Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410
+
Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410

Hot Rod DeVille 410, Tube Combo Guitar Amp from Fender in the Hot Rod Deville series.

All user reviews for the Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410

  • Like
  • Tweet
  • Submit
Average Score:4.7( 4.7/5 based on 14 reviews )
 10 reviews71 %
 4 reviews29 %
King Loudness10/31/2011

King Loudness's review"Good gigging amp"

Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410
The Fender Hot Rod Deville 4x10 is a great sounding dual channel amp that offers the same setup as the classic Fender amps like the 4x10 Bassman or 4x10 Super Reverb. There is a clean channel and a drive channel with footswitchable boost. It puts out a LOUD 40 watts of tube power and is driven by 6L6s in the power section. It has onboard reverb as well to provide a bit of ambiance. It's a pretty common backline amp like the HR Deluxe and I've used a few of them at jams and festivals over the years.

UTILIZATION

Getting a good sound out of this rig is pretty simple. The controls are pretty intuitive and it sounds good. Truth be told I've mostly used this amp with pedals providing the core tones, but even so, the EQ is good to dial in and the amp is quite dynamic and clear sounding even at high volumes. I particularly like the tone when in a band mix and using pedals such as my Diamond Compressor to enhance the tones. The EQ controls are easy to use, the reverb is fairly lush and the gain controls have a good smooth taper to them.

SOUNDS

I've tried this amp with various guitars, mostly all humbucker loaded solidbodies of various brands. It seems to sound best on the clean channel driving pedals. The clean channel is a nice clear and open sounding Fender clean that has a great open quality enhanced by the 4 10" speakers, which gives a thicker/fuller sound than the 1x12 Hot Rod Deluxe in my opinion. The drive channel is not bad but I find it to be a bit brittle sounding and not nearly as smooth as I'd like for fusion/shred lead work, but also not thick or high gain enough for hard rock rhythms. It's got a nice character, but even so I found myself using a dirt box into the clean channel or boosting the overdrive channel with a smoother overdrive for leads.

OVERALL OPINION

All in all I think the Fender Hot Rod Deville 4x10 is a good buy for anyone looking for a loud and good sounding gigging amp that won't cost a fortune. They can be had for about $500 used which is a pretty good price considering the quality of tone. The drive channel isn't my favourite but the clean tones work well enough with pedals in front to be more than adequate for sure. Even considering the fact that I don't care for the drive channel, I still think this amp is definitely worth a look for sure.
iamqman07/10/2011

iamqman's review"Nice and tight"

Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410
These amps have been one of the most if not the most popular amp Fender has ever built. They have three channels or two with a boost on the second and a fantastic tone. These amps stay tighter on the low end than the 2x12 or Deluxe because of the 10 in speakers. These speakers help keep the low end together better which makes it ideal for single coil guitars.

These amps sound great and take great orders from its users. They obey when instructed to do so for gigs and practicing. They have a great tone and a take pedals extremely well. These amps will travel the distance with you night after night of gigging. You can rely on them except for the light indicator that tells you if the amp is o or not. These little bulbs are notorious for going out on these amps.

UTILIZATION

Details
Type Tube
Number of Channels Three
Power 60W
Speakers 4 x 10" Special Design Eminence
No Effects
Reverb Yes
EQ Treble, Bass, Middle
No Modeling
Preamp Tubes 3 x 12AX7
Power Tubes 2 x 6L6
Inputs 2 x Instrument
Outputs 1 x Speaker
Footswitch I/O Yes
Effects Loop Yes
Height 23.5"
Width 23.5"
Depth 10.75"
Weight 50 lbs.

SOUNDS

Now that they have a usable gain channel then this amp has much more flexibility that before. The old amps were just outright sloppy. The bad thing is that these amps are made in Mexico. Only if the Hot Rod lll were made in the USA would I buy this amp. So they are going to be cheaper made and will break down on you a lot quicker. I'm not sure if they fixed the jewel light from going out on this model. Everyone who owned this amp knows that the light always goes out on these things.

Anyway, use this amp with any nice guitar. I like this amp with a solid Gibson Les Paul. I used it with a Line 6 Dl4 and a Ibanez Ts9 and I had some great tones that cut through the band quite well. The distortion is a bit muddy on these and I generally would use a pedal.

