Ibanez RG1570
+
Ibanez RG1570
Price engine
Classified Ads
Forums
  • Increase or decrease font size
  • Print
  • RSS

All user reviews for the Ibanez RG1570

  • Like
  • Tweet
  • Submit
Average Score:4.7( 4.7/5 based on 25 reviews )
 19 reviews76 %
 5 reviews20 %
 1 user review4 %
Audience: Beginners Value For Money : Excellent
Hatsubai10/22/2011

Hatsubai's review"Prestige fretwork and quality"

Ibanez RG1570
This is the upgraded model from the famous RG570. To be honest, it's not that much different from the RG570 except for a few minor things. The most notable would be that this is made in the new Prestige factory. The guitar features a basswood body, a maple neck with a rosewood fretboard, 24 jumbo frets with dot inlays, an Edge Pro tremolo, two humbuckers, one volume, one tone and a five way switch.

UTILIZATION

The fretwork on this is superb, and it's the main selling point of these newer guitars. The frets on these, while not quite as good as the Prestige, offer some semi-rounded fret ends that other guitar manufacturers don't seem to do. I was able to get some super low action on this. The necks on these aren't quite as thin as the original Wizard necks, but they're stil very slim. The bridge on this is the brand new (at the time) Edge Pro tremolo, and it works great. It doesn't have the locking studs, and it's a little stiffer than the original Edge or LoPro Edge, but it's still a very high quality bridge that can take tons of abuse and remain stable.

SOUNDS

These still have the same old bland IBZ pickups that are installed in all of standard production line Ibanez guitars. They're not that great, and I recommend you replace them with real DiMarzios. The bridge pickups in these are a bit thick sounding, and that's great for basswood, but it's not that clear or dynamic. I find that regular production DiMarzios sound a lot better in these than these IBZ pickups do. The neck pickup I always found to be a touch bright in these, and turning the tone knob down doesn't really seem to solve the issue. The guitar has a five way switch that gives you lots of different sounds which is real cool, and I wish more guitars would feature these extended controls as they're easy to implement.

OVERALL OPINION

The guitars are very high quality, and I actually prefer these over the RG570 models. You can get these super cheap, and I find the fretwork to be a lot more consistent than on the previous models. If you're going to keep these, one thing I'd recommend would be replacing the pickups with some real ones. Also, if you can spend the extra 40 bucks, you can get some locking studs in these to make the trem as good as the old ones.
Hatsubai10/14/2011

Hatsubai's review"Very solid Ibanez guitar"

Ibanez RG1570
The RG1570 is the successor to the very famous and successful RG570. It features a basswood body, maple neck and rosewood fretboard. The guitar is equipped with the (then) new Edge Pro floyd, a five way blade switch, volume knob and tone knob. The guitar is a Prestige guitar, so the neck is a five piece neck and ~1mm thicker than the original Wizard.

UTILIZATION

The formula for the RG hasn't changed since the 80s, and it doesn't have to. Everything is pretty much standard affair when comparing this to other RGs. It's built like a rock, but this time, it has the new Prestige neck. The Prestige fretwork is absolutely glorious. You an achieve sick action, and the fret ends felt nicely beveled so you don't snag your hand going up and down the neck. The all access neck joint gives you easy access to the higher frets, and the lower horn rarely gets in your way when doing solo riffs.

SOUNDS

Some people hate basswood, but I love it for lead tones. The stock pickups are weak, but I quickly replaced them with an Air Norton and Steve's Special. I then replaced the switch with a 3 way and completely disconnected the middle pickup as I wasn't using it. The guitar was pretty much set up exactly like John Petrucci's Ibanez models were. The Air Norton gives one of the best lead tones ever, and the Steve's Special sounded tight, clear and articulate. DiMarzios really jive well with basswood guitars.

OVERALL OPINION

Overall, I recommend checking out either the 570 or the 1570. All of these are great guitars that are more geared towards the shred guitarist. Anybody looking for a higher performance guitar owes it to him or herself to at least try one of these guitars and see why they're so popular.
Hatsubai09/12/2011

Hatsubai's review"Very solid Ibanez"

Ibanez RG1570
The RG1527 is the successor to the very famous and successful RG570. It features a basswood body, maple neck and rosewood fretboard. The guitar is equipped with the (then) new Edge Pro floyd, a five way blade switch, volume knob and tone knob. The guitar is a Prestige guitar, so the neck is a five piece neck and ~1mm thicker than the original Wizard.

