Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
+
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top

Les Paul Standard Plus Top, LP-Shaped Guitar from Epiphone in the Les Paul series.

  • Increase or decrease font size
  • Print
  • RSS

All user reviews for the Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top

  • Like
  • Tweet
  • Submit
Average Score:4.5( 4.5/5 based on 41 reviews )
 23 reviews56 %
 14 reviews34 %
 3 reviews7 %
 1 user review2 %
Value For Money : Excellent
iamqman01/31/2012

iamqman's review"What a stud"

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
The Gibson Les Paul guitars are actually iconic rock 'n roll music as Elvis or the Beatles. You can't flip on the radio did not hear a guitar or a band use this instrument. They have a certain feel and sound with a tone that is just synonymous with rock 'n roll music. However they can be someone expenses for many of the budgeted musicians out there today. That is why the Gibson company basically started producing the more budget friendly Epiphone Les Paul guitar's. Basically these guitars are exact knockoff copies of a Les Paul guitar but very lower prices.

UTILIZATION

Features

Solid mahogany body
Flamed maple veneer over carved top
Set mahogany neck
Slim-tapered neck
22-fret rosewood fingerboard
24-3/4" scale
1-11/16" nut width
Alnico Classic humbuckers
LockTone Tune-O-Matic bridge and stopbar tailpiece for more sustain and easier string changing
Cream body and fretboard binding
Chrome hardware

SOUNDS

The tone of these guitars are basically exactly the same shape and feel. These guitar and we'll get the exact count for a penny tenth of the price with some of the Gibson guitars. When you stick this guitar in front of a good high gain amplifier such as Mesa Boogie or Marshall amplifier than you to get some sweet rock 'n roll tones. These guitars features to public and pick ups with mahogany wood body/neck and a rosewood fret board. It's a pretty standard wood set up just like you find on basically every Gibson electric guitar.


OVERALL OPINION

You should find these guitars for right around $450 new. That's a great price for a budget friendly Les Paul type instrument. These guitars have the same controls as you refund and also to volume control knobs as well as the two tone control knobs. All the features and even the look is basically right down to the Gibson Les Paul guitar. I really recommend this guitar to anyone looking for a decent sounding Gibson Les Paul style instrument who doesn't want to pay the big price tag of an authentic Gibson Les Paul guitar. This is a great alternative for some and many others will appreciate the quality and workmanship that goes into these guitars.
Hatsubai07/01/2011

Hatsubai's review"Nice top on this model"

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
The Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus is basically the pretty version of the . The guitar features a mahogany body with a mahogany neck, chrome hardware, 24.75'' scale length, carved maple top, optional pickguard, rosewood fretboard, 22 frets, trapezoid inlays, tune-o-matic bridge, binding, two humbuckers, two volumes, two tones and a three way switch.

UTILIZATION

The Standard Plus has a figured top, and I must say, they look pretty good. Most of the ones in the shop had some decent figuring going on, and for the price that these were going for, they were fairly impressive. The nut on this model was cut correctly, and it was nice to see that. The frets, however, were fairly haggard. For one, the fret ends were a bit sharp. When you moved your hand up and down the neck, you could feel your hand snag on them. They also should have been releveled and recrowned. The fret access up top is the same as every other Les Paul in that it's awful.

SOUNDS

This guitar had a JB/59 combo installed in it, so I'll be going by those in this review. The JB in the bridge was pretty good for this guitar. You could get some great rock and metal tones going for it. It's a bit too powerful for things like blues, but you can make it work. I know people that play death metal with this pickup, so it is fairly versatile. The 59 in the neck was pretty awesome as it does everything. You can get some warm and fat clean tones or some super singing lead tones just by switching the channels on the amp. It's one of the better neck pickups out there in the Duncan lineup.

OVERALL OPINION

The aftermarket pickups in this really gave the guitar new life. However, they don't come with those stock. You'll want to spend a few bucks and upgrade those. While you're at it, add some locking tuners to help with string install. That should help make tuning more stable. Check for any possible nut and fretwork issues when you buy one.
MGR/Ezekiel10/05/2004

MGR/Ezekiel's review"Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus"

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
Bought in a music store in Québec. Went to check and found the beautiful one. Paid 530$ canadian used with a case, a new set of strings and a pro setup. I was looking as Les Paul for a good versatile blues-jazz-all stuff guitar. Believe me it delivers.

I really like the price I got it for. I have to mention the beautiful finish, don't seem to find it anywhere else(weird)kinda caramel burst.Very beautiful. Soundwise you get a fat and round sound. I find the balance, when you play seated, very good. Can wait to get a nice amp to plug it in.