OVERALL OPINION

If you are on the market for a good tube amp that has two moderate low gain but usable gain then this might be the amp for you. However I would never buy this amp since its made in Mexico. Too bad to because this is a great amp and the Hot Rod lll's are even better as far as distortion wise For the price of this amp I would buy a used Marshall JCM2000. At new these amps come in at around $899. You can even pick up a Peavey 5150 for the price of this thing.
MGR/Joe the one and only01/11/2009

MGR/Joe the one and only's review"Fender Hot Rod Deville 410"

Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410
There really aren't a lot of details to say about this, it's a straight up Rockin' amp. 65 Watts all tube extremely amazing sound. I love the 4 10 inch speakers and I'll never buy 12s again. Also worth noting it has 3 channels... sort of. They say it has 3 but in reality it has a clean channel, a drive channel, and one that essentially boosts the drive channel called the "More Drive" channel.

I bought this amp when Guitar Center had a sale, but I forget how much exactly I paid. I want to say $750.

It's really a great amp with an amazing sound. It's smooth as butter with a bite like a pirahna.

Ok so these aren't big things but they are the little things that bother me. As with all tube amps this thing sounds better louder, but when you can't get loud it's a little frustrating. It stills sounds good, but not really great. Base line if you live in an apartment and there's no chance of you ever doing a gig, you might want to get something smaller.

Also
NOT FOR METAL! If you're into metal think Marshall, or maybe the 212 model.

great quality great construction.

Bottom line, this is the amp that rules. It was one of those finds where you sit down and play it and angels pop out and sing a chorus. To quote me comparing it to another one. "That amp sounds like a good tube amp, the Fender deville sounds like God's tube amp" But with most things you have to find the one that YOU like, may be this one may not be this one.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Tomsolo 09/02/2004

MGR/Tomsolo 's review"Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410"

Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410
I bought this beauty used at a local Guitar Center for $599.00. I was looking around for a new tube amp and I had heard many good things about the DeVille line. I wanted to re-construct my playing tone after taking a break from music for a couple months. I had done some research into the amps that my favorite bands were playing with and Fender DeVille kept coming up. I played through the DeVille for about half an hour and decided it was the one. I bought an extended warranty from GC for $70 because it was used. $700.12 later, I was out the door.

Where to begin?... The Fender name itself rings with quality, reliabilty and a history of exceptional products. As a recovering Marshall 1/2 stack player, I welcomed the portability of the 410 immediately. 60 Watts blasting through 4 ten inch speaks is more than enough to rise above the sonic levels of a full band practicing. In fact playing at 4 is loud enough. The distorted channel provides a significant performance boost for leads or (depending on your style) crunchy rhythm parts. The no-brainer knobs let you dial in just the right amount highs, mids, lows and distortion properties. The warm tube sounds (courtesy of Fender's Groove Tube) go very well with Humbuckers, providing depth and strength. I don't play with reverb, but I you're into it, the DeVille won't let you down. The unit comes with a two-action footswitch and an amp cover (does anyone really use those things?)

The only thing I found was that it took a while for me to find the sweet spot- the mix of guitar volume and amp volume. Every guitar and practice circumstances are different, so spend the hour to just sit in front of thre amp and dial it in. Another problem I had was the 3 ft footswitch cable, I mean come on! Besides that, it's great.

Usual durable Fender construction. Easy access tubes. I recommend a warranty in case it falls out of the van on the way to a show. But I'm one of those "just-in-case" types

I had a buddy who always said "it's all about the tone, man." He was right! I highly recommend the DeVille to players of all styles. It's a bit expensive new, but it will be the only amp you'll ever need to buy in your career. My motto: Buy it right the first time and it will be the only time. From rocking your parents garage to a stadium tour, this amp will see you through. Enjoy!

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Steve Joordens12/11/2002

MGR/Steve Joordens's review"Fender DeVille 410"

Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410
I purchased this amp at Steve's Guitar store on Queen street, Toronto, Canada. I was looking for an amp with good blues and rock tone, and one the worked well with my Yamaha SBG 200 ... of all the amps I tried, this (and its sister the 212) sounded the best to my ear. I paid $1140 Canadian for the amp, the 212 was about $50 cheaper.