UTILIZATION

The formula for the RG hasn't changed since the 80s, and it doesn't have to. Everything is pretty much standard affair when comparing this to other RGs. It's built like a rock, but this time, it has the new Prestige neck. The Prestige fretwork is absolutely glorious. You an achieve sick action, and the fret ends felt nicely beveled so you don't snag your hand going up and down the neck. The all access neck joint gives you easy access to the higher frets, and the lower horn rarely gets in your way when doing solo riffs.

SOUNDS

Some people hate basswood, but I love it for lead tones. The stock pickups are weak, but I quickly replaced them with an Air Norton and Steve's Special. I then replaced the switch with a 3 way and completely disconnected the middle pickup as I wasn't using it. The guitar was pretty much set up exactly like John Petrucci's Ibanez models were. The Air Norton gives one of the best lead tones ever, and the Steve's Special sounded tight, clear and articulate. DiMarzios really jive well with basswood guitars.

OVERALL OPINION

Overall, I recommend checking out either the 570 or the 1570. All of these are great guitars that are more geared towards the shred guitarist. Anybody looking for a higher performance guitar owes it to him or herself to at least try one of these guitars and see why they're so popular.
James...09/03/2011

James...'s review"Great with a pickup swap"

Ibanez RG1570
These are a great value for quality. You get an actual edge tremolo. Japan made quality and hardware. In my opinion these are some of the most well constructed guitars in the world. In fact I would argue that you would have to pay 3 times the cost to find a better made guitar. They are just that good. It has the traditional RG body with basswood. Wizard neck. You know the drill. 24 frets. HSH pickups. It's a shred machine.

UTILIZATION

Arguably the best feeling guitar I've ever played. The neck is a dream. Also, the hell carve is a great improvement over the old RG design. It's one of the best designed instruments of all time I think. Great feel and look. Weight is good. It's just near perfect for a shred guitar. The electronics are solid. Best of all The Edge bridge is possibly the best trem ever built. I hate to sound so ecstatic about this guitar, but I have played a lot of super strat types and the RG is by far the best feeling one out there.

SOUNDS

Here is where it falls short. I use a number of amps, but typically I like to play my RG's through a Splawn quick rod or a Mesa Stiletto. Here's the deal though. The stock IBZ pickups are pretty much unremarkable. Are they horrible. No. They sound decent but they lack character. Ibanez designed these to attempt to be all things for all players and the result is a bland and confused sounding set of pickups. For some players they will be okay. It really depends on whether you know what sounds you want. Personally I like flavor so I change them out in every RG I buy.

A lot of guys who with the Tone Zone/Air Norton combo in these, which is fine. Personally I find them a little bit bassy in the rosewood necked RG's. In my RG I have a Super 3 and a Breed neck. They compliment each other pretty well. Fairly high gain pickups. It really depends on what sounds you want, however I've found that the RG's just sound better with Dimarzio's and particularly high gain pickups. With the stock pickups I give it a 5. With good replacements it's an 8 or 9.

OVERALL OPINION

The value here is unbelievable. If you are a metal/hard rock player, you can't do better for under $1600. I mean that. It's a stripped down player's axe. With a pickup switch it's unbeatable. The fretwork is great and the craftsmanship an hardware is top notch. I've owned 4 or 5 of these and they're all great. Go pick up a used one for a few hundred. You won't regret it.
King Loudness08/31/2011

King Loudness's review"Great superstrat"

Ibanez RG1570
The Ibanez Prestige RG1570 BK is one of the most common superstrat type guitars seen today. It's basically an updated version of the famous RG570 from the nineties, but made in the Prestige factory with a few minor changes. It's got a basswood body, a maple neck with rosewood fretboard and 24 frets, the awesome Ibanez AANJ neck joint for killer upper fret access, Ibanez Edge tremolo, Ibanez tuners, an H-S-H pickup configuration, DiMarzio/IBZ pickups, and a control layout of volume, tone and 5 way selector switch. They're made in Japan, and come with a nice Prestige hardshell case as well.

