Orange Tiny Terror
+
Orange Tiny Terror

Tiny Terror, Tube Guitar Amp Head from Orange in the Terror series.

  • Increase or decrease font size
  • Print
  • RSS

All user reviews for the Orange Tiny Terror

  • Like
  • Tweet
  • Submit
Average Score:4.6( 4.6/5 based on 39 reviews )
 24 reviews62 %
 11 reviews28 %
 1 user review3 %
Audience: Anyone
damballah04/08/2016

damballah's review"Nice Piece"

Orange Tiny Terror
- Used at home and on stage,
- almost too powerful for home usage unless you want to fry your neighbors
- deliver a powerful organic sound that can get dirty quite quickly
- Heavy and robust
- Nothing fancy with it, Gain , master bass and treble..
- Missa a Mediuml for sound coloring

crankyrayhanky04/19/2012

crankyrayhanky's review

Orange Tiny Terror
This is a tube amp running on el84s. It has a 2 way switch to go from 7 to 15 watts. Settings are simple: volume, tone, gain. Cool carrying bag!

UTILIZATION

Super easy to dial in a great sound! The lack of controls and switches creates a super clean line that delivers Orange tone in spades. I never read the manual as the operation is totally intuitive.

SOUNDS

I have guitars from Gibson, Epiphone, and Fender. They each sound fantastic, but my favorite is the Les Paul going into an MXR overdrive (little gain applied) right into the amp. I put this little head on a 4x12 and played lead guitar in a band where the rhythm player played his Peavey XXX. The XXX is known as a LOUD amp, but this 15 watt amp easily kept right up in practice volumes in a LOUD punk/hard roc band. Very impressive! I had an Egnater Tweaker and a Randall rm20 and this 15 watt terror was clearly more powerful. I guess 15 watts does not always equal 15watts? Clarity and unique Orange british tone is the drawing card on this amp.

OVERALL OPINION

I love the simple great tone of this small beast. throw a 57 on this and you have a great rock tone that cuts through the mix- live and in the studio. Here's a couple of tunes I used all Terror>Marshall 1960>(2) 57s>Roland vs2480
http://soundclick.com/share.cfm?id=8794611
http://soundclick.com/share.cfm?id=8794615

This tone is unique and may not be for everyone...but it definitely has the signature Orange mids and presents great clarity and articulation.
The value is great bang for your buck for Orange tone seekers. t is not a modern chainsaw machine, so people looking for the rectifier buzz should look elsewhere. There are no channel switching abilities, but using the guitar volume with a pedal boost will give a seasoned player lots of option on stage. Ideally, this amp is for the bedroom player who can carry his amp to practice on a NY subway.

Great sounds at low volumes, enough power to keep up in a loud band, and clear tone make this a great deal. if you need more gain in a metal band, or perhaps cleaner Fender-ish tones, this is not the amp. Straight ahead great rock sounds is the forte here.

King Loudness12/13/2011

King Loudness's review"Not for me."

Orange Tiny Terror
The Orange Tiny Terror is a 15 watt tube head that perpetuated the whole "lunch box" amplifier craze. It's been out for a few years now and many amps from companies like VOX, Traynor, Mesa Boogie, H&K, etc have come after. Lots of people like these for the fact they are grab and go amps that forgo tons of versatility for a direct sound in a small package. This amp is 15 watts, switchable down to 7 watts. It's powered by EL84 tubes and is a single channel amplifier with no onboard effects.

UTILIZATION

Dialing in this amp is easy or difficult depending on what you're looking for. I personally found this amp just to sound too loose and fuzzy for what I was looking to do. I understand that's kinda the voice Orange is known for, but still I wasn't much impressed with it. There's very few controls to work with, so if you like the tone of the amp at its core, you really get that sound regardless of where you set your amp controls. However if you're not a fan of the tone of the amp, there isn't much you can do to change it...

SOUNDS

This amp seems to sound closest to how I'd like through a Celestion Greenback loaded cabinet of some repute. The higher wattage speakers I tried with this amp just made it sound a bit too clean for my rock n' roller self (at least for the project I was using it for at the time). However the major issue I had with this amp was that is just seemed to have this fuzzy sort of quality when it was turned up. It wasn't one that I particularly find attractive for standard hard rock tones as it caused the definition of chords to be lost amid the gain/saturation. I had much better luck running the amp fairly clean and using one of my drive pedals to hit it, which keep the amp sounding reasonably smooth with high gain. I could see that loose and saturated vibe working for some people, but it just was not for me.