In a word, tone. I directly compared it to similarly priced solid state Fenders and was convinced that yes, the tubes give you a much better sound. I also liked the genuine spring reverb. With the channel clean and the reverb up the surfing sound is fantastic. The overdrive is also a nice clean (though clearly driven) sound, and the "more drive" setting is good when you really want to get down and dirty. The tones are great for blues and psychedelic music. Oh, and its plenty loud. One last thing, it does allow two inputs, one of which is set a little lower than the other. When one guitarist is playing, they can then choose how dark they like the sound (input 2 being darker). When both are used simo then they are equated.

Hmmm, not too much. I would have prefered side handles for carrying (the unit weighs about 50 lbs ... the 212 is a little heavier still) ... it would have been nice to have a reverb switch on the stomp box ... hmmm, that's about it. Tone is what matters, right? And it has tone.

Seems very rugged, though I really haven't put it through too much yet. The cover is a nice touch. The look matches the tone, retro classic fender. Controls are "top back" mounted which works well given its typical floor placement.

Great sounding classic amp. It doesn't have all those modeling bells and whistles, but with the combination of two inputs, a clean, drive and more drive setting, a presence and reverb dial, and the typical other controls, you can get plenty of great tone out of this unit. It really rocks and it is fantastic for blues.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Bacon07/26/2002

MGR/Bacon's review"Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410"

Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410
Our band has been rehearsing at a local music store and rather than lug all my junk in I'd just been plugging into various stuff in stock at the store. I'd been plugging into this amp for a while and gradually grew quite fond of it to the point of finally buying it. I got a screaming deal on it (the store is managed by my son) $400.00.

I've been playing amp/cab stacks for over 20 years and the idea of having an amp I can carry in one hand has grown more and more appealing over the years. Although somewhat heavy, this amp meets this criteria AND it is still a powerhouse. I still can't believe 60 watts can produce so much power. The clean sound is heavenly and is what I use for the most part, depending on outboard stomp boxes for most of my sonic embellishments. Nevertheless, this amp breaks up very nicely, probably.. no... certainly the best overdrive I've heard from a Fender amp particularly at high volume. Foot switchable from clean to dirty, to more dirty. Killer reverb! You want surf guitar, crank it up to 10 and boost the treble a bit and you'll be right up there with Dick Dale. From 1 to 3 gives you a really nice tone boost.

I'd like to see separate eq for the clean and overdrive channels. The knobs move a bit too easily and care is required to move the amp without changing the settings.

Typical Fender construction. Very well built. I've been gigging with this amp for a couple of month, not really long enough to draw any real quality conclusions, but it has been absolutely consistent and reliable so far.

Power, tone, portability.. Not perfect but the best overall package I've found in over 30 years.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/MC Clellan02/17/2002

MGR/MC Clellan's review"Fender Hot Rod Deville 410"

Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410
Bought it at Sam Ash for $750 (price also included guitar stand). I was looking for a tube combo in this price range, something loud with killer tone, but affordable.

Great tone from both channels. On the overdrive channel, all you have to do is dial up the drive on "8" and volume up to "3" and it does wonders. Loud enough to go over the drums, with tone straight out of "All Right Now" by Free (and this is with my Tele!!). The clean channel gives you stinging blues and country sounds, and it really does have a competent jazz tone as well.

Heavy!! Fender lists the weight at 50 lbs., but that isn't even close. Must be in the area of 70-80 lbs.

I still baby the thing when I travel with it, but it looks like it could take a licking and still keep ticking. It certainly looks good: it has a decidedly old school vibe to it.

I recommend it as long as you don't have back problems. Great tone, much beefier than you expect from Fender. Very 70s.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Joey Samaniego08/15/2001

MGR/Joey Samaniego's review"Fender Deville 410"

Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410
After I stopped trying to look for the perfect stack or a great modeling amp, I decided to try out some combos, but ones that could compete with a stack, volume wise, and had tone even a modeler couldn't acheive. I then stumbled upon the Fender Deville 410. I purchased it at a small but extremely nice shop called Graysons Tune Town, and purchased for a fair price of $760 with tax.