UTILIZATION

The design of the RGs in general is really ergonomic and well thought out for being a shred guitar. The neck is one of their many Wizard models. I personally have grown to find the necks a bit too thin for my tastes, but many shred cats absolutely love them. The body is very light basswood and like most nice Ibanez RGs, it's contoured and sculpted to have great access all around. The neck features their AANJ neck heel, which is perfect for getting right up to the 24th fret. It is also a help that it has direct mounted pickups and a low profile tremolo for keeping things down and out of the way as not to be obtrusive to the picking hand.

Getting a good sound out of this guitar is pretty simple as it's basically designed to play shred/fusion type stuff and it does it fairly well. I'm not a huge fan of Ibanez's stock pickups, but even so the guitar does a decent job at sounding good overall.

SOUNDS

I've tried this guitar through various Peavey and Marshall amplifiers in my younger days and at the time I thought it sounded great. The stock pickups were never my thing (I always preferred proper DiMarzios or Seymour Duncans) but for the high gain lead stuff that I was playing and that the guitar was designed for, it's cool. The neck pickup has a great smooth character that works best for legato or sweep arpeggios. Complex chords also sound cool when used with a cleaner tone. The bridge pickup has a nice snarl to it that is the ticket for faster alternate picking stuff as well as rock rhythm tones. The split coil modes offer a nice spanky sound that is great for vintage type clean tones or some unique distortion flavours.

OVERALL OPINION

I think the Ibanez RG1570 BK is a great shredder's guitar that offers good playability, features and a reasonable set of tones for not a lot of money. They are about $1,100 new which is a killer deal considering the features and craftsmanship. It's not built to the level of a J Custom or a Suhr or something, but for the burgeoning shredder, it's a great choice.
bluediamond8908/21/2011

bluediamond89's review"Good quality instrument"

Ibanez RG1570
It was made in japan, in 2008 .
This is the definitive rg prestige superstrat, with 24 frets, hum-sing-hum pickups, basswood body, 5 piece maple neck with rosewood fingerboard, and ibanez edge pro trem unit. The neck is wizard prestige, with 18mm thickness on the 1st fret, and 20mm on the last fret.

This guitar has the "suede" finish from ibanez. According to my luthier friend, this type of finish is more commonly known as "soft touch" paint, which often used in automotive interior. It's very unique, becuase it looks and feels like rubber to the touch. On the positive side, it wont reveal fingerprints or scratch marks, but on the negative side, this kind of paint is not easy to refinish, so if you managed to dent the finish, it's going to be there forever.
You may or may not like the look of the finish, its according to one's taste. For me, i really like it, because it looks kinda stealthy compared to regular glossy finish.

UTILIZATION

The wizard prestige neck profile is notorious for it's very low action and fast slim shape. Upper fret access is as good as its get for a 24 fret guitar, because the cutaway is deep.
Body shape is kinda ergonomic, because its highly contoured, its very comfortable for playing sitting down. The guitar itself is medium weight, maybe around 3 - 3.5 kgs, so it wont put strain on your back.
Overall build quality feels very rigid, and i do not notice any flaws.
The RG prestige is easily the benchmark when it comes to playability and precise japanese construction.

SOUNDS

Now this is the weak point of this instrument,
1. the stock ibanez pickups are not very good. For me they lack punch, and the top end is not focused, making the instrument a bit fuzzy and honky at certain amp settings.
The v8 bridge, is the better out of the 3, it has vocal quality that is quite similar to dimarzio paf pro, but still you have to be careful on your amp settings to make it sound good. The v8 is usable, but switching to aftermarket pickups will give you very noticeable immprovement on the sound quality.
The s1, is a single coil for middle position, and it lacks the brilliance and glassiness of other single coil, however its also more quiet than other single coil.
The v7 is simply bad, muddy with bad pick attack.
I have since switched the pickup to dimarzio evolution, and the sound improved considerably, but this is a review of the guitar in stock condition.

2. The body is made out of basswood. I hate to admit this, but i have played many instrument with various tonewood. The basswood just isnt the best wood for the body. It is a soft wood, which i feel also "soften" the vibration coming out of the guitar, which means the harmonics is a bit reduced. In my opinion, other tone wood like mahogany, alder, ash, etc offer more color and nuance to the sound.

