Guitars reviews

  • A pint-sized yet powerful multi-effects unit
    review

    A pint-sized yet powerful multi-effects unit - Review of the Tech 21 Fly Rig 5

    08/17/14

    The Tech 21 Fly Rig 5 is a multi-effects pedal small enough to fit in a backpack, or in the pocket of most guitar bags. Featuring Tech 21’s signature analog tone, it can be used either through an amp, or as a complete rig direct to a PA or DAW.

  • We test drive EHX's new "Organ Machine"
    review

    We test drive EHX's new "Organ Machine" - Review of the Electro-Harmonix B9

    08/10/14

    Electro Harmonix calls the B9 an “Organ Machine,” and indeed it is. Plug your guitar into this pedal and out comes a variety of authentic organ sounds. Read on to find out more.

  • Boss reinvents the DS distortion pedal
    review

    Boss reinvents the DS distortion pedal - Review of the Boss DS-1X

    07/30/14

    This year, Boss has been releasing new stompboxes at a prodigious pace: two at Winter NAMM and three at Summer NAMM. All are reinventions of older Boss pedals. The DS-1X, released along with the OD-1X in January, is a revamped digital version of the DS-1. How does it compare to its predecessor? We tested them head to head as part of this review.

  • Review of the Boss ME-80
    review

    Review of the Boss ME-80 - Versatile, powerful, and priced to sell

    07/02/14

    For years, Boss has been one of the leading manufacturers of self-contained guitar multi-effects floor units, and the ME-80 is its latest effort. Less expensive than the flagship GT-100, it's nevertheless a very capable and fully featured unit. The ME-80 gives you access to virtually any kind of guitar effect, a range of preamp sounds, an expressi…

  • Review of the Boss OD-1X OverDrive
    review

    Review of the Boss OD-1X OverDrive - An Overdrive Pedal with a New Look and Feel

    06/17/14

    The Boss OD-1X OverDrive was one of two new stompboxes the company announced at NAMM 2014 (the DS-1X Distortion was the other). It features the company’s recently developed Multi-Dimensional Processing (MDP) technology and promises a superior playing experience to analog pedals. Does it deliver?

  • Electro-Harmonix EHX Tortion Review
    review

    Electro-Harmonix EHX Tortion Review - Tubey or not Tubey, that is the question.

    05/28/14

    Since the days of the original Big Muff Pi, Electro-Harmonix has been building distortion pedals, and one of its latest entries is the EHX Tortion ($179). Way more than just a distortion effect, it also offers a range of overdrive sounds, pleasing clean tones, a boost channel, and you even get amp simulation via its direct out.

  • Tech 21 Hot-Rod Plexi Review
    review

    Tech 21 Hot-Rod Plexi Review - Stack Attack

    05/20/14

    Although most amp modeling is digital, Tech 21 has always created its amp emulations using analog circuitry. The Hot-Rod Plexi pedal ($179) is the latest example. It’s an effects processor that’s designed to be used with an amp, so unlike the SansAmp processors, it has no speaker emulation built in.

  • Palmer Kaputt Review
    review

    Palmer Kaputt Review - Kaputt

    03/30/14

    With our recent review of the Mutterstolz tube distortion in mind, the Audiofanzine editorial board decided to review some of the other models from Palmer's Root Effects collection. We've already posted our review of Automat, and here we'll focus on Kaputt.

  • Yamaha F370 Review
    review

    Yamaha F370 Review - Folk in Tune

    03/03/14

    We took this new, inexpensive dreadnaught from Yamaha for a test drive. Here's what we found.

  • Palmer Automat Review
    review

    Palmer Automat Review - Distautowah

    02/24/14

    On the occasion of our recently published Palmer Mutterstolz distortion pedal review, your favorite website decided to revisit some of the German brand's Root Effects, and here we review Automat, an analog distortion/auto-wah that saw the light of day in February 2012.