Gibson SG Standard
+
Gibson SG Standard

SG Standard, SG-Shaped Guitar from Gibson in the SG series.

  • Increase or decrease font size
  • Print
  • RSS

All user reviews for the Gibson SG Standard

  • Like
  • Tweet
  • Submit
Average Score:4.6( 4.6/5 based on 89 reviews )
 63 reviews71 %
 14 reviews16 %
 2 reviews2 %
 1 user review1 %
 4 reviews4 %
Value For Money : Excellent
View price information
heads on fire11/25/2011

heads on fire's review"It's a classic for a reason."

Gibson SG Standard
Made in the USA (Nashville, TN, or Kalamazoo, MI for the older ones)
Mahogany double cutaway body
Mahogany set in neck
Rosewood fingerboard
22 frets
Trapezoid inlays
Gibson/Kluson vintage tuners
2 volume, 2 tone, 3-way pickup selector switch
2 Gibson humbucking pickups, covered
Tuneamatic bridge and stop tailpiece, or vibrato tailpiece
1/4" output jack

UTILIZATION

Playability is a dream on an SG Standard. The double cutaways are very deep, and the neck joins the body near the end of the fretboard, closer than on most guitars, so fret access is sublime. The neck feels fantastic, as if the carve and fretboard radius were built for my hand. Controls are easy to reach, yet plugging in a straight end cable is a tad annoying, as it juts out near the controls. My guitar has a Maestro Vibrato system, and it is great for subtle Bigsby-style vibrato, with a severe helping of cool. It's a classy, yet edgy looking guitar.

SOUNDS

This guitar is bold and aggressive, but can be smooth and subtle. The inherent acoustic resonance is undeniable - you can feel the guitar vibrate in your hand, probably more than any other guitar I have ever played. Bridge pickup tones would cut through a steel bank vault, with all the bite in the world, yet all notes and chords retain a crystal clarity. The neck pickup tone is thick and singing, which is what you hear on the early Santana records.

OVERALL OPINION

This guitar is fantastic, a true classic. There is a reason why this guitar is one of the most enduring and iconic designs of all time - it rocks! The SG Standard is a true winner all the way around, and I would recommend that every guitar player try one out at some point.
ericthegreat11/24/2011

ericthegreat's review"good ol guitar"

Gibson SG Standard
I have been eyeing a Gibson SG Standard for quite a while now. I picked this one off the wall at GC in Texas and I fell in love. The coil-tap is sweet but it isn't perfect and to be honest if you are truly looking for that single-coil tone then just buy a Stratocaster. What it does provide is the ability to gig with one guitar and get darn close to that true single-coil sound when you need it.

UTILIZATION

The finish is beautiful, I have the Vintage Sunburst and I love it. The sounds are bold, cutting and pristine. They shine on solos they just have that ability to cut through the band. Many of my band members thought I spent much more than the retail price. The neck is amazing smooth and comfortable. The binding is beautiful and adds to the authentic look and feel of the Les Paul. Just in genereal the feel of this guitar is great and it has a really nice color to it as well. I think this version comes in a few different colors.

SOUNDS

The guitar is heavy don't discount that if you play long sets. I am used to a relatively heavy guitar. This LP isn't chambered. which is something that I enjoy. I feel that chambering, although reduces weight, calms down sustain. This baby will hold a note while you grab a sandwich and when you get back it will still be humming.

OVERALL OPINION

The overall sound of the guitar is everything you would expect from a Les Paul. Every note shines through out of this instrument. I play it through a Mesa/Boogie Mark V and it basically sounds as perfect as I had imagined it would in my head. You can never go wrong with a Gibson, I definitely recommend getting this one. The SG Gibson Standard is at the top of its class.
synfactory10/23/2011

synfactory's review"A great rock machine!!!"

Gibson SG Standard
Nashville (Usa) Made, Mahogany body Ebony Black Gibson SG standard, 2 volume, 2 tone controls, center, 300k Linear Volume, 500k Non-linear Tonebridge.
Center, bridge and neck pickup selector, the pickups are alnico made 498T in the bridge and 490R in the neck, Gibson updated rendition of the original PAF humbuckers of the late 50's early 60's.
Rosewood fingerboard with 22 frets, with chrome stop bar, pickups and tune O-Matic.
Nickel vintage tuners with perloid buttons. Comes with a black Gibson hardshell case.