I don't have complaints about it.

The fact that it is heavy is comforting for me on that point. I haven't found any defects or or problems with it( it's used so minor cosmetical blemishes). Seems to be very solid. And beautiful WOW!!

Beautiful big sounding guitar. But try many as they can differ on neck thickness, finish. Anyway no 2 guitars are identical so.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/inthewoods...08/02/2004

MGR/inthewoods...'s review"Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus"

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
I bought it from a local store for 580 euro!

This guitar is great!The body is perfect!A real les paul for sure!

what?

As I said before this guitar is great!The construction is awesome!

I love les paul guitars!I use this guitar for gigs and I have done some recording!This guitar is great!There isn't a big difference between this and a gibson!And believe me,if you change pick ups and buy two gibson you will not find any difference!

SO THIS IS A REAL LES PAUL

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Dan07/08/2004

MGR/Dan's review"Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus"

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
Purchased through a local music store in Metepec, Mexico. Cost was $5300 pesos, which at the time was equivalant to about $460 US Dollars

It's an impressive guitar all around. Mine is a 2002 Standard Plus model made in China. It came stock with chrome Grover tuners and a beautiful Vintage burst finish over highly flamed and bookend maple.
It's a classic!

This guitar is always compared to Gibson's Les Paul. I don't think that fair considering the $1500 price difference!!!
Though they aren't Gibson's, Epiphones Les Paul a very well made and high quality guitars in their own right. I would recommend anyone looking for a guitar for less than a Grand, check it out.

Although the pickups that came with the guitar aren't bad, they don't even come close to bringing out the sound this guitar is capable of. I switched over to Seymour Duncan's 59s and now it's like a different guitar! I'd still like to experiment with other pups as many players claim there are even better options.

Another thing the guitar requiered was a professional setup and a bone nut. This isn't really expensive to do and also makes a huge difference. The stock nut is plastic and you will notice the sound change when you switch to bone!

Epiphone's site says the body of these guitars are mahogany/adler, so I thought I'd find some kind of multi-ply wood inside. To my surprize, when I opened her up to change the pups, I found what seems to be a solid chunk of mahogany wood with a slab of maple on top.
The finish is perfect from the factory. There isn't a blemish anywhere. The feel, look and sound of these guitars project high quality.

It's a solid guitar that balances out nicely

After the pup change, the bone nut and pro setup, I ended up with an OUTSTANDING instrument. I've been playing for about 8 months so I'm really a beginner but in that time, I've bought a number of guitars and I've learned from each. I now have a pretty solid idea of what works and what doesn't. Believe it or not, it's very difficult to buy a "terrible" guitar now a days. Even the low end instruments of major manufactures are built pretty well.

Taking that in to consideration, I'd say that Epiphone's Les Paul are one of the best guitars available for under $1000.

If you're a beginner and would like to buy a quality guitar without making a huge investment, this guitar is a great choice. It'll grow with you while your playing improves. Also as a beginner, I think you'll enjoy how easy to play it is, especially after a good setup. The neck is very nice.

Please don't think it's just a beginners guitar. In the right hands, this guitar will take off and many pros use it.

Another plus is Epiphone's customer service. While I've had no problems with my guitar, I did contact them to learn more about it and was amazed by the quality and speed of service.

One last thing I would recommend is that you play as many of these BEFORE you buy yours. I tried many of them out and they all felt, looked and sounded just a bit difference. Even the colors change quite a bit from model to model.

I think these Les Pauls offer quality way beyond their price. Even if you invest in new pups and a pro setup, you'll still be way ahead.



This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Anonymous06/30/2004

MGR/Anonymous's review"Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus"

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
Purchased from Same Day Music as a replacement for an Epiphone LP-100. Initially, paid $489.00 but was given a $60 discount due to 1st guitar arriving damaged and replacement guitar had absolutely no set up and many finish flaws. Fianl cost $429.00.

After a set up to exceed Gibson set up specs. for string height, neck relief, intonnation, pickup height, new Gibson Vintage 10-46s, etc. this guitar pretty much nails the sound and feel of a 57 Les Paul and plays and sounds better than any of the Les Pauls and 335s I have played at Guitar Center. Also, the translucent amber finish and flamed maple top is a looker!

My replacement guitar arrived with string heights at the 12th fret exceeding 1/4" and totally bad intonnation and must have missed any inspection and set up in the USA as the sticker indicated. Also, there were dark glue stains around some binding and body joints, binding that bled over into the top and rough cut pickguard and truss rod cover. Someone at Gibson/Epiphone should have paid more attention to what they were doing assuming this guitar was not tampered with. It was a new factory fresh item. It took days of set up and correction to fix all of this except the finish flaws but with the final price, I am satisfied.