OVERALL OPINION

All in all I think the Orange Tiny Terror is a mixed bag. On one hand I applaud Orange for getting out there and doing something different that really works well for practice and jamming/transport. However the voicing of it just turned me off too much for my liking. I've had MUCH better luck with the VOX Night Train (great clean sounds and a fantastically thick and clear drive sound that was exactly what I wanted the Tiny Terror to be and more recently the Hughes and Kettner Tubemeiser 18, which is even more versatile and offers a dedicated clean channel as well. The Orange is about $550 new which isn't a bad deal, but in my position, I would just buy either the VOX or H&K unless you're after the particular voicing of the Tiny Terror.
iamqman11/15/2011

iamqman's review"Tiny but not Terror"

Orange Tiny Terror
Characteristics9/10
For the size of a lunch box this little amp pacts quite a kick to it. This amp looks like something you would walk to school with and be carrying your peanut butter sandwich in. Orange has taken such a small but positive approach to lunch box style amplifiers. There seems to be a trend going on with manufacturers hitting a market that seems like a good entry way into their flagship amplifiers.

The amp has that familiar British grind that you found in the 60's and 70's went they were the leaders in getting high gain sustain from their guitar rigs. This little box does what a full stack can do in a pint size proportion. It sounds fantastic and gets chewier and smoother as you hit it harder with more volume.

UTILIZATION

Features

Controls: gain, tone, volume
Features: 1.5 mm Zintec chassis with steel vented top case.
Includes padded gig bag
Output: 15W 'Class A'; 7W 'Class A'
Valves: Preamp - 2 x 12AX7; Output - 2 x EL84



SOUNDS

Though the Orange amps have a familiar British flavor to them I think that anyone would be surprised at how big and bold the tone is from this small box. Though is is rated at only 15 watts it gets quite loud and will accompany most small clubs or gigging situations quite nicely. There is no compromise of tone or quality in this amp. Is sounds as huge tonal wise as any of the larger more frequented amps that Orange makes.

Try this guitar out with a Les Paul and you be pleasantly surprised out how meaty the tone is from simply a Gain, Tone, and Volume knob. This thing can be dropped down to a 7 watt operation for home use or even recording. It sounds great in either setting you have.

OVERALL OPINION

Many manufacturers have now saw the overwhelmingly positive result that Orange got from this and are now doing the same thing. Mesa Boogie released one last year as well as Vox. Hughes and Kettner is releasing one this year and you'll see that in the trade shows real soon. There has been an untapped market for these little light weight but heavy punch high gain amplifiers. I would recommend this amp to anyone who needs pint size amp with a kick. At new these amps come in at a round $599. Great bang for your buck in these harsh economic times.
polishdog9008/25/2011

polishdog90's review"Beautiful grit"

Orange Tiny Terror
Features:
-Controls: Gain/Tone/Volume
-1.5 mm Zintec Chassis w/ Steel Vented Top Case
-Padded Gig Bag Included
-15 Watts 'Class A' / 7 Watts 'Class A' switchable
-Tubes: Preamp - 2 x 12AX7, Output 2 x EL84

Specifications:
Type - Tube
Number of Channels - 1
Power - 15W Class A
EQ - Tone
Amp Modeling - No
Number of Models - 0
Number of Tubes - 4
Preamp Tubes - 2 x 12AX7
Power Tubes - 2 x EL84
Inputs - 1 x Instrument
Outputs - 3 x TS
Height - 7"
Width - 11"
Depth - 5.5"
Weight - 15 lbs.

UTILIZATION

It is very easy to get great tone from this amp. The settings are simple enough: volume, tone, and gain. It seems pretty sturdy and comes with a carrying case to cape it safe while traveling.

SOUNDS

I play a SG, Les Paul, Rick 360, Strat, and Tele through this amp depending on what tone I want. The amp sounds fantastic. Many people have said it is a one trick pony and it is. This pony does its trick VERY WELL. When this amp starts to break up it sounds fantastic. Awesome British crunch. It doesn't have much headroom so live cleans isn't really an option. I prefer fender cleans anyway. Because of this I run it A/B with a clean amp live.

OVERALL OPINION

For British crunch, this amp has fantastic tone. For the price, it's a (relatively) cheap way to get a grade A tube sound. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants to use it as a clean amp. If I were given the choice I might look into the Dark Terror now for its two channels but that wasn't out when I bought the Tiny Terror.
killerkgprime08/15/2011

killerkgprime's review"Toaster From Hell!"