UTILIZATION

A very nice guitar to play with, easy access to all frets and lighter than a Les Paul, a really ergonomic a easy guitar to play with.

SOUNDS

I had this guitar for 10 years now, and I've used it with a lot of different amps, cabs, effects etc.
I recently changed the stock pickups with Bareknuckle ones.
With the stock ones it was quite acid and "trebly" but I changed my tuning to D standard and with the new pickups it's a rock/heavy rock machine.
It can easily goes from clean Jazzy dark tones in the neck position to heavy rhythm and sharp leads in the bridge position.
I've toured a lot with this guitar, and even with the standard tuners and with a 11-52 set of strings it maintains the guitar in tune for a lot of time.
A great guitar for blues too.

OVERALL OPINION

This a guitar that today can be found for a lot less money from 10 years ago. My advice is to try it before, especially if you buy it used, I've read from various sources that the Quality standards from those years were a little bit up and down.
If you find a good one, however I strongly advice to take it, it is a rock monster, that can easily cover a lot of ground even with the stock pickups, great value for the price of it, I would easily buy another one in an heartbeat.
iamqman09/15/2011

iamqman's review"Standard to no one"

Gibson SG Standard
The Gibson SG guitar is a fun guitar in a very unique but comfortable looking guitar. It takes a lot of influence from the Gibson Les Paul guitars and in fact it had the Les Paul name on the trust Rod pick up cover when it was first introduced. This is a nice guitar if you want to do a lot of lead soloing on because compared to the Gibson Les Paul which is has the body in position where it's much more difficult to reach the higher frets. This guitar allows you to reach the higher frets more easily because of the shape of the contour neck heel. This guitar comes with two humbucker pickups, two volume control knobs, and two tone control knobs. It's pretty versatile guitar and a great mahogany wood body and neck. It's a little thinner tone that the Gibson Les Paul basically because of the thinner body style.

UTILIZATION


The features are pretty minimal on this guitar. They don't have pull switches or any coil tapping push pull knobs of any kind. This is a straight up rockers guitar and a pretty basic set up as you would imagine a Gibson guitar being.

The tone of these guitars are excellent for hard rock and metal playing. They have a great fine warm tone that is very reminiscent of its predecessor the Gibson Les Paul. The tone is a little bit thinner but more focused in my opinion. It's much easier to get a good clean tone from his guitar than being from a Gibson Les Paul.

SOUNDS


I love the way this guitar sounds with a good hard rock high gain amplifier such as a Marshall amplifier, Mesa boogie amplifier, or any other amplifier they can get in the high gain saturation regions. It will take a good load of saturation very easily and be able to hear each note pretty crisp and clear because of the fine-tuning that this guitar has. Overall this is an amazing guitar an excellent look and feel.

OVERALL OPINION


I highly recommend this guitar to anyone looking for a good players guitar that can be used for recording and even large amounts of gigging. This is a great guitar for someone who needs a solid instrument for a bedroom player as well. They are readily available in the used section and classifieds. And you can also find them new online or in most guitar retailers. I love the feel of these guitars and for the price you can find them at it is a no brainer for me.
iamqman09/14/2011

iamqman's review"Just plain awesome!"

Gibson SG Standard
The Gibson SG standard is the entry level guitar if you're wanting to get into Gibson SG market. This is a beautiful guitar with its red paint job and black pick guard. It's a fine instrument if you really like the sound of the mahogany wood body and mahogany neck. It's going to be a warm and musical tone any more focused tone in my opinion comparatively to a Gibson Les Paul guitar.

UTILIZATION


This guitar features two humbucker pick ups with two volume control knobs and two tone control knobs. It has a nice pearl block inlay which really sets the look of this guitar off. it's a nice well-balanced guitar and the body is a little thinner than a Gibson Les Paul but still retains much of the influence that it takes from the Gibson Les Paul guitar. The neck is going to be a much more versatile neck because you're able to reach the higher friends easier than you would a Gibson Les Paul guitar.

SOUNDS


This guitar works in just about any amplifier that you have. I primarily like these guitars any medium to high gain amplifier setting. So if you have a good Marshall amplifier or some other amplifier or a good power to distortion then this guitar will sound very excellent in that setting. This guitar has a good focused tone that is very intense and brilliant. I preferred this tone over a Gibson Les Paul tone and little bit more but just slightly only because of the versatility and thinner lighter tone that is has.

