Epiphone Les Paul 100
+
Epiphone Les Paul 100

Les Paul 100, LP-Shaped Guitar from Epiphone in the Les Paul series.

All user reviews for the Epiphone Les Paul 100

  • Like
  • Tweet
  • Submit
Average Score:4.3( 4.3/5 based on 35 reviews )
 18 reviews51 %
 11 reviews31 %
 4 reviews11 %
 1 user review3 %
Audience: Beginners Value For Money : Excellent
View price information
S2D09/09/2014

S2D's review"Poor man's Gibson but still worth a look"

Epiphone Les Paul 100
The Epiphone Les Paul i bought from Guitar Guitar back in 2011 was made in Epiphone land - also known as China. It has the classic Les Paul setup with 2 volume and 2 tone pots (one for each channel) along with a 3 way pickup selector switch for the Neck, Middle and Bridge positions. It comes with an ebony wood neck, 2 humbucker pickups and 22 frets.

UTILIZATION

Admittedly, the top frets can be a pain to reach, it is easier sitting down but when standing with a guitar strap that has strap locks on it it can be quite awkward so lead guitarists with small hands might be in trouble when it comes to this but then if you want to be like Slash or Jimmy Page and be a Les Paul guitar player then that is the price you will need to pay. With an Epiphone Les Paul, you are not going to get the exact same quality of tone as a Gibson, there is a reason that the price gap is so large, so anyone who tells you that you can is either - A. In denial - B. Inexperienced or C. Hasn't played both guitars. With that being said don't let it put you off, whether you are a new beginner guitarist looking for their first axe, or a more experienced player wanting to try out the Les Paul style of guitar without having to remortgage the house, then this Epiphone could be the ideal choice for you.

SOUNDS

Traditionally, the combination of a Les Paul guitar and a Marshall Amplifier has always been a successful combination, and today that still rings true, you simply can't argue with that setup. If you are a rock guitar player then i would recommend a Marshall amplifier. I personally use a Marshall AVT150 half stack with the Epiphone Les Paul on the OD1 channel. When distorted this guitar can sound decent, the bridge pickup has a little bit of bite to it but can also sound quite muddy, especially on a clean setting. The neck pickup is warm but undefined with no real character to the sound and can get lost in the mix in a loud setting, depending on what amp you are using it is definitely suggested that you dial in a lot of treble and presence if possible to give more life to the pickups.

The pickups that come standard are the main problem with the Epiphone Les Paul as they are usually low quality and can sound 'muddy' and 'boxy' which isn't really what a great guitar should sound like especially in rock. I would seriously recommend upgrading the pickups to something like a set of good seymour duncan pickups almost straight away if you can, it will improve the sound immensely straight away and also produce more output volume which is another noticeable difference between Gibson and Epiphone Les Pauls. Another way to get round the lack of upper midrange response from the pickups is by getting a good EQ pedal such as the Boss GE-7, and boosting between 2-4khz until you notice the sound becoming clearer but not too much or else it will wander into piercing and irritating territory, also try taking some of the lower midrange out between 300-800hz as muddiness can be taken away from this area on the Les Paul and often sounds more natural than a lot of boosting. Some distortion pedals can also improve the sound better through some of their features such as the Boss DS-1 or the Metal Zone if you are looking for a more extreme/heavier and processed sound.

OVERALL OPINION

The best thing about this guitar are the looks and the price. As mentioned earlier, it is perfect for beginner guitar players and will suit their needs perfectly, most of my review is from an experienced guitar players point of view having used a Gibson guitar for years before purchasing the Epiphone Les Paul so don't be put off by it.

The default factory sound quality is average, although if you do have some more money to put towards it, i would recommend purchasing better pickups such as Seymour Duncans or even Gibson pickups, and also get a good pro setup done to the guitar as often the intonation on Epiphone's can be a little bit wayward which is bad especially for playing parts around the 12th fret or higher as it can sound out of tune and downright nasty.