Orange Tiny Terror
The Orange Tiny Terror is an all tube amp with and El84 power section and a 12AX7 preamp section. It's switchable between 7 and 15 watts, and in classic Orange style, has bonehead simple controls. One volume, one EQ, one gain knob. That's it, and thats all that's required out of this beast of an amp.

UTILIZATION

I've not gotten a bad sound out of this amp. The controls are limited, but they do their job, and I'm a fan of simple controls. Just plug in and go. The characteristic Orange sound is on the Britsh, Mashall-esque side, but with more low mids, and growl. The first riff I played on it was the Accept classic "Balls To The Wall", and it delivered in spades. This amp rocks, and it can go from a round present clean to a high gain roar similar to a goosed JCM 800.

SOUNDS

Cleans on the OTT are round and punchy, but it's not where it shines most brightly. With the gain at about 8 or 9 oclock it gets a nice plexi voiced breakup, great for Free, AC/DC, Thin Lizzy, etc. Once you hit 12 o clock it gets onto more of a JCM 800 territory, perfect for MSG and Gary Moore. Past this and you enter into a more metallic direction. Lots of very musical, useable gain on tap. The Orange is inherently warm and crunchy. It's simply the best amp money can buy for this price and size.

The 7 watt mode is more compressed, and sounds a touch fatter, whereas the 15 watt mode is more open, singing, and tighter. I stayed in the 7 watt mode most of the time, because I like that really fat tone, but it's nice to have that extra power.

Don't be discouraged, this amp is LOUD, and can hang with a drummer without any problem.

OVERALL OPINION

Since the OTT has been on the market, competitors like Vox, Boogie, Traynor, Laney, etc. have pushed out their own lunchbox sized amps, and in my opinion, the Orange slays them all. No little amp has so much versatility, character, looks, or tone. The Tiny Terror is an amp with nuts. It's the standby amp that I recommend to anyone looking for an amp. It's perfect for taking to jams or practices for it's portability and weight.
iamqman03/30/2011

iamqman's review"Big little box"

Orange Tiny Terror
For the size of a lunch box this little amp pacts quite a kick to it. This amp looks like something you would walk to school with and be carrying your peanut butter sandwich in. Orange has taken such a small but positive approach to lunch box style amplifiers. There seems to be a trend going on with manufacturers hitting a market that seems like a good entry way into their flagship amplifiers.

The amp has that familiar British grind that you found in the 60's and 70's went they were the leaders in getting high gain sustain from their guitar rigs. This little box does what a full stack can do in a pint size proportion. It sounds fantastic and gets chewier and smoother as you hit it harder with more volume.

UTILIZATION

This is a very easy to use Orange Amp. They have been known for their controls to have pictures rather than descriptions of the EQ, gain, and volume. However, this lunch box has only three control knobs so you can't really get off track.

Controls:

Gain / Tone / Volume
Features:

1.5 mm Zintec Chassis w/ Steel Vented Top Case. Padded Gig Bag.
Output:

15 Watts ‘Class A’ / 7 Watts ‘Class A’
Valves:

Preamp: 2 x 12AX7, Output: 2 x EL84
Speaker Out:

(1) 16 Ohm, (2) 8 ohm
Dimensions:

(W X H X D) 30×17x14cm, 11×7x5.5in
Weight:

7kg/15lb

SOUNDS

Though the Orange amps have a familiar British flavor to them I think that anyone would be surprised at how big and bold the tone is from this small box. Though is is rated at only 15 watts it gets quite loud and will accompany most small clubs or gigging situations quite nicely. There is no compromise of tone or quality in this amp. Is sounds as huge tonal wise as any of the larger more frequented amps that Orange makes.

Try this guitar out with a Les Paul and you be pleasantly surprised out how meaty the tone is from simply a Gain, Tone, and Volume knob. This thing can be dropped down to a 7 watt operation for home use or even recording. It sounds great in either setting you have.

OVERALL OPINION

Many manufacturers have now saw the overwhelmingly positive result that Orange got from this and are now doing the same thing. Mesa Boogie released one last year as well as Vox. Hughes and Kettner is releasing one this year and you'll see that in the trade shows real soon. There has been an untapped market for these little light weight but heavy punch high gain amplifiers. The consumers has voted and they love this unit. Orange has sold over 30,000 of these units so far.