This guitar sounds great when you couple it with effects pedals or distortion pedals as well. So if you have a clean amp such as a fender twin reverb or some other clean amp then you'll need a distortion pedal so this guitar will work good with that equipment as well.

OVERALL OPINION


I highly recommend this guitar to anyone looking for a good professional high gain or recording guitar. It has a great look very good balance and seal throughout the body and next of the guitar. It's a beautiful color of red anxious to warm tone as well.
iamqman09/03/2011

iamqman's review"BLack and beauty"

Gibson SG Standard
The Gibson SG is a fantastic rock 'n roll guitar. Is one of the most iconic guitar is a Gibson or any other guitar manufacture for that matter has ever constructed. As a classic look with the two cutaways on the top and bottom of the body. It has a longer scaled length which allows even more versatility than a Gibson Les Paul. Overall this is a great sounding and playing guitar. You can get a lot of miles out of the versatility of this guitar much more than I find with a Gibson Les Paul.



UTILIZATION

Body Species: Mahogany

Hardware
Plating Finish: Chrome

Tailpiece: Gibson Stop Bar

Bridge: Gibson Tune-O-Matic

Tuners: Grover Kluson Style Green Keys

Electronics
Neck Pickup: 490R

Bridge Pickup: 498T

Pickup Covers: Yes

Controls: 2 Volume - 2 Tone - 3-Way Toggle

Control Knobs: Black Tophats with Silver Inserts

Control Pocket Cover: Black Molded

Special Features: Quick-Connect Control Pocket Assembly

Neck
Species: Mahogany

Nut: Corian

Nut Width: Standard Gibson: 1.695" +/- .050"

Headstock Inlay: Mother of Pearl Gibson Logo + Holly

Truss Rod: Gibson Adjustable Truss Rod

Truss Rod Cover: Bell-shaped cover, stamped "SG"

Fingerboard
Fingerboard Species: Rosewood

Inlays: Figured Acrylic Trapezoid

Fingerboard Binding: Antique Cream

Number of Frets: 22

Scale Length: 24 - 3/4"

Case
Type: Gibson Hardshell

Interior: White

Case Exterior: Black

Silkscreen: Gibson USA Logo

SOUNDS

The tone of this guitar is a fantastic tone. It's a little bit thinner than what a Les Paul tone can sound like, but it has its own thing going on. I would say that this is a sick tone similar to Les Paul but yet more focused and defined. Is this solid sounding mahogany tone with its mahogany wood body in mahogany neck. What I really like about this guitar over the Gibson Les Paul is the ability to reach the higher registered frets. This allows a lot more versatility when soloing and getting up there and the higher octaves.

This guitar sounds great in any guitar amp setting. I especially like it any Marshall amplifier or a Mesa boogie amplifier. It also cleans up a little bit better than a Gibson Les Paul in my opinion which is a little bit better versatility.

OVERALL OPINION

At new these guitars come in right around $1200 which is not a bad price for this outstanding guitar. I highly recommend this guitar to anyone who wants to take the tone of mahogany body and wants to have more versatility than a standard Gibson Les Paul. It's a great tone is a great look and it's a classic rock 'n roll guitar. I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a good rock 'n roll players guitar.
iamqman08/18/2011

iamqman's review"Solid guitar for the price"

Gibson SG Standard
I have been a fan of Gibson guitars since I first learned how to play the guitar. They have continued to be one of the best sounding guitar builders in the world. I am particular to the Les Paul guitar but even the SG finds a special place in my heart. The tone of SG so takes a lot from the gives Les Paul it's still has its own thing going on. It is a classic reach warm tone that sits very well in the music. If you've ever listen any AC/DC album and you've heard this guitar.

This is a great looking guitar and a fantastic sounding guitar as well. You can get a lot of musical miles with this guitar. Sometimes a Gibson guitar can be hit or miss, so I would recommend this guitar to anyone who can try it out first.

