you think its good?

What I want to do is record acoustic and eletric guitar, conga drums and vocals. I want to make my own CD, and make some interesting beats for me and my friends and family. I just want it to sound proffessional.

here it is:

ASUS "P5AD2-E Premium" i925XE Chipset Motherboard For Intel LGA 775 CPU.

Intel LGA775 Pentium 4 550 3.4 GHz, 800MHz FSB, 1MB L2 Cache, Hyper Threading Technology

Sapphire ATI RADEON X300 Video Card, 128MB DDR, 128-Bit, DVI/TV-Out, PCI Express, Model "100591L"

SAMSUNG 710N-2-Black 17" LCD Monitor

CORSAIR VALUESELECT Kit 240-Pin 2GB(2 x 1GB) DDR2 PC2-4200, Model VS2GBKIT533D2

Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive, Model WD1600JD

The software I'm geting is Acid Pro 5, Vegas 5+DVD, Sound Forge 7.

Mics:
Rode NT4 Stereo Mic for drums and percussion?
Marshall MXL V69 Mogami Edition for vocals and acoustic

Do you think I will need a better Video card?

What sound card should I get? The M-Audio FW410 or Echo Layla?
Do you know any other PCI Audio interfaces that are good for 300 and less?

Do you think I would need 2 or maybe 3 hard drives about 80GB each?

What do you think about that Asus Motherboard?

Forgive my spelling.

Thank you.
If you're tracking it by yourself (i.e. one stereo or mono track at a time), I'd look at the MAudio Audiophile 24/96 (PCI version).