I would recommend this amp to anyone who needs pint size amp with a kick. At new these amps come in at a round $575. The used market you can find one for around $350-$400. Great bang for your buck in these harsh economic times.
PurposeToMelody03/21/2011

PurposeToMelody's review

Orange Tiny Terror
Specification Detail
Type Tube
Number of Channels 1
Power 7W Class A / 15W Class A
Effects No Effects
Reverb No Reverb
EQ Tone
Amp Modeling No Amp Modeling
Number of Models 0
Number of Tubes 4
Preamp Tubes 2 x 12AX7
Power Tubes 2 x EL84
Inputs 1 x Instrument
Outputs 3 x Speaker
Footswitch I/O No Footswitch I/O
Effects Loop No Effects Loop
Height 7"
Width 11"
Depth 5.5"
Weight 15 lbs.
Manufacturer Part Number TT15

UTILIZATION

A very simple amp, with a few controls to shape your tone.

SOUNDS

I normally use a Les Paul with Seymour Duncans.

This amp is not versatile at all, if you want a versatile amp, you can stop reading now...
But, if you want classic british clean and medium gain tones, please continue.
Cleans: I found the cleans to be a weak point of this amp, lifeless and dull, but passable for what it is. a 15w cheap amp. With an EQ you can really shape it to make it a little more sparkly, but don't expect them to ever be amazing or super clean, because its never really truly "clean" in my opinion.

Overdrive: This is where this amp shines, glorious lush british overdrive and crunch tones. It's pretty much instant AC/DC with Vintage 30s or Greenbacks. You can get it pretty heavy but after you get to a certain point it just becomes a muddy mess and never stays very tight in the low end, so don't expect chugga chugga metal out of it, but if you want classic sounding british overdrive tones, look no further especially small gigging and bar gig guys!

OVERALL OPINION

I love this amp, especially for the used price, it sounds great minus it being a little dark and muddy, but for the price its a great practice and small gigging amp if you mic it. I highly recommend it!
mooseherman06/08/2009

mooseherman's review

Orange Tiny Terror
The Orange Twin Tiny Terror is a small, portable tube amp head that delivers 15 watts of power. There's really only a basic 1/4" input and a speaker cable output in the back, and there are three knobs that control volume, tone and gain. 

UTILIZATION

The amp is so easy to use, it's ridiculous. It's great how little time it takes to get used to it. The three knobs might seem like there is a lack of control with this amp, but I feel that the small number of knobs is liberating. I have never even looked at the manual, and I can't find it now, but it's pretty much unnecessary. 

SOUNDS

Like every Orange amp I've encountered, the tone is great. Incredibly bright and crunchy. It definitely does belie its small stature, because it can get a surprisingly big sound. It's got a nice clean tone, as well as a thick, fat distorted tone. It might not be ideal for people who want a punishingly heavy sound from their amps, but who really wants that anyway? I have had some really great luck with this amp. The frequencies are definitely neutral enough to get a great variety of tones without falling to heavily on any end of the spectrum, and almost every tone is great. 

OVERALL OPINION

I like the simplicity of this amp, as well as its small size. It makes it easier for the gigging musician to carry around, which I like a lot since I don't have a car. I think that the amp is pretty reasonably priced considering how good it is. The sound quality is superb, definitely a great addition to the Orange catalog. I didn't try many other models because I had heard so much about this one. I fell in love with it right away. I would certainly make the same choice again if I had to. 
moosers03/25/2009

moosers's review

Orange Tiny Terror
The Orange Amps Tiny Terror is a tube based 15 watt, guitar amplifier head. It has a 1/4 inch input in the front, as well as a speaker cable output in the back for your cabinet. While it has up to 15 watts of power, there is a switch to choose between either 15 or 7 watts or power if you choose. It simply as three knobs - one for volume, one for tone, and one for gain. It is extremely easy to get a good sound from this, and these three parameters are really all you need.

UTILIZATION

The configuration of the Orange Amps Tiny Terror couldn't be any easier to understand. With just the three knobs, it is easy to zero in on the tone you are looking for, and you can surprisingly get a good amount varying tones with this. I don't have a manual for this, but it is very easy to use and you should have no troubles without a manual if you don't have one.

SOUNDS

The sound quality of the Orange Amps Tiny Terror is awesome. It has both super clean sounds and fat overdrive tones. It usually send this amp to whatever speaker cabinet I have around, and plug in either a Fender Stratocaster or a Gibson SG. No matter what surrounding parts I use this amp with, I find I always get a full sound that I am happy with, whether it be for clean or heavy parts.

OVERALL OPINION

I've been using the Orange Amps Tiny Terror for about a year and have found it to be one of the best bargains on the market in terms of guitar amplification. It is extremely cheap considering how much tone you get with this amp. It is quite small and has a handle, so it is great for use on the go. Orange makes some incredible amps, and the Tiny Terror is one of its best, and its cheapest.