Now what makes this amp great is its power, tone ,reliabilaty and simple but professional looks. It can get very loud, I'm saying there is no need mic it at even at good size shows. It's tone is great, at clean you get a smooth warm tone and its distortion is fat and with nice punch, but if your lookin for metal distortion you'll have to nab a petal. And you can acheive some interesting tones using reverb. All in all this amps a rocker with guts and classic tube tone.

There are only a few small things I dislike about this piece. At low volumes, if the normal channel volume is higher than the overdrive(distortion) channel when you switch there is a popping noise, but that is not a problem even when the volumes on two. Another thing is volume wise one to six is a great increase but after there is not that much more.But at six there is still a sufficient amount of volume. And the last flaw is that the switch petal does not comtain a reverb switch, so you cant turn it off unless you turn the knob on the main unit. But besides these small flaws This amp is great.

This amp is sturdy and very throughly done. There is no skimping on this model. As for the quality, it sports four ten inch Jensen speakers and its tubes are Groove Tubes which are quite nice. The only thing I dont like construction wise is that the amp is fairly heavy and only has one small handle on the top.

All in all this is a fantastic amp. Very loud while not sacrifing tone, great distortion, great tone and good looks, it competes with a stack for volume and has a unique tone a modeler will strain to get. It will due you good on stage, in the studio or at home. This is a nice amp.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Anonymous06/25/2001

MGR/Anonymous's review"Fender Hot Rod DeVille"

Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410
I bought the amp in a Music Store stopping on my way home from work on a Friday evening. I had had a tough week and just wanted to talk a bit to the people at the store who were always friendly. So friendly in fact, that they told me to try out the - at that time - new Fender Hot Rods. In the end, I bought one - see below why. I paid about $ 440 for it - a good price in Germany.



The clean sound is the best I've ever heard and I've played a number of amps, tube and solid state. Warm, full and with a light sparkle. The weak side of many Fenders is the overdrive sound and that's where the amp completely convinced me to buy it. The drive sound gives you a rough overdrive, ideal for classic rock and blues while the more drive switch (channels are footswitchable) adds drive and volume, nice for leads. Add to this the Fender reverb and you're set for a very versatile, good sounding amp.



I don't know which pots they used, but when practicing, you have to be careful with the volume control, just breathe at it or it gets too loud too soon. The reverb gets also a bit too much after "3" on a "10" scale, but until that it's great. Sometimes it's a bit difficult to dial in an eq setting that works equally well for the three sounds the amp offers. All the channels share one eq section. I'd like one eq section for clean and another one for overdrive. But it works, it just needs more work.


Rock solid, I bought it 4 years ago and had no problems whatsoever.



I'd buy it again any time. Great amp for a lot of styles: Blues, Classic rock, Country and even some Jazz. What it can't do is Heavy metal - but that's what stomp box distortions are for.



This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Anonymous06/25/2001

MGR/Anonymous's review"Fender Hot Rod DeVille"

Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410
Purchased at guitar center for $699. Guitar center has a 30 day return policy, which was nice since I returned it at the end of the 30 day period. I wanted an amplifier with that classic clean, fender tone for rock and blues.



Looks great. Simple and straight forward controls. Lots of power for higher volume levels. Sounds like a Fender should when you play it with a single coil guitar. The drive channel sounds really good for blues. The more drive setting is also good for a raspy blues rock feel.



No reverb switch. Even though it has two channels, it only has one set of EQ settings. The volume level is very sensitive, from 3 to 5 the volume level exponenentially increases. From 5-10 moderate increases in volume level. Who put the logarithmic pot in, and why??? With a single coil pickup guitar it sounds good, but high output humbuckers make it distort on the clean channel for any volume above 3. This was a great dissappointment. When I was in the store, I played the amp through a tele, and a strat all the way up to 10 on the clean channel and everything was good. When I got it home, same thing with my strat. However, my les paul totally overwhelmed the input stage so that the 6L6s were coloring the sound with a mild distortion at any volume level above 3 on the clean channel.



Contructed very well. Solid and decent looking.



Overall, if you play at lower volume levels and want a clean and bluesy sounds it is a great amp. However, I would not recommend it to anyone who uses a high output humbucker that is looking for clean jazzy tones. The amplifier saturates at any moderate to higher volume levels that causes a slight distortion quality. Many people may like this feature, it just did not suit my tastes.



This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com