UTILIZATION

Features

Double-cutaway beveled mahogany body
Set mahogany neck with rounded '50s profile
Bound rosewood fingerboard with trapezoid inlays
Tune-O-Matic bridge with stopbar tailpiece
Chrome hardware
490R humbucker in the neck position
498T humbucker in the bridge position
2 volume knobs, 2 tone knobs, 3-way switch
24-3/4" scale

SOUNDS

I would like the heritage cherry look. It really blends well with the nature and character of this guitar. If I had to pick one color to match the 60 sound of the Gibson SG it wouldn't be red but rather can vintage white. I love sound of this guitar was a high gain very loud Marshall style amplifier. The mix with this amplifier in this guitar is exactly what Pete Townsend was looking for when he first grabbed the Gibson SG. Put an Ibanez tube screamer in front of this amp this guitar and you will get a great classic rock sound.

This is an easy guitar to get the good to feel from. It doesn't take a long time for someone to really connect with the feeling and sound of this guitar. One of the best things that I like about this particular guitar is the white paint coat on the body. It really looks like you vintage guitar from the 60s. Since this is a 60s tribute guitar from Gibson.


OVERALL OPINION

You can find these guitars for right around $1199. This is a steal of the price for what you get out of this guitar. I highly recommend this guitar to anyone is looking for the 60's sound and the vintage five of course with the vintage look with white vintage paint job. I have all of the guitar is the Gibson has put out an recent years this is one of the best looking and best sounding guitars I have come across.
iamqman08/18/2011

iamqman's review"Heaven and Hell"

Gibson SG Standard
The Gibson SG guitar is a classic looking guitar features to pointed horns on the top of the body. It's easier the identified and recognizable guitar that takes a lot of influence from the Gibson Les Paul but has his own personal thing going. It has a great tone to great hard rock voicing for high gain distortion and over driven sounds. It is a rock 'n roll guitar machine that will serve its user well night tonight getting into touring.

This is a throw back to the old Gibson Sg's from the 60's. It has basically everything you would expect from a guitar that was made back then. It has a great feel and a unique feel from all other Gibson guitars

UTILIZATION

Features

Double-cutaway beveled mahogany body
Set mahogany neck with rounded '50s profile
Bound rosewood fingerboard with trapezoid inlays
Tune-O-Matic bridge with stopbar tailpiece
Chrome hardware
490R humbucker in the neck position
498T humbucker in the bridge position
2 volume knobs, 2 tone knobs, 3-way switch
24-3/4" scale

SOUNDS

The tone of this guitar is very rich ,fat, and warm. You can get a lot of sustaining in town from these pickups and this body of mahogany wood and mahogany neck with Rosewood support. The body would lend themselves to a deep rich fat tone against the user an ample amount of driving rhythm and lead guitar talents. It sounds a lot like a Gibson Les Paul but only a little bit thinner and overall voicing. This is duty because of the center body style in law elongated neck frets. This is a classic looking guitar and a classic sounding guitar.

OVERALL OPINION

I highly recommend this guitar to any one is looking for a great tone machine and great guitar that will last him or her a lot of gigging and band use. This is also a great guitar for someone who wants to have a good solid sunny guitar for their home use or office use. At new you can get these guitars for ride around $1200. That's a pretty good price for Gibson last known SG guitar. I would recommend this to someone to love the tap sounds of classic rock guitar and need something that will work with modern new music is well. It's a great price and great sound for not a whole lot of money.
King Loudness08/14/2011

King Loudness's review"None more black"

Gibson SG Standard
The Gibson SG Standard was designed in the very early sixties as an attempt to spice up what at the time was known as the Les Paul. Despite changing the LP's design around several times, it wasn't selling well and Gibson's designers felt that a lighter and more sculpted guitar was the ticket. Les Paul did not like the new Les Paul "SG" model, and by 1963 his name was removed from the model leaving it to be called the Solid Guitar, or SG for short.

The SG Standard has a fairly thin and contoured mahogany body, set mahogany neck, rosewood fretboard with 22 frets, Kluson tuners, tuneomatic bridge with stopbar tailpiece, and dual Gibson 490R/498T humbucking pickups, each with its own volume and tone control, and a 3 way selector to switch between the pickups. This reissue is based off of the late '60s SG Standard with the larger pickguard, so if you want one based off of the early '60s model, look into the SG '61 reissue which contains more features that are consistent with the original early sixties design such as the smaller pickguard, a slightly different headstock shape and a few other minor tweaks as well. This particular guitar features an ebony finish that is very striking to look at. I definitely prefer it over the Heritage Cherry model for looks.