All in all, this is the best priced and best quality for the price (in my experience) copy of a Gibson Les Paul on the market today that i am aware of, plus it looks the part as well. So whether you are dressing up as Slash for Halloween or just want the Les Paul experience, you can't go wrong with the Epiphone.
tarrtime02/13/2013

tarrtime's review"Looks like a LP, sounds like a LP, must be a LP!"

Epiphone Les Paul 100
This Epiphone LP was made in Japan. It has a bridge and neck pick-up. These picks can be selected using the Rhythm/Treble Selector. Individual volume controls can be used to control volume of the pick-ups separately. The same is true for the Tone knobs that apply a variable low-pass filter.
The guitar uses a standard 1/4" output jack. A standard LP bridge is used such that the strings can be easily changed without having to feed them through the body of the guitar.

UTILIZATION

This guitar is pretty heavy. It is the first thing you notice when you pick it up if you are used to Strats or Teles. It can take a little bit of getting used to if you haven't played LPs very much. However, this Epiphone LP isn't even as heavy as some of the Gibson LPs that have solid wood bodies. This Epiphone LP has some composite wood which makes it a little bit lighter.
The neck is very smooth and comfortable to play. It is not to thick, but not to thin.
I have had this guitar for ~15 years. The hardware is kind of cheap, and is probably a good idea to replace. I never got around to replacing it, just because this guitar was never my main guitar. I would also recommend replacing the pickups. It is not that the pickups sound bad, but you can purchase the pickups used in the top-of-the-line LPs and put them in an Epiphone for pretty cheap. It is a good way to upgrade the sound of the guitar for a small amount of money.

SOUNDS

This guitar is made for rock music. Put it in the treble (bridge) pick-up position and turn up the gain on your amp. The guitar has plenty of signal output to produce some very musical overdrive harmonics. Trying to do the same thing with single-coil pickups will just leave you unsatisfied.
The rhythm (bridge) pick up setting is also good for bluesy chords and lead. It cleans up nicely if you back off the volume knob, but can produce some very usable smooth sustainable lead parts.

OVERALL OPINION

This guitar is a satisfactory intermediate level guitar for anyone who has been playing the guitar for longer than a year and is ready to step up from the entry level $100 range. It doesn't compare with Gibson Les Paul models in either sound quality, woods/hardware, construction quality, etc. But is also doesn't compare in price, luckily. It sounds like a Les Paul. If you a guitarist that likes rock music, and like a lot of bands that play Les Pauls, then you will be happier buying this Epiphone LP than buying a comparable Fender Strat. It might not be the perfect, ideal guitar, but it is worth saving your money until you can really appreciate/justify a $4000 guitar.
heads on fire01/30/2012

heads on fire's review"Nope."

Epiphone Les Paul 100
SPECIFICATIONS
Body mahogany
Top maple
Neck mahogany
Neck Joint Bolt-on; Tapered Heel; 4 bolt recessed
Scale 24.75
Nut Width 1.68”
Fingerboard rosewood with Dot Inlays
Fingerboard Radius 12”
Pickups 700T Humbucker (bridge) 650R (neck)
Controls 2-Volume, 2-Tone
Tailpiece LockTone™ Tune-o-matic
Hardware Nickel
Color ebony (EB), Heritage Cherry Sunburst (HS), Vintage Sunburst (VS) (Left-handed HS)

UTILIZATION

This is a Les Paul in name only. I remember Les Paul being furious with Gibson for changing his signature model to the SG shape starting in 1960-61. He was so mad that he told them to take his name off of the guitar. With a guitar as nice as the SG, if Les Paul wanted his name off of it, why would he stand for it being put on something like this cheapo from Epiphone? The Les Paul 100 is a bit of a junker, to be blunt. It is hard to get a great setup on, meaning beginners will have to press harder, and for many of them this is discouraging. The body looks neat, until viewed up close - the guitar I tried had some small but noticeable finish imperfections in it. The fact that it is a bolt on does not help.

SOUNDS

Here's the real stinger - the pickups sound awful. They function, so it's not like the guitar does nothing. But the sounds it does make are extremely thin, with no definition, especially at high-gain scenarios. The pickups just have this dull blandness I couldn't shake, no matter how I set up the controls on the guitar or amp.

