Saturation effects pedals
Guitar Effects Saturation effects pedals

Saturation effects pedals reviews

  • A review of the Electro-Harmonix Deluxe Big Muff Pi
    review

    A review of the Electro-Harmonix Deluxe Big Muff Pi - Pi in Your Face

    01/06/15

    For many guitarists, the first thing that comes to mind when they hear the term “fuzz box” is the Big Muff Pi from Electro-Harmonix. With the new Deluxe Big Muff Pi, the company has added some cool additional features to its classic fuzz pedal.

  • Boss reinvents the DS distortion pedal
    review

    Boss reinvents the DS distortion pedal - Review of the Boss DS-1X

    07/30/14

    This year, Boss has been releasing new stompboxes at a prodigious pace: two at Winter NAMM and three at Summer NAMM. All are reinventions of older Boss pedals. The DS-1X, released along with the OD-1X in January, is a revamped digital version of the DS-1. How does it compare to its predecessor? We tested them head to head as part of this review.

  • Review of the Boss OD-1X OverDrive
    review

    Review of the Boss OD-1X OverDrive - An Overdrive Pedal with a New Look and Feel

    06/17/14

    The Boss OD-1X OverDrive was one of two new stompboxes the company announced at NAMM 2014 (the DS-1X Distortion was the other). It features the company’s recently developed Multi-Dimensional Processing (MDP) technology and promises a superior playing experience to analog pedals. Does it deliver?

  • Electro-Harmonix EHX Tortion Review
    review

    Electro-Harmonix EHX Tortion Review - Tubey or not Tubey, that is the question.

    05/28/14

    Since the days of the original Big Muff Pi, Electro-Harmonix has been building distortion pedals, and one of its latest entries is the EHX Tortion ($179). Way more than just a distortion effect, it also offers a range of overdrive sounds, pleasing clean tones, a boost channel, and you even get amp simulation via its direct out.

  • Palmer Automat Review
    review

    Palmer Automat Review - Distautowah

    02/24/14

    On the occasion of our recently published Palmer Mutterstolz distortion pedal review, your favorite website decided to revisit some of the German brand's Root Effects, and here we review Automat, an analog distortion/auto-wah that saw the light of day in February 2012.

  • Palmer Mutterstolz Review
    review

    Palmer Mutterstolz Review - Make Your Mamma Proud

    02/13/14

    Back in the day when fluorescent colors were in fashion, amps resembled fridges, all the songs on the radio had a guitar solo after the second chorus, and the Berlin Wall was still standing (Bingo!, the '80s), German brand Palmer made a name for itself among guitar players with products such as the very popular PI-03 speaker simulator in rack form…

  • Flickinger Caged Crow, Vicious Cricket and Germanium Griffin Review
    review

    Flickinger Caged Crow, Vicious Cricket and Germanium Gr… - Tone Box from the USA

    10/03/13

    Let me introduce you today to a pedal series directly from the U.S. of A.

  • Wampler The Paisley Drive Review
    review

    Wampler The Paisley Drive Review - This Is Country Music

    09/09/12

    The market of guitar stompboxes is quite saturated — competition is hard, manufacturers fight against each other with new controls and serial numbers. While I was reviewing a Blues 3000, I got the features of my next mission: handcrafted, overdrive, versatility. When I saw these three words together, I jumped into my mustang and headed out west.

  • Wampler SLOstorsion Review
    review

    Wampler SLOstorsion Review - Save the Soldano

    08/12/12

    All experienced fans of long-haired distortion know the famous Soldano SLO-100 made in the 80's: this amp seduced big names in the guitar world — nobody less than Eric Clapton, Mike Landau, Lou Reed... With its mythic Crunch channel, this amp quickly became a reference product in the small electric guitar universe.

  • Red Witch Fuzz God II, Medusa, Pentavocal Trem and Titan Review
    review

    Red Witch Fuzz God II, Medusa, Pentavocal Trem and Tita… - Stomping Down Under

    03/13/11

    Music is universal — even people in New Zealand, who live down under, play music. They even make guitar stompboxes. And of course, that's what interests us more here at AudioFanzine. Focus on four analog stompboxes...