3. The neck is 24 frets, while some people may like the upper fret access, but it really is a trade-off because it makes the neck pickup sound bad. I have yet found a 24 frets guitar which can do the singing neck tone of "still got the blues", or slash's "sweet child of mine" close to the original. Neck pickup sound from 24frets guitar is colder, less harmonics, less sweet, less glassy, and less noticeable pick attack. Usable for shredding, but not good if you look for that magical singing sustain sound.

OVERALL OPINION

I like the pointy body shape, very classy yet modern, also i like the flat finish which makes it looks like no ordinary iinstrument, also the neck shape is very comfortable, and the craftmanhip is flawless. The only setback is the sound, which i think is OK, but nothing great. If you willing to spend a hundred bucks you can upgrade the pickup and turn it into a good sounding instrument.
The value : for 350 bucks this guitar is a steal, this is basically the same guitar other people would pay 2000++ for only cosmetics differences (ibanez JEM, PGM, JS, etc.)
This is my project guitar, which means it will see many upgrades in the future.
tjon90106/23/2011

tjon901's review"Prestige RG"

Ibanez RG1570
The Ibanez Prestige factory in Japan is where they make their best guitars. These guitars get more attention and quality control than all the other Ibanez guitars. The RG1570 is the modern version of the classic RG570. It is made in the Ibanez Prestige factory in Japan and the quality really shows. Like most Ibanez RG's it features a basswood body with a maple neck and rosewood fretboard. The prestige models get a 5 piece neck for extra stability. This means the neck is made from 5 pieces of wood to help prevent warping. This is important when you have a neck as thin as an Ibanez RG neck. The Edge Pro tremolo system is one of the best on the market and once setup it holds tune perfectly. It has a set of Ibanez pickups in an HSH configuration and a master volume and master tone control with a 5 way switch.

UTILIZATION

Playability is the name of the game when it comes to Ibanez RG guitars. Ibanez got it right in the 80s and they havent messed it up. A superstrat body with deep cutaways connected to a super thin neck makes playing everywhere on the neck a breeze. Ibanez gives special care to the fretwork on the prestige models, this is the greatest difference between the prestige models and the normal models. Like many of the new Ibanez RG models the 1570 features the all access neck joint so you can comfortably play in the high registers of the neck.

SOUNDS

Im not a big fan of basswood. I think many companies use it to cut costs. The Ibanez pickups are also not very good. The neck pickup provides an okay sound. It can be smooth for solos and leads and clean stuff. The bridge pickup is too weak. I had to check if my volume knob what up all the way when I plugged it in. Coming from a guitar with high output pickups to this shows you how bad some factory pickups can be. Their guitars match up well with aftermarket pickups. Most people only put Dimarzios in Ibanez guitars but other brands work well too. A pickup change can help get a heavier sound out of the basswood. With the single coil in the middle you must remember that the single coil will produce much more ambient noise than the two humbuckers. So keep this in mind when you are switching pickups. If you are looking for a straight metal tone a set of EMG's could make this guitar a monster.

OVERALL OPINION

The Prestige series are players guitars. These guitars are made to be played. The Ibanez RG Prestige is one of the premier metal guitars on the market. The guitar does not compromise in its playability. Every part of the guitar is designed to help you play better or faster. For anyone looking for an easy playing guitar I recommend they look at the Ibanez RG, and the best RG's are the prestige models. With a pickup swap this guitar can run with anything on the market.
Hatsubai06/22/2011

Hatsubai's review"A bit ugly, but plays great"

Ibanez RG1570
The RG1570 is the successor to the very famous and successful RG570. It features a basswood body, maple neck and rosewood fretboard. The guitar is equipped with the (then) new Edge Pro floyd, a five way blade switch, volume knob and tone knob. The guitar is a Prestige guitar, so the neck is a five piece neck and ~1mm thicker than the original Wizard.

UTILIZATION

The formula for the RG hasn't changed since the 80s, and it doesn't have to. Everything is pretty much standard affair when comparing this to other RGs. It's built like a rock, but this time, it has the new Prestige neck. The Prestige fretwork is absolutely glorious. You an achieve sick action, and the fret ends felt nicely beveled so you don't snag your hand going up and down the neck. The all access neck joint gives you easy access to the higher frets, and the lower horn rarely gets in your way when doing solo riffs.