OVERALL OPINION

This is just a throwaway guitar, honestly. It would be a decent prop for a music video, as long as the camera wasn't HD or zoomed in too close. It really is that bad - if I were on a super tight budget, I'd try to look elsewhere, like an Ibanez. If the classic styling is that important to you, just save up for an Epiphone Les Paul Standard - you'll thank me.
iamqman12/07/2011

iamqman's review"nah not my thing"

Epiphone Les Paul 100
If you've ever spent time with a Gibson Les Paul guitar than this guitar is not really got cut it for you. It doesn't carry the same feel, weight, and craftsmanship that a genuine Gibson Les Paul guitar would give you. It's more of a budget friendly guitar that is priced and crafted in such that it's marketable for more people because of the lower cost. Overall the tone is pretty much the same but just the feel and balance of the instrument doesn't come close.

UTILIZATION

Features

Mahogany neck
Chrome hardware
Mahogany body
700T/650R open-coil humbuckers
24-3/4" scale
1-11/16" nut width

SOUNDS

The tone is pretty much the same as a real Gibson Les Paul guitar. You get the same warm tone that you would get from the genuine Gibson Les Paul instrument. This guitar features two humbuckers with mahogany wood on the body and on the neck with a nice rosewood fretboard. So you can have pretty much the overall same frequency range within this guitar because of the similar materials used as a regular Gibson LP. This guitar can feel real nice with a high gain amplifier such as a Marshall or Mesa boogie or anything like that. You will get a really thick chunky type tone that will be very good at any hard rock, pop, or metal music setting.


OVERALL OPINION


These guitars are pretty inexpensive so you can find them pretty easily for right around $250. That is a pretty good price for someone who doesn't have a whole lot of money and wants to get this type of sound out of their instrument. I would recommend this guitar to someone who is looking for a Les Paul focused tone and doesn't want to spend a whole lot of money. Maybe Epiphones do have a nice feel and comfortable even though they don't feel like a genuine Gibson Les Paul guitar. Overall it's a good buy for someone that does not have a whole lot of money or someone who is trying to learn how to play the electric guitar.
MGR/XenO03/11/2006

MGR/XenO's review"Epiphone Les Paul-100"

Epiphone Les Paul 100
I've been in many bands (local) ,i do also record with some Singers,and i make my own music too..i play mostly everything : rock,hard rock,blues,alternative,Pop, even new age and this Guitar fits my needs.

I live in Lebanon so i baught it from the Gibson Dealer in here For 400$ i had a fender strat before,but what i wanted is a Fat deep tone wich a strat don't deliver it,the first i entered the shop i gotta say that this guitar is an eye catching with it's finish,there was 2 LPs Epiphone Classic ( Black ) and the Lp-100 ( Heritage Sunburst) side by side..i tired both the Classic coast 900$ ..didn't have that much by that time so i tried the Lp-100 and it surprised me! the action is way better ..the fret baord is thiner..and easy to play ,it's tone was great ..Crystal Clean on the clean channel..screaming solos with the distortion so i baught this one..the tone was deep warm with a good sustain..this is what i needed ..

First of all i do like the Finish (herritage sunburst ) it makes it look like a Classy LP ,and i like it's thin body..bout the way it sound, it fits my needs as i said , i like the warm deep tone caused by it's heavy wood , i also like the feel of it's weight, u feel like ur play a GUITAR!

there's nothin that i don't like in it..but i wish that it had a les paul signature on the head stock ..that's all.