UTILIZATION

The SG was designed to be a more ergonomic and easier to play/hold version of the Les Paul way back when, and the same is true today. It's a very light guitar that sits very well on the body. Some of them have a problem with "neck dive" (where the neck will dive towards the floor when you let go for it) but there are ways to control that. The upper fret access is very good because of the sculpted cutaways that are scooped out enough to reach the highest frets. The only thing that hinders upper fret access is the slightly blocky heel for the neck joint, but that is the case with most Gibson guitars I've tried.

Getting a good tone out of the SG Standard is no easier or harder than with a Les Paul or Flying V or whatever else. Because it's constructed of mahogany, it sounds very thick and dark like a Gibson solidbody should. However, because it's lighter and there is less wood there, it is a bit brighter and thinner than say, a Les Paul. It works well for clean tones because of it's balance between dark and bright frequencies. The dirty tones are great as well and they sit in a good frequency range that isn't muddy, nor ear piercingly bright.



SOUNDS

I've tried the SG Standard through various Fender, Marshall and Mesa Boogie amplifiers, all with very good results. The guitar excels to me at rock/hard rock based tones because of the 490R/498T pickups, which aren't my favourite pickups that Gibson offers, but they work well enough in this guitar.

Clean tones are very good considering the pickup choice. The neck pickup offers some nice quasi jazz tones and the bridge pickup offers some somewhat country esque tones with the amp dialed in fairly bright and clean.

The dirty tones have a nice balance between thick and bright (IE: Gibson tone and Fender). It holds up very well for classic British tones as well as modern super-saturated American tones equally. I would say the pickups are geared towards the latter, with a slightly scooped mid sound that works well with higher gain tones. It also cuts through very well for leads and sits well in a band mix with another guitar (IE: Les Paul).

OVERALL OPINION

The SG Standard is a great sounding and playing guitar that offers a great alternative to the heavy and somewhat clunky Les Paul. The price new is about $1,300 and on the used market they go for sub $800 prices on occasion which is great. My biggest gripe with the SG is consistency. I've played many of them and there was no rhyme or reason as to which one would be great or which one would be a total dog. I've had better luck with Les Pauls personally as far as finding a good one. Perhaps the fact that they build/sell them for so much cheaper than a fully furnished Les Paul could be a reason why I find so many dogs. Maybe I'm just an LP guy at heart, who knows... It's a common malady with cheaper Gibson guitars I find, not just the SG, but the SG does seem more likely to find a dog as opposed to a really awesome one hanging on the wall.

Either way, the SG is a great rock guitar. It's light, plays well, sounds good and has lots of tones available. If you find one that fits you, you can't go wrong with one.
tjon90105/14/2011

tjon901's review"The other classic Gibson"

Gibson SG Standard
In the early 60s Gibson was looking to lower production costs of the Les Paul. To do this they redesigned it to have a flat top and double cutaways. What we know now as the SG was introduced as the new Les Paul in 1961. Later on the real Les Paul was re-introduced and the new guitar was renamed the SG. The standard SG of today is exactly that, the standard SG. The guitar features the classic dual cutaway SG body with a 22 fret neck. It features dual humbucking pickups selected with a 3 way toggle switch and two tone and two volume knobs.

UTILIZATION

The SG was designed in such a way to give better fret access than the earlier Les Paul. The neck is not mounted as deep into the body as is with the Les Paul. This design gives it a few problems. The neck joint on SG models is very weak compared to Les Pauls or even bolt on guitars. This weak neck joint makes some SG's prone to going out of tune. With the neck mounted so far out on the body and the body being so thin and light, SG's are prone to neck dive. When playing an SG standing up you may find yourself holding up the neck due to this awkward balance between the neck and the body.

SOUNDS

With their thinner flatter bodies SG's tend to have a tone slightly thinner than that of a Les Paul. Some people say it sounds more like a Gibson Flying V than a Les Paul. The smaller body also helps make the tone different than that of a Les Paul. Gibson pickups are mainly designed for classic rock. These pickups tend to offer a medium output. If you are looking to play heavier music you may want to replace the pickups with aftermarket higher output models.

OVERALL OPINION

The people who play SG's swear by them. Famous artists that play SG's usually only play SG's. Some of these artists include Derek Trucks, Tony Iommi and Frank Zappa. If you are looking to buy an SG I recommend trying one out first. Check the fretwork and the tuning stability if you can. Other than that an SG is as solid as any other Gibson guitar.