SOUNDS

Some people hate basswood, but I love it for lead tones. The stock pickups are weak, but I quickly replaced them with an Air Norton and Steve's Special. I then replaced the switch with a 3 way and completely disconnected the middle pickup as I wasn't using it. The guitar was pretty much set up exactly like John Petrucci's Ibanez models were. The Air Norton gives one of the best lead tones ever, and the Steve's Special sounded tight, clear and articulate. DiMarzios really jive well with basswood guitars.

OVERALL OPINION

Overall, I recommend checking out either the 570 or the 1570. All of these are great guitars that are more geared towards the shred guitarist. Anybody looking for a higher performance guitar owes it to him or herself to at least try one of these guitars and see why they're so popular.
tjon90105/15/2011

tjon901's review"The flagship RG"

Ibanez RG1570
The RG1570 is the modern version of the classic RG570. It is made in the Ibanez Prestige factory in Japan and the quality really shows. Like most Ibanez RG's it features a basswood body with a maple neck and rosewood fretboard. The prestige models get a 5 piece neck for extra stability. This means the neck is made from 5 pieces of wood to help prevent warping. This is important when you have a neck as thin as an Ibanez RG neck. The Edge Pro tremolo system is one of the best on the market and once setup it holds tune perfectly.

UTILIZATION

Playability is the name of the game when it comes to Ibanez RG guitars. Ibanez got it right in the 80s and they havent messed it up. A superstrat body with deep cutaways connected to a super thin neck makes playing everywhere on the neck a breeze. Ibanez gives special care to the fretwork on the prestige models, this is the greatest difference between the prestige models and the normal models. Like many of the new Ibanez RG models the 1570 features the all access neck joint so you can comfortably play in the high registers of the neck.

SOUNDS

Im not a big fan of basswood. I think many companies use it to cut costs. The Ibanez pickups are also not very good. Their guitars match up well with aftermarket pickups. Most people only put Dimarzios in Ibanez guitars but other brands work well too. A pickup change can help get a heavier sound out of the basswood. With the single coil in the middle you must remember that the single coil will produce much more ambient noise than the two humbuckers. So keep this in mind when you are switching pickups.

OVERALL OPINION

The Ibanez RG Prestige is one of the premier metal guitars on the market. The guitar does not compromise in its playability. Every part of the guitar is designed to help you play better or faster. For anyone looking for an easy playing guitar I recommend they look at the Ibanez RG, and the best RG's are the prestige models. With a change of a couple parts on the guitar they become some of the best guitars on the market.
Hatsubai03/17/2011

Hatsubai's review"My first Ibanez"

Ibanez RG1570
The RG1570 is the successor to the very famous and successful RG570. It features a basswood body, maple neck and rosewood fretboard. The guitar is equipped with the (then) new Edge Pro floyd, a five way blade switch, volume knob and tone knob. The guitar is a Prestige guitar, so the neck is a five piece neck and ~1mm thicker than the original Wizard.

UTILIZATION

The formula for the RG hasn't changed since the 80s, and it doesn't have to. Everything is pretty much standard affair when comparing this to other RGs. It's built like a rock, but this time, it has the new Prestige neck. The Prestige fretwork is absolutely glorious. You an achieve sick action, and the fret ends felt nicely beveled so you don't snag your hand going up and down the neck. The all access neck joint gives you easy access to the higher frets, and the lower horn rarely gets in your way when doing solo riffs.

SOUNDS

Some people hate basswood, but I love it for lead tones. The stock pickups are weak, but I quickly replaced them with an Air Norton and Steve's Special. I then replaced the switch with a 3 way and completely disconnected the middle pickup as I wasn't using it. The guitar was pretty much set up exactly like John Petrucci's Ibanez models were. The Air Norton gives one of the best lead tones ever, and the Steve's Special sounded tight, clear and articulate. DiMarzios really jive well with basswood guitars.

OVERALL OPINION

Overall, I recommend checking out either the 570 or the 1570. All of these are great guitars that are more geared towards the shred guitarist. Anybody looking for a higher performance guitar owes it to him or herself to at least try one of these guitars and see why they're so popular.