After set up and correction of the above mentioned problems, it is a very solid and tone filled instrument. There have been negative comments about Epiphone pickups but these new designed by Gibson USA seem to fix that. They ohm out at 8.75 neck and 13.05 bridge, are wax potted and the sound is so good when properly adjusted that they really don't justify swapping out for Gibson or Seymours.

Bottom line is this is an excellent value. I simply got one that slipped through the set up cracks and was really a blem or second. Suggest that if you buy one either you check it out in person or ensure that you are dealing with an internet retailer like SameDayMusic that will stand behind the sale and either replace the instrument or provide a discount for your problems. Also, you need to be aware of the set up needs for you instrument and your personal preferences. Be aware that there are negative reviews for Gibson products that cost much more so this is an excellent value with a little effort. Fortunately, my blem issues were correctable or in areas that I see but not the audience but will carry with theinstrument for it's life.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Chris Cerami02/24/2004

MGR/Chris Cerami's review"Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus"

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
I purchased it used in almost perfect condition for 360 dollars at daddys junky music


Advantages

-fast neck (if you use Ghs fast fret it improves fretboard)
-very good pickups(classic and hot alnico humbuckers0
-good quality materials (has a amazing flame maple top which resonates a great sound and a mahagony body and neck)
-good price (only 600 new any where from 350 to 420 used)
-nice paint job (the standard plus comes with a beautiful heritage sunburst finish which looks amazing with the flame maple top.)


As far as playability and sound this guitar is very good nothing to bad in that depart some minor quality problems but thats it.

There is only one thing that bugs me and that is some of the manufacturing errors (slightly uneven frets and some small paint problems depending on the guitar) This guitar is korean made so it is not checked over by a human so errors can occur i recomend going to your local shop or a in home guitar repairist and get it set up for a small price depending on where you go.

If your an intermediate player or a long time player looking for a good deal used or new this guitar is a good deal you get the look of a gibson for a much more affordable price and it has better materials then the regular epiphone les paul standard.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Casey12/16/2003

MGR/Casey's review"Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus"

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
I got this guitar at a local music shopr for about 400 moola.

I love everything about this guitar. It can sound like an electric acoustic or a heavy-metal machine. The maplewood fret board is not connected by bolt. And the frets are easy to reach.

The only thing I dont liek is that the strings are a little high off the fret board. So iits a little hard to solo good but its possible

I got the guitar used and its in very good condition and there is nothing wrong with it.

Before i got the guitar the music center had put a brand new wiring system in complete with new 57 mhg pickuos FOR FREE!!!

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/6 Stringer06/16/2003

MGR/6 Stringer's review"Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus"

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
BOUGHT AT SAM ASH FOR $579,I WANTED A LES PAUL BUT COULD NOT AFFORD THE EXTRA $2,000 DOLLARS FOR A GIBSON! Ed: This guitar is the honey burst color patter model.

I LIKE THE SOUND OF THE LES PAUL, THE WAY THE NECK FEELS, THE WAY IT LOOKS,EASY TO PLAY,SUSTAIN IS INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!!I LOVE THE PRICE, THE QUALITY ,THE CRAFTSMANSHIP!

NOTHING

BUILT LIKE A TRUCK,BUT SOUNDS BEAUTIFUL!

BOTTOM LINE,DO U HAVE $2500 TO BURN ON A LES PAUL IF SO BUY THE GIBSON IF NOT BUY THE EPIPHONE LES PAUL STANDARD PLUS!YOU WON'T KNOW THE DIFFERENCE!!!!!

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/A decent guitar for the money.02/24/2003

MGR/A decent guitar for the money.'s review"Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus"

Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top
I bought this guitar at a music store where I was stationed. I paid about 600 dollars for this beauty. Since I first started playing, I fell in love with the Les Paul models. I love the look of them, and of course, the sound.

What's not to like? First of all, this is one beautiful axe! It has all chrome hardware, and is green with a flametop design. The pick guard and binding are an off-white, and it has a beautiful finish.

Second of all, and most importantly, is the sound. From back-woods southern rock, to blues, this guitar has a rich, thick sounds that sooths you at low tones and screams at high ones. But that's not all. If your in a heavy metal mood, its got chunk and hard rockin distortion that is unlike any other.

Basically, this guitar is the shit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Excellent! Great construction. The only thing is the tuners are a little crappy, but those can be replaced easily.

Like I said, this axe is it! From looks to sound and quality! I love this guitar and would recommend this axe to anyone.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com