It's well constructed..heavy guitar..once i droped it accidentaly from it's case right to the floor..it survived without a minor scratch! the tuners are little bit cheap..but that's nothing..and the pickups ain't perfect but they do the job..but everything else is quite good.

it's a great guitar with a greater sound,u may not beleive it..i played it head-to-head with a Gibson Studio.. the owner of the gibson liked this one..and so do i it's better than the gib. studio..
if ur lost and don't know which guitar u have to buy.. buy this one.
for me i replaced the pickups with :496R and a 500T gibson pickups..and replaced the tuners with grover turners...
and it's almost a gibson..it sound like a gibson..cheers.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Jello Bigafro08/21/2004

MGR/Jello Bigafro's review"Epiphone Les Paul 100"

Epiphone Les Paul 100
i bought this guitar because it sounded decent and i wanted an electric guitar i paid 350$ at a long and mcquade store.

good sound ,nice fretboard ,solid build(ive hit the headstock on ALOT of things and it duznt have a single scratch) ,good sized frets ,not very much fret buzz.

the strap knobs are too small ,it doesnt stay in tune very long ,the pickups are pretty muddy ,i wouldnt play this clean because of how muddy the pickups are id just have an amp with nice distortion and dont even think about using a clean setting ,its a pain in the ass to restring this ,its hard to hear hammer ons.

very nicely done ,even for a korean made guitar ,its solid you cant complain about the construction ,i have had a single problem.

great guitar ,you will need to upgrade when you get better i think ,ive had it for.....a month and its like brand new and im just as happy with it today as i was with it when i first got it.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Doug Curtis07/23/2004

MGR/Doug Curtis's review"Epiphone Les Paul 100"

Epiphone Les Paul 100
i purchased this guitar at the east coast music mall for $250, because i needed a guitar.

it sounds great

it is low quality

it's average

i would definately suggest buying this guitar

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Austin01/27/2004

MGR/Austin's review"Epiphone Les Paul 100"

Epiphone Les Paul 100
I was looking around at musiciansfriend.com and checking out several different guitars, reading reviews, and weighing all of the different corrners of guitar buying. My intention was to get an axe to play jazz on and even some rock-oriented things. I saw it once as a referb item but didnt' know enough about it to make a purchase then. Since then, I've been able to get out and try the Paul.

Mabey it's partly because I'm a bit of a newbie to the guitar world, but I just love this guitar. It's capabilities are limitless. The humbuckers on this baby are kickin. They can do the soft dark tones of jazz and then some, and also to go the wailing shriekes of rock n' roll. The tuners are so easy to move. After a day, sure, the guitar may need some tuning, but it can stay tuned for a many sessions of playing.

I'm not realy sure that I can say that there is anything to not like about this guitar. Other than it's somewhat-possibly-mabey-on-the-heavy-side body, it's magnificent. It probably has more to do with my newness to guitar, but it's somewhat confusing to try and put the plug into the socket when the axe is on me. I might also add that it would be quite important to get either a locking strap or a terribly hard leather strap to keep the guitar on. I have a tendency of bringing up the neck to my ear to hear a pitch directly from the string and have the strap fall through and drop the guitar. Thankfully I can catch it.

This seems to have some nice build to it. All except for the gulty fact that it's made in China, it's a fine guitar.

I'd say that this guitar is wonderful for beginner guitarests or even intermediate guitarists. Its tone is lovely and versatile and it feels wonderful in my hands. So in other words, BUY THIS GUITAR!

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/hendrix12/23/2003

MGR/hendrix's review"Epiphone LP100"

Epiphone Les Paul 100
I got it at a pawn shop for $280.

first,it is well built,bolt on neck,rosewood finger board.Its got the tune O matic and everything!Not far away from a gibson.

I wasn't so pleased with the tuning heads,and the switch is pretty cheap but otherwise its fine.

If you were to put a emg-81 in the bridge position and throw in a brass nut for a little extra tone it would be very exeptional

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Mark Geddes12/19/2003

MGR/Mark Geddes's review"Epiphone Les Paul 100"

Epiphone Les Paul 100
I bought this guitar on ebay for a mere $300.00! I heard so many great things about it, I just had to try it out for myself.

Warm tone, great action. Beautiful finish as well.

Nothing as of yet!

Rosewood finger board, beautifully carved body and neck, maple top. The ultimate guitar for the price.

I am thorougly impressed by this guitar in its entirety. I have no complaints at all.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com