or
Create an account

or

Thread Beginner - need to know what to start with

• 3 replies
  • 2 participants
  • 0 follower
1 Beginner - need to know what to start with
Hi, I intend to do some home recording with guitars vocals etc and I'm wondering where to begin.

I am building a Pc specially, so part of my query lies with hardware and partly with software.

I want to get the best soundcard I can, I have used Terratec before, which I quite liked, but my options also include the Creative Live and the Soundblaster Audigy series. Obviously I will only be using cards with a break out box. Any advice on that would be nice.

Secondly - software. I want a program so I can layer several tracks and also something were I can program a beat and put in midi sections. I have no experience of this so far. I hear Cubase, Cakewalk and Reason being the ones to consider - any advice would be appreciated as don't know the difference.

Hope to hear from someone soon

David
Hi David-

I'm a Cakewalk guy myself. It's pretty easy to use, and covers just about everything you want to do. Home Studio would be my choice.

You don't necessarily need a sound card with a breakout box. In fact, I prefer NOT to have it that way. I would recommend an Audiophile 2496 from MAudio (the PCI version, not the USB), and then I would get a small mixer. I use a Behringer. Works great, sounds very decent for the price.

Don't forget to set aside some $$ for a pair of reference monitors to mix on. Consumer grade computer speakers won't cut it. MAudio is also making some relatively inexpensive monitors that get pretty good reviews.